We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellence in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellence in every way”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My family (14 of us) recently rented 2 exquisite villas at Round Hill, Jamaica, and went all-out to celebrate a special occasion. We had several planned events---private dinners beside one of our pools, musical entertainment ( a six-piece band and singer), intimate breakfasts for 14 on our terrace and a prepared video presentation. All this was perfectly organized and implemented by Racquel, Director of Catering, Hillary, Food/Beverage Manager, Brimsley, musician extraordinaire, and overseen by Josef, the Hotel Managing Director. I cannot rave enough about the attention to every detail that was made on our behalf. It turned out to be the best family vacation we've ever had. Round Hill enjoys a reputation for excellence and deservedly so, in every way. Selma

Room Tip: The villas we chose were beautiful and perfect for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Vaued Guest,

Thanks for visiting with us to celebrate your special occasion. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us are committed to ensuring that our guests needs are met and their expectations exceeded. Racquel & Hillary are part of the team that ensure that our guests' needs are professional handled. We hope that you will choose to return to Round Hill to celebrate more special occasions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    117
    42
    21
    13
See reviews for
397
521
32
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falun, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The overall beauty of Round Hill is not understated it is totally overwhelming. What is understated is the subtle homeliness and warmth shared by all the staff that unobtrusively made our stay so relaxing and comfortable. There are hidden surprises too. A friendly guiding with Dave - the head gardener through some of the gardens which surround the villas and hotel gives insights to Jamaica’s stunning botanical potential. The botanical splendour is evident even at its wildest along the passage ways to the spa area.
The restaurant offers a simple but well-defined menu, highlighting local and national dishes. As fish eating vegetarians my wife and I had no problem with food options. The preparation and service in the restaurant was excellent.
All of this comes at a cost of course. Although pricey the overall quality offered at Round Hill gives value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your stay with us was wonderful. A large part of the charm of Round Hill is the understated luxury and elegance. We are a truly Jamaican resort that provides our guests with a uniquely Jamaican experience. A part of that experience is our weekly garden tour with Dave, our Head Gardener. Dave is one of the stars that make us shine. We hope that you will choose Round Hill again when next on vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spent a week at Round Hill with our four-year-old daughter and it was the nicest experience we had so far when traveling with her. In terms of child friendliness this place is the gold standard with an armada of charming staff looking out for the kids on the premises. Wonderful little beach and infinity pool and a concierge who took the little girl for fun rides on his golf cart. There is also a quite area with spa, pool and beautiful old trees on a lawn and hammocks where kids are not allowed to go. The food and wine was excellent, the room sympathetic with large doors towards the patio overlooking the ocean. Round Hill is easy to reach in 20 minutes from the airport.
If you are looking for a place in the Caribbean to relax with your family or without, this is it.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views and are quite but you should go with one that has a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing Round Hill for your recent family vacation. We are an ideal vacation resort for everyone. Our kids club is staffed with caring nannies and coordinators who will ensure that your children have a wonderful and memorable vacation. We hope that you will return to Round Hill for more family vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you are looking to have a relaxing week, Round Hill is the place to go. Understated elegance is how I would describe the resort.The staff in all areas of the resort were so friendly and really made the trip. Jamaica is a beautiful place and I will always return. We hope to rent a villa at Round Hill the next time and bring some friends. If you are looking for a loud, large, overcrowded resort, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: We had two rooms in the Pineapple House and loved being on the ground level. It was nice to be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMeh112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing Jamaica and Round Hill for your recent vacation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to invite you back to enjoy more of what makes Round Hill truly special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We recently stayed at Round Hill with our two boys ages 8 and 9. We were nervous about our stay because it was only a week after they reopened from their annual closure. We fully anticipated that the resort would be empty and not fully up and running but were pleasantly surprised. This is a classic Caribbean resort and reminded us of our regular getaway at Coral Reef in Barbados (but much more value for your dollar). My boys loved the watersport guys and spent many hours out on the boat with them. The whole family enjoyed amazing snorkeling right off the beach, and afternoon tea was a family favorite every afternoon at 4! We stayed in the Pineapple House with two adjoining rooms. It was perfect! We were able to see the kids in the pool from the balcony and we loved how close everything was. The boys felt safe and were able to wander around without getting lost. The staff knew them by name and they enjoyed learning to basketweave and make wooden turtles. The spa services and facilities were amazing. Very serene. We used a local sitter to enjoy nightly adult dinners in the restaurant. We never left the resort all week because there was everything we needed right there. We were nervous about going to Jamaica but fell in love with Round Hill and will gladly make the trek from California every year for such amazing service, charm and serenity. Well done Round Hill you are one of the few resorts that knows how things should be done! Nothing was overlooked.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Pineapple House get the upstairs room for the added balcony. We spent hours watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your first experience with us. We are one of the classics of the Caribbean and pride ourselves in delivering warm Jamaican hospitality. We hope that you will return to stay with us to experience more of Round Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was truly an eye opening experience!! The smiling faces and genuine eagerness to please is what made this place spectacular! Here's the skinny:

We opted for the transfer, and upon getting through customs, did not see a sign for Round HIll--fortunately, everyone knows everyone here so another driver helped us find Dennis. Once in his hands, he gave us bottles of water and whisked us away to the beautiful Round Hill resort, roughly 25 mins from the airport.

When we pulled up I knew we had made the best decision! The grounds are absolutely beautiful, on major acreage!

If you can swing it, get yourself a villa!!! It really made this trip over-the-top, and seriously bananas! I frequently wonder how I'll ever live without a villa and a semi-private pool everytime I travel going forward!!?! Our accommodations had 2 queen beds in it, a small bathroom, a dressing area, and a very large sitting area (daybed, desk, 4 comfy chairs). We shared a patio, pool and kitchen with others in the villa. The villa had 3 other 'bedrooms' (separate door and keys), but looked like if you had a large family, they possibly connected by a locked door. The other rooms that made up the villa appeared to have a queen bed and bathroom (there could be different set ups, not sure).

To meal plan or not to meal plan?? There are 3 different plans, so check them out and see what's best for you. Because we had to do a meal plan for 3 consecutive days, and were there for 5, we went the first 2 days without it to see if it was a deal.

For us, the meal plan ($95-ish, breakfast and dinner) was the best choice. It is an even better deal if you do room service on the buffet nights. The ala carte nights were better (one night I had lobster), but we wished we used our meal plan on room service on the buffet nights instead. The non-villa breakfast was just ok, and the buffet dinners were also just ok--not too many amazing things to choose from; so these didn't feel like a deal on the meal plan at all.

With the meal plan you could opt for breakfast at your villa. Honestly, this was simply AMAZING and should not be skipped. Each morning, Carol and Barbara cooked us breakfast in our kitchen, and Kenroy cleaned out our pool. We sat at our own dining table, overlooking the bay/resort, and gobbled up breads, eggs, fruits, and coconut pancakes! It was like living in a dream. After discovering passion fruit, we mentioned it to Barbara--the next morning, handmade passion fruit juice AND passion fruits showed up at our table. She confessed that she grabbed some passion fruits from her daughters tree on her way to work since we loved them so much. Kenroy brought us inner tubes for the pool (which I cannot dream of living without now) and fresh coconuts! This is exactly Round Hill to a tee--impeccable service, warm smiles, and genuine thoughtfulness!

This resort is secluded, but they make it pretty easy to do day trips off the resort. Before we decided on the meal plan, we made a trip to the Lobster Trap--$25 car ride (driver waits for you), and the best lobster!! They catch what you ask for when making the reservation (shrimp, fish, or lobster)--it was so amazing, I honestly mentioned going back each and every day I was there! We also paid $5 (I think, since it was a group of us) and took a trip to town for some souvenirs--they took us to 2 places: a souvenir store and the craft market. The craft market was very lively, but got annoying after awhile--people are pressuring you to buy, haggling and talking to you the whole time. We did find beautiful straw bags at #82 I think? Take a walk around and really see before buying. We almost bought inferior straw bags early on, and am so glad we waited. This vendor had such vibrant ones, put our names on them, and was such a gem!

Other guests we met talked about Negril for seeing amazing white beaches, ziplining through the rainforest, etc. but we chose to spend time at our pool and just laze around. We jumped on the water trampoline and even went pedal-boating one afternoon to break up our seriousness about lazing about ; ) There were many other things to do on the resort as well!

We didn't know what the set-up would be for the villas, but I was so glad we brought alcohol and snacks with us for pool time. When we went on the shopping trip, another couple asked the driver to drop them off at a grocery store so they could get some stuff. He also kindly took us to an ATM since we needed cash. Everyone accepts dollars there, but we didn't bring much and ran out while at the Craft Market--we also needed some $$ to tip our fabulous villa staff later.

We hit up the afternoon tea everyday--in addition to the usual things, there were cheese sandwiches, cucumber sandwiches, and a few desserts. There was also a Cocktail Manager's Reception one night, which was also another way to experience what Round Hill has to offer.

We worked out many mornings there, and the walk to the spa and gym is spectacular. There were day beds, a hammock, and lounge chairs on the grounds over there where you could just chill. The gym was well equipped with treadmills, stairclimber, elliptical, bike, weights and some weight machines; a water cooler and some cut up pineapple. The gym was free of charge, while yoga and step classes were roughly $20-25.

This place is absolutely gorgeous, and the smiling faces and quick hello of the staff are really what makes it spectacular!!! (Ok ok, and the villa really upped the ante!) It was apparent that so many people return here year after year, as I witnessed many hugs by guests and staff upon seeing each other--how many resorts do you go to where that happens??! People remembered our names, what we drank at dinner, and were willing to go the extra mile to make our stay amazing: a ride on the golf cart up to our villa when we had 1 too many champagnes, or accommodating a late check out--Round Hill really understands customer service, and you too will leave with their smiles on your faces!

PS. A quick reminder while this is fresh on my mind--if you have a stopover on your way back in the States, be mindful of what you purchase at the airport. It's full of souvenirs and duty free shops, but when you have a layover, you go to baggage claim and grab your bags, go through US customs, recheck bags, and go through security. I bought jerk bbq sauce at the airport, and had it confiscated at security. Rookie move since I travel all the time, but not internationally. Minor issue since it was $8, but worth noting so you can avoid it!

PPS You absolutely cannot go wrong with Round Hill!!!! Have a great trip!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l4lx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is always good to receive such detailed reviews. Now that you have discovered Round Hill, we hope that you will return to stay with us for another villa experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. We were able to instantly relax as soon as we arrived at the hotel. The service was amazing from start to finish. I felt like we knew the servers, bartenders, etc personally by the end of our 4 day trip. The beach is beautiful with great snorkeling right off the hotel, I loved the rafts that are in the middle of the ocean - really nice to relax on. The infinity pool is equally gorgeous with incredible views. We enjoyed the food and thought there was a decent variety for a smaller hotel.

The only negative would be around sleep quality. We stayed in the Pineapple House (which was lovely) but the bed was a bit loud when you moved and also the front door was warped so it would open quite frequently. We had it locked and chained but it would still pop open.

Other than that, everything was perfect. Would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, Front Office Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us. The atmosphere of the resort lends itself to one where you feel completely relaxed the moment you check-in. The staff is very friendly and is focused on ensuring all your needs are met in a timely manner. We are glad to hear that you loved your overall experience with us and hope that you will choose to return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
12.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Property: Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing