We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,432)
Filter reviews
1,432 results
Traveller rating
1,218
133
44
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,218
133
44
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspineapple houseralph laureninfinity poolmanaging directormontego baysemi private poolprivate villaplatinum planvilla staffthe cottagesspa areajamaica nightbeach barbecueevery morningjamaican nightkids clubfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
803 - 808 of 1,432 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I recently returned from Round Hill Hotel & villas. It was our first time away without our kids in several years, and it was just what we were looking for. It is a beautiful private resort, away from the high-rise type hotels lined up along the coast. It has low key atmosphere, with an elegance and warmth we really enjoyed. The grounds are well kept and the staff is wonderful. Every staff member was eager to help us, greeting us, and tried to make our stay pleasant. I got a facial at the spa, which was very good. I found the food very good and accommodating to my dietary needs (gluten free. The chef made me gluten free blueberry pancakes every morning!) If you are looking for a lot of nightlife, and high energy, with lots of action, then go elsewhere. This place is for a relaxing vacation. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pineapple House. Nice rooms, airy, with a balcony. Some balconies are walk-outs to the pool, but ours had nice chairs to sit outside.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for providing us with comments on your recent stay. We are happy to hear to we were able to satisfy your dietary needs. Our Chef and his team will definitely ensure that any special dietary needs are taken care of. We hope that you will return to stay with us and enjoy more of what truly makes Round Hill special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

After spending three nights at Jakes in Treasure Beach, we spent our last night at Round Hill before taking a morning flight home. After checking in, we wanted to take the complimentary shuttle to downtown. As it turns out, the shuttle only runs once dropping off guests at 10:00am and picking them up at 12:30pm. It is $60 any other time. It is only 15 minutes to downtown. Round Hill should have a complimentary shuttle service throughout the day. We skipped downtown and went to get an appetizer at their restaurant. The waiter made a scene when we said that all we wanted was to share an appetizer. He was trying to get us to order more food. After getting the cold “Jamaican Nachos”, it was good that we didn’t.

Round Hill is beautiful and luxurious as many reviewers have noted. However, it’s hard to tell you’re in Jamaica. It could be any tropical location in the world. There is even a dress code requiring long pants to eat dinner at the restaurant. We’re in Jamaica for goodness sakes! The previous three days at Jakes felt like we were in Jamaica.

Dinner at Round Hill on the night that we were there was a buffet on the beach. Short pants were allowed. :-) We sat next to the ocean. The food and atmosphere was fine but bland. It felt like we were eating dinner at a resort. Which, of course, we were. Two nights earlier, we had jerk parrotfish at Little Ochie in St. Elizabeth on the beach. Ya man, that’s Jamaica!

A taxi for the 15 minute ride to the airport is $40. By contrast, a 2.5 hour ride on challenging roads from the airport to Jakes in Treasure Beach was only $135. Round Hill should have complimentary airport transportation for the short distance to the airport.

Round Hill is a beautiful resort hotel. But it’s not what I’m looking for when I’m in Jamaica.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lt_in_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for providing comments on your recent stay. We value your comments and apologize for not being able to cater to your needs. We would like to wish you the very best and hope that you will come back to our beautiful island to experience more Jamaican hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Having visited many luxe spots in the Caribbean, I have to say Round Hill really is in the top tier for several reasons. First of all is its ease of access. Direct flights to Montego Bay from New York and a brief car ride make a trip here only part of a day, not all of it. The grounds are immaculate, and the setting ideal on a tranquil bay. We went for a day sail and found that, just outside the protecting reef, the winds are more than ample; that was great fun. A wide variety of other activities are also available on the property - it's exceptional for tennis, for example. The pool and pool deck are simply spectacular, perched on a gentle slope between the hotel and the beach, with pergola-covered cabanas opposite stately palms overlooking the ocean. The beach itself is clean and quite large.

We cannot say enough about the staff; everyone was at the very least gracious, and many were quite open and friendly. Our room in the hotel portion of the property (Pineapple House) was inviting and spacious, with dimmable cove lighting, huge four-post canopied bed, sitting area. The quiet, overhead air conditioning unit with a range of controls is a wonderful amenity. The baths are enormous, with walk-in showers, and double vanities. All rooms front on the ocean.

This is a full-service resort, but meals are charged as opposed to included in the tariff. Prices for meals are reasonable. The food varied from merely acceptable to quite good, depending on the selection, which is a tad limited. Those wishing to dine elsewhere will be a bit constrained as this requires either a rented car or a pricey cab ride to and from. The scene at Round Hill is also much more classically laid-back than trendy.

All in all, this was an exceptional experience. My companion said as we left, "Promise we can come back". We will.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your excellent comments on your recent stay with us. To be considered as one of the top tier luxury resorts in the Caribbean is an honor for us. Celebrating 60 years is no easy feat for most resorts. However, we are committed to delivering the finest service complemented by warm Jamaican hospitality and smiles. As you made the promise to come back, we promise that we will continue to create exceptional memories. All of us look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I just returned from a visit to Round Hill and stayed at the Pineapple House. As a visitor traveling alone, I quickly found new friends and the staff could not have been more gracious,. Stewart at the beach bar took great care of me. I have been to Round Hill close to ten times now and every visit I return refreshed and relaxed - I look forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Valued Past Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful comments. We are delighted to know that we continue to make you feel special whenever you stay with us. The warmth and friendliness of our staff is what sets Round Hill apart. Stewart, and many others, will ensure that you have the most memorable vacation. All of us look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite hotel in Jamaica.

There are some great hotels in Jamaica but this one is special. First, I love how close it is from the airport (most hotels in Negril and Ocho Rios are pretty far) but besides the proximity, this hotel has a great vibe and the service is wonderful.

The rooms are absolutely beautiful and the spa staff is wonderful!

I love everything about it!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful comments and for loving everything about Round Hill. We absolutely loved having you here and hope that you will return very soon to experience more love from us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews