We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place to Stay. Highly Recommended!”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Flushing, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing Place to Stay. Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My two friends and I stayed at the Round Hill Resort for six nights this past week. From the moment we arrived (with complementary rum punches in hand) till the moment we checked out, all we encountered were smiling friendly faces along with "no problem, mon." Although we reserved a deluxe villa with semi-private pool and roll away cot (there is an additional person fee for more then two people in a room) we were upgraded to a two bedroom villa with a private pool. Needless to say we were practically jumping up and down when we realized just how lucky we got. Every day we were visited by a housekeeper who stayed the morning and was available to make breakfast for us. I personally like my privacy and would have been ok without her, but she was really nice and knew how to make herself blend in so it was fine. One word of warning, there is some noise at the resort. At night the crickets make a symphony (or cacophony depending on your perspective). During the day there was construction in the distance (two cottages are apparently being rebuilt). But if you are from NYC like me, you won't even hear it after a day and just feel grateful there is no F train out your window. Another warning, you are in the tropics so there will be bugs. Put anything that may be tasty to ants in Ziploc bags. Our villa had a full kitchen so we put everything food related in the refrigerator. Although the ac was fine for me, if you like arctic ac, you may find it a tad on the warm side (at least in cottage 4).

The actual beach is not that wide but the sand was soft and clean and it never felt crowded. We never felt the need to go to the adults only beach/pool section, but that was even more private. When I walked over once I saw that the beach there was more rocks than sand but there was a beautiful green lawn behind the beach, including a large hammock. One fun part of the ocean was two large floating rafts stationed 20 feet out in the water. I enjoyed carrying my book in the air and laying like a lazy lizard on the raft. In terms of water sports, any thing non powered was free. Since the catamaran was out of commission we used the snorkel gear and kayaks. There is a pretty coral reef. I would describe it in more detail but I discovered while out there that apparently I'm scared of the ocean. Luckily I didn't get eaten by a barracuda (I assure you this wouldn't happen....this was my irrational fear taking over) and did get to see some coral as I hurriedly swam back to shore.

We went on two outings during our stay. The concierge was helpful in guiding our choices. You can check out my reviews of both Mayfield Falls and Chukka Horseback riding if you are interested. I loved Mayfield Falls and had a nice time at Chukka as well.

If you decide to go to Round Hill ask them about the famous people who visit and about the movie that was filmed there. If you happen to be a rich and famous person reading this review, no worries... Round Hill respects privacy.

I loved this resort so much that I already started looking up prices for my next vacation. Sadly I believe I was fortunate to get an awesome deal on an awesome vacation. I will likely either have to change my plan of marrying for love or save up for a long time before I can afford to return for their regular prices. Anyway, if you can afford it and are looking for a friendly, private, and pampered resort don't waste your time reading other resort reviews and just decide to go to Round Hill...you'll be happy.

Room Tip: Cottage 4 was amazing. The pineapple house looked really nice too (just less private and spacious an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your comments on your recent stay with us in cottage 4. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed yourselves. The resort does offer a certain amount of privacy for those who just want to be low keyed, so glad to hear that you were able to experience the level of privacy desired. Follow us on Facebook or join our mailing us and we are sure to get all the special deals that we offer throughout the year to you. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to our island paradise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    121
    43
    21
    15
See reviews for
405
541
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Round Hill was suggested to us by a german luxury travel company as "the" hotel in the Caribbean. To cut the long story short: we just stayed 1 instead of 7 nights! We booked a 3 bedroom villa, the bathrooms are very old and dirty, the villa has a balcony - impossible to stay with children as no fence. The entire welcome team was very arrogant. After havin prepaid the entire trip, the immediately asked me for 1500 usd guarantee for "tips and massages".
We are incredible dissapointed by the travel agency and by the hotel. When we informed them that we are leaving they did not really care, one concierge suggested me an alternative villa but "it will be loud as construction is going on". The villas and rooms look by far not like the pictures in the internet, nor does the beach! The table and seats for dinner are plastic.
I can clearly NOT recommend this property. We stayed in the Ocean Club Bahamas, the Viceroy in the Antilles - both great!!! Round Hill was a MAJOR dissapointment, i would not recommend anyone to go there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for providing us with feedback on your recent stay. We must apologize for not meeting your expectations, We strive to ensure total guest satisfaction and will take the required corrective action.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This property has been around since 1953, and it feels like it. In a good way. It's hosted VIPs fro Paul McCartney to Ralph Lauren, so the staff is genuinely gracious, relaxed and well practiced. You get the feeling you've stepped back in time to old Havana or the Florida Keys, while down the street people are packed into giant hotel chains and less-than-classy restaurants/bars. This retreat has great character. And a few quirks, but that's part of the character. Prices for food, beverages and activities are high. Nothing's free; even ice water is hard to come by, but everything is good quality. Although there's a farm on property, it doesn't seem to produce much that makes it's way to the menu.
The spa is exceptional. Again full of old world charm, uneven bricks and quirks (like changes in the spa menu and mystery prices not listed on the web site). But my massage therapist, Diane, know her stuff and has been working here 14 years. Outdoor yoga classes each morning were a highlight. BYOBofwater.
We couldn't have been more pleased with our visit. This is a unique property.

Room Tip: If you're considering an upgrade to a private or semi private cottage it probably is well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. Am happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us. Being smaller and more intimate, we are able to offer a more unique experience to the discerning traveller. While our guests pay for their meals and drinks, depending on how they choose to consume, we do offer some amenities complimentary, which includes a daily afternoon tea, a weekly manager's cocktail party, complimentary bottles of spring water at turn down service nightly and of course triple distilled tap water. We do charge for bottled water. We look forward to welcoming you back to Round Hill to experience more of our uniqueness and timeless beauty and elegance.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days at Round Hill and enjoyed everything about it...the room was large and well appointed; the view to the sea was wonderful; the staff were outstanding and the food was delicious...need I say more?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for providing us with feedback on your recent getaway with us. I will keep my response just as short and sweet ans yours. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchton, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

What a beautiful place, to start with. Great service -- kind people -- GENEROUS people. The pool in gorgeous, the beach lovely and secluded and safe. The history is deep. Ian Fleming wrote the early James Bond novels here. JFK and Jackie honeymooned here. But it's not a "stuck in time" place. Free wifi is there through out. The place is immaculately kept and decorated. We especially enjoyed Concierge Kingsley. You can stay in the hotel itself (28 rooms or so; we didn't see any of them) or you can rent a multi-room "villa." We stayed in the Seaside Cottage, which comes with a cook (Luanne, and MAN can she cook!), cleaning and laundry services daily (thank you Grace and Kassandra), impressive garden (Leroy's handiwork) and the magical Michelle, who remembered everyone's likes and dislikes and made every meal and snack fun. There's a pool at this cottage, as there are at many of the villas. But you won't want to miss the gorgeous infinity pool at the main beach club. All activities are extra. We had a 9 year old who loved the Kids Club there (which left the adults more time to read and gab and drink really lovely run punch). We will hasten back here, and are already planning out next family trip.

Room Tip: You can choose to add help during your stay if you stay in a villa. I know that the Seaside Cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the wonderful review. Our employees, just like Kingsley, are our true stars that continue to make us look good every day. The attention of our kids club staff is outstanding as they take care of our little guests. We eagerly await your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in cottage 18 at Round Hill for five days over the Memorial Day weekend in 2013. It was an incredible experience with beautiful memories - those of a beautiful and luxurious villa with a private pool and stunning views of the deep blue bay, a lovely, lush green and well-manicured property infused with understated elegance, an enticing beach with warm and inviting waters, daily afternoon high tea, magnificent sunsets, lovely evening outdoor dinners and being thoroughly spoilt by the staff who truly made us feel like royalty!

The entire staff tirelessly ensured that every detail of our stay was attended to with great passion and resolve and that every moment was infused with the finest Jamaican warmth and hospitality - whether it was David and Steve helping us unwind on the beautiful beach, Kingsley and Gavin [concierges] creating magical moments at Mayfield falls or Rick's Cafe, Irene and Lilieth [personal chefs] pampering us with daily breakfast spreads in our cottage, Claudine and Ann-Marie [front desk] patiently responding to our numerous questions, Chef Martin and his team conjuring up special dining experiences or Trevor showing us around and educating us on the fascinating island of Jamaica!

It felt like paradise and we fell in love with Round Hill and Jamaica, like so many preceding us I am sure!

Following out trip, we landed in New York relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated and ready to take on the world again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. We are glad to know that we could have provided an atmosphere for you to unwind and feel rejuvenated and ready to take on the world again. We hope that when the times comes around for another needed break, you will head down to Round Hill to experience our little piece of paradise once more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My family and I just returned from a week long stay at the Round Hill resort. We were a party of 10, 6 adults and 4 children. We stayed in Cottage 17 which overlooked the bay and mountainside. The home was impeccably decorated and well maintained. The staff that greeted us every morning became a memorable part of our trip for the adults and kids. We are already missing the wonderful daily breakfasts cooked in our kitchen. The attention to detail and our every need was met on this trip. Our children were able to utilize the kids club for a few hours a day and seemed to really enjoy it!

The food was good at the resort, especially the lunch menu. We took the opportunity to try a few local restaurants for dinner a few nights and were happy we explored the island a bit.

The ocean water was clear, calm and warm, however the beaches are not white like you will find in Negril. Every day we sat underneath the natural shade of the Caribbean almond trees and could float in the water with our eyes closed.

I would definitely recommend traveling to Round Hill. I can only hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: This resort was great for large families. If traveling with kids, I recommend a villa with a pool. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay in beautiful cottage 17 with it beautiful decor and magnificent oceanview. We are happy to hear that you were greeted with warm smiles by the staff complimented by the wonderful service received, which left you with wonderful memories. All of us look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island paradise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,279 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,282 reviews
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,335 reviews
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Property: Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing