We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Jamaican resort. A must visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I was planning to wait until I returned home to write a review of this resort, but simply couldn't wait. The staff were excellent. Easily the friendliest and most professional of any I've encountered in my several visits to Jamaica. There was no tipping expectation, although we did tip. Food stunning, mostly fresh local produce. Management were super friendly and involved. Omar and Deborah charming. Smart casual attire in the evenings made for sophisticated dinners.

The resort is a classic. Fresh white walls, beautiful cottages nestled into a hill, extremely private. A stunning pool (small beach sadly compared to Negril). We liked it so much we went back three days later.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank alan_jean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

976 - 982 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed here for my honeymoon. Since it was my first visit to Jamaica and the carribian as well, I did not know what to expect. As soon as i arrived (it was dark) I was not impressed by the entrance of the hotel which seemed minamlistic and rusty. I was then showed to the room which was also below expectation as the design was modern but also minimal (pinapple). Woke up the next morning and was taken back by the property. amazing landscaping, charming design, all the luxurious small details that you would expect from a 5 * hotel as well as excellent food and service.
This place is amazing however the downfall I would say is the beach and the constant tip me now attitude of staff.

P.S dont expect high tech gadgets in the rooms. .

Overall great stay charming hotel.,

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seetheworld30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Let me start by saying Round Hill is a fantastic facility with a great history and a nostalgic feel you will never get from a large resort. It is small, quiet, and a great place to spend a relaxing vacation, The food and drinks are stellar and the service is fantastic. We stayed in the Pineapple House on the first floor and our room opened to the pool area. The resort is popular for weddings, but we never felt neglected even with the special attention required for a large event. The management was very attentive to our needs and really made our stay special. We will definitely return to Round Hill in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clint C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My family and me were completely satisfied with a 4 night stay at the Round Hill Hotel. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage with incredible views of the Caribbean. Each morning we were served breakfast consisting of eggs, fresh fruits, and baked goods most of which comes directly from the grounds. The staff was extremely friendly and got to know each of my 3 children by first name.

My parents stayed in a 1 bedroom cottage that shared a pool with 1 other cottage. This was a great bonus to the hotels great amenities.

As for recreation, we played tennis and enjoyed a glass bottom boat ride. It was a lot of fun and one of the pros even joined us for a round robin game. The glass bottom boat ride was a 30 minute adventure that showed us some of the great reefs nearby offshore.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteRabbit73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

A great old institution with truly beautiful grounds, accomodations (we stayed in a lovely villa with a shared pool) and smiling, gracious service. Meals were not exceptional but more than adequate, and Jamaica unlike some of the other islands has wonderful locally grown tropical fruit and vegetables. We spent a week at the resort and saw no reason to explore Jamaica.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank stveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We recently returned from 7 nights in RH. It is a lovely resort, great beach and overall really nice place to relax. We had a cottage (cottage 8) which is a very large property with lovely garden, flowers and view of the ocean. The pool is a great thing to have, especially as we got unlucky on a few days with the weather and were stuck in the cottage. The housekeepers were great, very friendly and will make you breakfast in the cottage if you want. We ended up going down to the restaurant because the choice was better for our 3yr old and 10 month old twins. The staff are really nice, very helpful We had a couple of delayed orders but it really isn't that much of an issue. I have to give a special mention to Terry, a babysitter/nanny that is tied to the property. She was amazing with the kids, especially the twins who are a handful. My wife wanted to pack her up and fly her back to NYC with us! She really is amazing and made a huge difference to our stay.
Overall I recommend RH strongly. We met some lovely families down there with similar aged kids and the place has a great vibe to it.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage 8 which was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Round Hill was phenomenal! The service is unparallelled. I've visited Jamaica nearly 30 times and this was one of the best stays ever! The rooms and all facilities are immaculate. The staff bends over backwards to accommodate you! There are no TVs in the pineapple rooms, which we thought might be a slight "bummer", but we didn't miss it at all with so much beauty all around (the hotel does have a spacious room with a big screen TV if you must watch). One drawback is the pricey food. Seems like their favorite number is $32!! And small portions according to US standards. However, no problem - we found a great local place with phenomenal food in Hopewell (a 5 minute drive) for a great price (Sky Beach cafe is the name). Great, great, great place for couples and families alike. If you want to get some incredibly quiet time, there is a space called the "tranquility area" for adults only with large grassy spaces, plenty of lounge chairs, daybeds, and hammocks ....right on the sea! Loved it!

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view patio rooms or the villa with shared pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,747 reviews
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,375 reviews
26.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,166 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range: £200 - £826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing