We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for a third time and will keep coming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I began going to Round Hill before we were married. We just came back from our third vacation there -- now with a 3.5yr old and a baby. It really delivers. From the beauty of the place itself, to the incredible sunsets, to the smiling people and great management, it really makes the time away super enjoyable and relaxing. We enjoyed it as a childless couple and now appreciate it as a family place. We know a number of families who've been going for years with their kids -- in some cases for decades -- and we can see why. Great blend of tradition with amenities. Awesome childcare. Really really friendly staff. Beautiful infinity pool, steps away from the beach. We started planning our trip back next year on our way home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dre1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Valued Past Guest,

Thanks for returning to Round Hill for a third time. We are happy to know that we continue to meet your expectations and provide you with a wonderful family vacation. Round Hill is truly a special place where part of our rich history is the children who return year after year and have grown into young adults. We hope that you will return for a fourth and many more trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We just took ourselves and our 9 month old to Round Hill for our first post-baby vacation. We have stayed in some beautiful places pre-baby and were really worried about how the change would be. Let me tell you that booking a villa suite with a pool at Round Hill was just what the doctor ordered. The villa was beautiful with ocean views, the room was well appointed and charming and there was a large open air living room. The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful and there is an on site babysitting service that is very affordable. We used it several times after the baby went to sleep so that we could get out for a few dinners. The resort never feels crowded. Kingsley, the concierge is wonderful as were our housekeepers Irene, Juliet and Tashaine. They served us a wonderful in suite breakfast every day and my son absolutely adored them. Even the groundskeepers at our villa were welcoming and friendly. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The deluxe villa suites are closest to the shared villa pool. That was KEY with a small baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscar503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing Round Hill for your post-baby vacation. We are happy to know that the villa that you stayed in provided you with all that was required for rest and relaxation. The privacy of our villas complimented by the service of our housekeepers and gardeners is what makes staying there extra special. We hope that you will choose another of our villas when you decide to return to stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My Family visited the hotel On the 2nd week of March break. we were couple with 3 kids. We had a great time, and really enjoyed the 1st class entertainment in the hotel. Hotel was clean, food was great, and the service was amazing. we will defiantly come back

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerrard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful comments on your recent family vacation. We hope that you will make Round Hill your family vacation spot for March breaks every year. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

First the good. The resort is beautifully decorated and despite having a large number of villas does not give you the impression of being overly busy. It occupies a whole bay and is a lovely setting.

Now the problems: the service is patchy. Sometimes very charming and warm, but at others just nowhere near 500 dollars a night. We had to ask repeatedly to get a kettle to prepare milk for our baby, it took us over 24 hours to get this simple request - and then it did not work and we had had to get another.

The real problem is the cost though. An average burger and a bowl of pasta with chilli and a bit of Parmesan with three little bottles of red stripe is over eighty dollars. An ok beach barbecue with a terrible bottle of wine is 250! That is literally Michellin starred prices and the food while not bad is pretty basic. I don't mind paying for quality, but the cost really overshadowed the holiday for me. Real shame felt a bit greedy. Oh and the ground floor rooms are ten feet off the ground. Which is not great when your toddler can easily get through the gaps in the railings.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Badgerdillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for providing us with feedback on your stay. I must apologize for the slow delivery of the kettle as requested. It should not have taken so long for this request to be honoured.

As it relates to the prices of our food and beverage, we constantly review our prices so that we are offering value for money to our guests.

We thank you for your comments and hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We got back from Round Hill last night, this morning I made reservations for next year. What a FABULOUS place! We've stayed at a number of other hotels in Montego Bay, and visited still more; Round Hill is truly ideal. The food is superb, staff friendly and efficient, rooms large and bright. I've never bothered to write a review before, but everyone there deserves to be complimented for doing such a good job at making our vacation so perfect.

Room Tip: Use Club Mobay for "fast track" through customs; it's reason enough to choose going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and as such, have rebooked for next year. All of us look forward to welcoming you back to experience more of what makes Round Hill special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Bob Marley is right on with this lyric. However, it has always seemed as if RH had the secret to
s l o w i n g it (time) down... I guess change is inevitable but I'm not quite sure what this means for RH.
I love RH. It is the place I hold all others up to the standard of. It has always been my nirvana. My family and I have visited almost every year for well over the past decade. It felt a bit different this time.
We have always traveled the same week of the year - following a school calendar. It started out in Feb. but, with a change of school for the children, the holiday's have come in March. Same faces (guests) abound, mostly, on each trip - was not the case this time. There are some new shareholders and loads of new guests. Good for RH - business is booming.
Here are some changes that make me question RH's future.
Seeing male guests sit at tea time without a shirt on and women w/o cover-ups. This was NEVER allowed - ever. The male guest I speak of is a shareholder (relatively new) and should know better. I have seen the staff politely remind guests of their policy - I guess they are not permitted to "remind" the shareholders. The women were reminded the second day/time.
The beach was beyond crowded - literally, chaise loungers lined up like cans of sardines. I have never ever seen RH this crowded. Which brings me to my final and biggest cause for concern. The fact that a shareholder was allowed to build a monstrosity of a "cottage" on RH. Two lots were bought & two cottages torn down. RH calls them "cottages" for a reason. Never referring to them as "villas".
While separately these changes may not seem to set off anyones cause for concern, together they make me fear for the bigger picture of RH's future.
Casual elegance and informal formality - it is what has always set RH apart.
One love...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank people2people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Valued Past Guest,

Bob Marley could not have said it better....Round Hill is timeless. We thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. As a loyal past guest of ours, we value your comments and want to reassure you that our standards have not changed in any way. It is always good to see the familiar faces of our past guests who come back year after year. We are happy to know that we keep on meeting your expectations and look forward to many more visits in the future. One Love!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I am reluctant to write this as i do not want more people to discover the gem that is Round Hill, but i have just returned from my 7th or 8th stay at Round Hill and am as in love as ever with the place. Round Hill exemplifies class, grace, and tradition, and tends to attract a crowd that understands why you can't wear shorts or tee shirts to the dining room for dinner. This is rare and special in this day and age.
Most importantly, the staff are the loveliest i have ever met in my extensive travels. In addition to the fact that they would bend over backwards to make your stay a delight, they are genuinely fun, friendly, and lovely people (and most have been there for years and years). They truly seem to enjoy their work and their visitors and it sets the tone for an incredible stay.
The rooms in the Pineapple House are so stylish (designed by RH resident Ralph Lauren), immaculate, and comfortable that i weep to return to NYC afterward. Even the free shower products are lovely.
The tennis courts are in fantastic condition with fun teachers; the water sports equipment is in top shape and readily available for use (make sure to book some adventures on the powerboat-- tubing,banana boating, etc.); the infinity pool is spectacular (the sunset looking out from a lounge chair over the pool, over the ocean is breathtaking); and the beach has been expanded with the swim area completely groomed of the seagrass that used to linger in nefarious dark patches near the rafts.
My kids are able to roam the resort freely and all of the staff keeps an eye out for children, whether to joke with them, invite them to an activity like tie-dying, or simply to help them. (This trip i saw one of the landscaping crew literally drop his rake and run to comfort a small unattended child who had stubbed his toe. The landscaper was so sweet I got teary watching.) The food is delicious, abundant, and well priced, and the spa-- though i didn't use it this time-- is swanky and relaxing. Round Hill is my absolute favorite place on earth. Please don't go!!!! :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCPickyMom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Valued Past Guests,

Thanks for your wonderful comments on your recent stay. We are pleased to know that we continue to please you year after year. The staff is very committed to ensuring that all our guests have a great stay and will do whatever it takes to ensure greater guest satisfaction. The best form of advertising is positive word of mouth, so spread the word a little. All of us look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,311 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,485 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 64 in Montego Bay
2,083 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range: £245 - £676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing