We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant experience at an excellant resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellant experience at an excellant resort”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Round Hill was exactly what my wife and I were looking for when trying to arrange a 5-night getaway from our two young children. We are very appreciative of the responsiveness, friendliness and overall attitude of the staff. I find it difficult to agree with the prior review pertaining to the staff. This is the Caribbean and honestly, we weren't in any hurry either.

The staff new our names, smiled and were very pleasant to be around. Couldn't have asked for more.

We will 100% be coming back to Round Hill, much as we found from the others who were there during our stay...they are repeat customers of the resort.

This is a wonderful resort and a bit of a hidden gem...definitely not a Sandals or similar resort. If you're looking for good food, an excellent beach and surroundings, quaint and cozy facilities and a top notch staff, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pineapple House Room 117...has a very nice overhand to ward off the afternoon rains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    117
    42
    21
    14
See reviews for
398
523
32
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Morale of the staff was not up to snuff. Food was mediocre but mostly buffet which was disappointing. Sitting in the lounge, be sure to go to the bar, as the staff is so relaxed, chances are they will forget to offer you drink service. Cottages are charming but the details are missing in both the service and ambiance. One feels that they are putting the staff out when requesting anything. Also, be prepared to wait for anything and everything. There is no urgency. Due to rain, I asked for a golf cart ride from the lobby to the restaurant which was in fact very close in proximity. However, the last thing I waned the gentleman to suggest was "you can walk, it's right down there". The spa and grounds were very nice, but again the morale and dismissive staff undermined the effort that was put into this great facility. Breakfast cooked in the villa by the housekeeper each morning was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baybayfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoundHillTA, Director of Sales at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are very sorry that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your recent visit. We are constantly striving to improve our guest experience and will not take your comments lightly. We do hope that you will return and allow us an opportunity to extend our warm and friendly Round Hill hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My husband, and I, stayed here the first weekend of June 2012. Everything was perfect. The staff were all friendly, prompt, smiling, and always willing to help. Not only did they remember our names, but they remembered our preferred drinks, and my weird obsession with wanting an extra glass of just ice for the table. Although they didn't have our reservation on the books when we first arrived (we booked through Expedia so it may not have been the hotels fault and we never called to confirm) they upgraded us to a master villa. We had a whole house to ourselves! There were mosquitos, so bring your Off. Hey, your on a tropical island. The concierge also arranged a tour for us to Mayfield Falls when an outside tour company would not send their drivers due to the poor road conditions. If you like something off the beaten path Mayfield Falls is the way to go. Although the roads were bad (lots of pot holes) it was not nearly as terrible as I had imagined. Dunn's River is for those who like to be surrounded by the throngs of cruise ship tourists. The food was delicious yet pricey. The beach was private so there was no haggling by the islanders. Although others complained about the noise from the airplanes I hardly noticed this and definitely didn't think it was a big deal.

My only recommendation would be to search around for price comparison. We met several couples who paid almost double what we did!

Room Tip: Our master villa was 3 bedrooms which we would've had to share if there were other people booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aroundtheworld8075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I have been to Jamaica >5x times on trips with family and friends. This was the third trip my now fiancee and I have taken together to Jamaica. We like the people, the food (seafood & jerk) as well as the ease of traveling to the MBJ area from NYC. We have previously stayed at the Half Moon and the Ritz Carlton. This was our first trip to Round Hill.

Round Hill is different from the large-scale corporate feel of Half Moon or Ritz Carlton. It definitely has an 'old school' vibe, rooms are spartan but nice (bugs can be a problem but management provides bug spray & bug machine repellent - also AC does not get the rooms cooler than 74 degrees), service is excellent, food is better among resorts in the Caribbean.

The resort concierge was accommodating for my proposal to my fiancee. Despite having a wedding that evening, they set up the gazebo with a white cloth table, a fine bottle of Veuve (my fiancee's favorite) and they also had their pastry chef prepare her favorite cupcakes beforehand despite not having them on their regular menu - and they were delicious. The server the provided (Mario) could not have made things more perfect, and of course she said yes!

We were pleased with the beach area as well as the infinity pool. Service was excellent, no complaints here. The Ritz Carlton also has good food, but being New Yorkers we enjoyed the gourmet Island/British fare at Round Hill a bit more (you can tell the Ritz Carlton chefs are trained by the resort chain - not to say the food is bad there). The food is certainly superior here at Round Hill to Half Moon. Half Moon is a larger property and their main beach is equally as nice, and the rooms at Half Moon are newer with more amenities, less bugs and greater temperature control. Half Moon also as the old school flare to it, but is more of a classy mega resort, but with its layout can feel intimate.

In terms of all-inclusive packages, I think Round Hill provides the greatest flexibility and least amount of limits on what is included. Half Moon provides a similar package, however, the food is not as great. The all-inclusive at the Ritz Carlton severely limits your alcohol options, which is unfortunate, likewise they now require you to wear a colored wrist band which dilutes the experience - we will not return for this subpar plan at the Ritz.

There is a magical touch to Round Hill that I do not think Half Moon, and certainly not the Ritz Carlton can match. When we return to Montego Bay, we will certainly choose Round Hill again. They provided a perfect engagement as well as a vacation to celebrate afterwards with perfect service, excellent cuisine and top-notch beverages.

Room Tip: Pineapple house is closer to the main attractions of the resort, however, there can be more noise du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Just come back from the wonderful Round Hill Hotel...
Little piece of paradise, just 20 minutes from Montego Bay in beautiful Jamaica
Excellent location, accomodation, food, service and above all staff and ambiance.
This hotel has it all from cottages and ocean facing rooms and is totally ideal for couples
and families....Extremely well run we were made so welcome and totally spoilt by everyone...
Many people go back year after year and you can see why and the staff are all long
in service there, which tells you everything
Round Hill is an incredible experience, once seen never forgotten
You wont know unless you go !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobMortimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The Round Hill was truly a special experience. The grounds were magnificent and the suites were warm, inviting and the essence of Caribbean elegance. But the service was an even better experience. Our concierge, our driver and the manager made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. I also loved the friendly and gracious hellos were received from everyone on the property. This resort is a true gem. Thank you Kingsley, Osly, Trevor and Josef. We had wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseygirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We really loved our stay at Round Hill. It's very different from sleek new five-star mega-hotels filled with shiny floors and high-tech gadgets and trendy restaurants. Instead, it's just a great place to relax and be taken of. We loved our room in the Pineapple House... we opted against the villa and found the room to be spacious and comfortable. The view from our windows was amazing, and we could open up a wall of windows and sit looking out. We also loved the huge bathroom with soaking tub and double sink. There was no TV (there was one in a public area), but we were more than fine with that. They did have wi-fi included in all the rooms.

All the public areas were really lovely. I loved the combination of historic hotel with a bit of a quirky old colonial resort feel and jungly and lush tropical landscape. The one concession to modern hotel trendiness that was made--and worked perfectly--was the infinity pool, which was gorgeous and was a great place to soak and enjoy the views. The beach itself is not as wide and full of white sand as other Caribbean beaches--it is a pretty narrow strip, and wading in it's very pebbly. But it was still a lovely place to relax.

The staff was amazingly helpful, setting up cars for us and being very attentive. The services they provided also meant we were never bored--the water sports desk set us up with snorkeling equipment to explore the hotel's own coral reef and sent us off on the daily glass-bottomed boat ride. We also used the hotel shuttle into Montego Bay to go shopping. But mostly we just enjoyed relaxing on the beach and poolside. The food did feel sort of overpriced for what it was, though we didn't get a meal plan so we sometimes had snacks instead of full meals. Breakfast was included in our room and was my favorite meal of the day--I especially liked the smoothie station.

Overall, we loved Round Hill and would definitely go back. It just felt like a great place to get away from everything. And the atmosphere just felt pitch perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katiekins570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
12.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Property: Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing