We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but strict”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Lovely first night at Round Hill. We stayed in the Pineapple Grove.

Cons: We missed breakfast by 5 minutes and were sternly told it was much too late to be trying to order eggs. If you need AC be prepared to be told (strictly) all the doors and shutters need to be shut - so no natural light (though we cheated and opened them a bit). No shorts or non-collared shirts at these more uptight joints. Rooms feel a bit claustrophobic with white walls, shutters, doors, floors, ceilings, furnishing, etc.

Pros: Rooms were very clean, including the bathroom (which is extremely important to me). Quick walk to the beach and the gorgeous infiniti pool! Not too crowded. Dinner the first night right on the beach (their "beach party") - BBQ. Too pricey ($80usd pp) but it was a wonderful way to spend our first night in Jamaica. Live music serenading.

Overall rating: 3.5 to 4 stars

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anti-Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. We have noted both the pros and the cons and will review with our team to ensure that we continue to offer a relaxed, unhurried vacation experience. We hope that you will return to stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at a lovely villa at Round Hill for three nights in January for his dad’s wedding. It was a short stay but very enjoyable. This resort has a wonderful small boutique feel and provides the privacy and quality of service that you just don’t get at an all-inclusive. The grounds are very nicely manicured and feel very tropical. The room that we stayed in was very spacious and well air-conditioned. The bathroom was also very nice. We were kept up a bit at night by the sounds of the bugs and birds and wildlife outside, but it wasn’t a big problem. The food and drinks at the resort were wonderful. Part of the service included with our villa was a homemade breakfast by the staff each morning. We really enjoyed this. We ate lunch at the restaurant each day and it was very good as well. For dinners, we had the wedding dinner one night and a beach BBQ for the wedding party the next night. The food at both of these dinners was the best I’ve ever had in the Caribbean. The staff did an excellent job of taking care of the whole wedding party. They have a wonderful wedding planner (Racquel) who did a great job. The ceremony and the reception were absolutely beautiful and everyone really enjoyed themselves. The couple got married right on the beach and had the ceremony at the cliff-side restaurant near the spa. The beach was very nice, a bit small (not good for long walks) but we definitely enjoyed swimming there. The hotel infinity pool is also amazing. One small thing to keep in mind is that you can hear the planes coming into Montego Bay airport from the resort (especially on the beach). I don’t think you could avoid the plane noise from anywhere in Montego Bay based on the landing patterns, but just something to note if you don’t like that. The wedding party enjoyed karaoke at the lounge-bar one night as well which was a lot of fun. Overall we had a fabulous time and would definitely recommend Round Hill for a family vacation or wedding! You will have a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for providing us with feedback on your stay in January. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for the wedding of your boyfriend's father. Round Hill is the ideal spot for everyone, couples, family, singles, honeymooners and anyone celebrating a special occasion or wedding. We hope that you and your boyfriend will choose Round Hill if you decide to have a beautiful destination wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned yesterday and had a wonderful time on our family vacation! I'd echo everything positive I've read but want to make a couple of items known for fellow travelers. Getting the meal plan is the option most recommended by staff and travel agents, but make sure to be prepared for the additional 10 percent service charge and 15 percent tax added for every meal. It is clearly spelled out on the sheet you sign at check-in, but it may come as a surprise when you first learn about it.

Beverages are not included in the most common meal plan, which runs $125 per adult per day, for children about half that rate. Our travel booking included complimentary breakfast, but we had to remind the front desk at the beginning and end of our stay and have the bill re-printed (it resulted in a reduction of $25 per day per adult). Going up, the next plan gives you beverages but not wine and other drinks. If you like a bottle of wine at dinner or lunch, it will make a big difference in what you pay. Or if you want that extra appetizer or entree, the service charge and taxes, being calculated as a percentage, will increase, so as I see it, the value of the food plan is reduced the more that is ordered.

The food was a mixed bag; certainly it was good, and in some cases, excellent. Overall, I don't know if the excellent items outweighed the others, but it is also true that nobody in my group went hungry or complained of any shortage of food. There is a clear quality missing in the beef selections and the pasta tended to be overcooked, so sticking with seafood and chicken choices are likely to be most satisfying. Also the "conch beignet" offered at lunch has no identifiable fish in it, despite trying it over several days. The waitress told us that the fish is mixed into the bread base. It's more like a donut. Breakfast was probably the best meal, followed by lunch. Service was excellent throughout and the dining managers are wonderful. The people were incredibly kind and inviting.

I will absolutely say without qualification that the staff are all deserving of tips and it is encouraged at each meal to add that in on top, We tipped over $1,200 total among wait staff, managers, room attendants, bell service and cart drivers. if service was good, you will want to of course reward it. Just be prepared.not to consider this a true "all-inclusive".

Also, be advised that the food plan starts at dinner, so if you arrive at the resort early on the first day, you pay full food rates before the food plan kicks in at dinner. That doesn't sound very significant until you see that prices charged in retail terms are quite high, lunch for 4 adults and 2 children easily rises above $300, breakfast over $200, etc. plus tax and service charges.

Looking back on it, for me and my family of 6 (4 adults, 2 children), we probably would have saved considerable money going a la carte, especiallybecause we tended to eat lighter at some meals versus others. It's not the hotel's fault though.

The hotel store is very nicely appointed, however there are hidden charges to be mindful of there too. We wanted to buy a painting for sale for only $500 until the sales clerk informed us that the law in Jamaica changed two months ago, subjecting such purchases to a stiff tariff. Handing over to the Jamaican government $400 for a tariff when we only would have paid $500 for painting itself, didn't seem very fair to tourists, so we declined.

Our Cottage was incredible, 4 rooms, a pool, dining room, family and sun areas, terraces, outside shower (awesome!) and "hidden" gazebo up in the jungle hills. The most pleasant surprise was seeing our quarters. WOW!

For reference at check out we paid about $6200 in food/beverages, $1,000 in spa services and $1,200 in tips, on top of the room rates in June, off-season.

Room Tip: Nobody complains about there room here! Anywhere is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lemonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for providing us with feedback on your recent stay. We have noted your comments and will review with our team so that we can improve on our service and product offerings. We have a number of meal plans where guests can choose or they can opt for paying for individual meals/drinks as they go day by day. Tipping is discretionary and we do often times advise our guests of this. We hope that despite this, that you will choose to return to stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for six nights in this extraordinary property in mid-June. We rented a two bedroom villa with a private pool. The villa was well appointed with far more room than we required. The two connecting bedrooms were lovely and well air conditioned. The property was extremely well maintained and every detail of the villa was continuously looked after. The beach area while small was adequate with lots of water sports equipment available. The food was excellent with a new menu and different theme nightly. The staff were all friendly and professional and made every effort to accommodate special requests. Our villa team of Angela and Kareen prepared a delicious breakfast each morning and Delroy ensured the pool was crystal clear every day. An extraordinary stay in every way.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Beej H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the wonderful review on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our beautiful cottages that offers you complete privacy. The friendliness and attentiveness of our cottage staff will ensure that you have a memorable vacation. All of us look forward to welcoming you back to our island paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Round Hill for 4 nights to celebrate our anniversary. It was wonderful! The service, food, and grounds were top-notch. We stayed in the basic oceanview room and were actually very impressed with how large and comfortable it was. The pool is beautiful and the resort is on a secluded bay so you don't have to see Montego Bay (or anything really) in the distance. We got massages at the spa and I have to say that mine was one of the best I've ever received (and it was a prenatal massage, so that says a lot).

One note, people do bring kids here. We're expecting a baby ourselves, so that was not an issue for us, but if you are looking for a kids-free stay, this isn't it. Most of the children were very well-behaved and we have already talked to friends about coming back to Round Hill in the future with our entire families. Our only complaints were that on our last day, there were some rowdy kids in the pool and my husband's lunch order took an extremely long time to arrive. When I mentioned these in the survey we filled out after arriving back home, the hotel management immediately contacted me and apologized for everything. The manager even offered a free upgrade for our next stay. I think that just shows the level of service that Round Hill offers. We'll definitely be going back in the future!

Room Tip: We debated getting a room with a patio or just the regular oceanview. Honestly, there isn't muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the wonderful review and for staying with us for your anniversary celebrations. We are glad to hear that you were very impressed with our property and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Impeccable service; friendly, professional staff; private, romantic ambiance. Incredible location. I had an amazing stay with my boyfriend. Such a romantic place to get away from the stress of life. The food was authentic to the island. The beach was conveniently located on the property. There were several recreational activities to keep us entertained on property. I enjoyed the personalized little shuttle cars to transport us up and down the hill property. What was memorable was the romantic seaside dinner at nights and the couple massage by the spa.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikkicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for taking time out to write this wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Round Hill is the ideal place for lovers - from our villas to the romantic dinners to our couples massages. We hope that you will return to stay with us when you need another romantic getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent 4 fabulous days at Round Hill for my nephew's wedding. We can't say enough about the villa, the staff and the setting. Everything was perfect. No grain of sand was left unturned! This will be a celebration we will be talking about forever. Treat yourself to something special the next time you vacation in Jamaica.

Room Tip: Villa #17 is superb...the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for coming to stay with us and sharing in the wedding celebrations of your nephew. We are happy to hear that you had an amazing time and everything went well. We hope that you will return to stay with us again in villa 17.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,313 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,495 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 64 in Montego Bay
2,084 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range: £249 - £673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing