We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I need never look anywhere else for holidays with our small children...”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I need never look anywhere else for holidays with our small children...”
Reviewed 27 April 2010

What can I say! I have never sobbed when it was time to leave a holiday before.
Round Hill is truly a gem of a find (I almost don't want to shout about it on trip advisor, to keep it a secret :) )
My husband and I have travelled extensively, both with and without our children, always staying in 5+ star resorts. But this place stands out a mile. We were welcomed by the staff as if by family, our children were practically accepted as their own. (Many have staff have worked here 20+ years) All the fellow guests were like minded individuals and felt like guests at a party. We have honestly made friends for life.
The style is rustic and 50's charm, the beach is small and clean, the sea crystal clear and calm enough for a 3 year old to wade in, the food is good (no-one was ill) and they cater for fussy little eaters well, the service is impeccable but delivered with a genuine smile as if staff really believe you deserve the break. Stewart knocks up a mean cocktail by the shore, Althea delivers an excellent massage on the adults only spa lawn with the sound of the ocean to lull you, evening entertainment is of just the right amount and quality.
But for us the most important part was the childcare. There is a small (complimentary) staffed, airconditioned kids club, but most uniquely, a team of expert nannies on hand to take care of your little ones at a moment's notice. We hired the amazing Tricia for several hours each day so that we could spend time relaxing. She did exactly what the children wanted, tie-dying T-shirts, making collages, painting stones, being driven on a golf buggy around the resort on a 'safari' by Junior (we all fell in love with Junior), eating ice-cream in the shade, burying new friends in the sand. She was organised, no-nonsense and experienced, but always full of fun and smiles. The children adored her and we knew they were catered for completely despite one of our girls having Down's Syndrome.
If state-of-the-art facilities, stuffy staff and snooty guests are what you are looking for don't try Round Hill. If you want understated luxury, genuine smiles and laughter in a naturally stunning environment (plus quite a bit of celebrity guest spotting darling!) then give it a try.
WE WILL BE BACK. Thank you to Josef and his incredible team.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    121
    43
    21
    15
See reviews for
405
541
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

I see that on this site, the Iberostars are rated number one and two with Round Hill being number three....I have stayed at Iberostar Rose Hall and Round Hill and there is no comparison. Round Hill is more expensive but far better in terms of service, food, cleanliness and overall atmosphere. It is a smaller, more intimate resort that caters to individual travellers and doesn't try to suit the masses. If you are looking for a more personal experience, Round Hill is your spot...if you want more late night parties and large groups, head to Iberostar.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I just returned from Round Hill and it was by far the best resort I have ever been to. The service was above and beyond, the people were so warm and friendly and our villa (#18) was amazing. This is a truly special place, look no further and just go here. You will not regret it. Make sure to order a Round Hill Special at the bar. My boyfriend and I are already trying to figure out when we can go back as soon as possible. We can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

My family along with another family rented a villa called, 'Hillside Villa,' at Round Hill Jamaica. The villa was spectacular. It feel like a throwback to old Hollywood with it's 1950's-60's architecture. The view of Montego Bay is stunning and unique in the Round Hill Villa resort. The staff were perfect -- providing friendly yet not intrusive service. The food was phenomenal. Although a vacation at Round Hill is a pricy endeavor I felt that it was worth every penny.

We have stayed at a lot of resorts in Jamaica, St Johns, Dominica Republic and Mexico but Round Hill is by far my favorite because of the intimate size and of course the beauty!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

I got the Round Hill experience with my fiancé on a business trip. Wow! We slept in a villa where Paul McCartney slept, and the luxury lived up to all our expectations. The food was top notch, the staff incredibly friendly and the resort as beautiful as it is luxurious. Eating that delicious breakfast in our own villa is an experience I’ll never forget! I wish we could have stayed longer.

We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We had a quick 3 day trip from NY for a get-a-way/honeymoon #2 vacation! The people were so warm and friendly... knew you by your first name. The place is spectacular... so many places to just enjoy the view. Pros- welcome rum drink(!), evening live music at the bar, 'adults only' spa/facility, the amazing bed, the service; Cons- need some bug spray or warning to bring your own, hotel rooms a bit small- need a tv just to have in the room, 'spring break with the under 18- oops' but good to know it's super kid-friendly, the options for dinner were sub-par(how can you sell-out of seats in the formal dinning room?). Overall, a much needed break & Round Hill helped me 'get my groove back' aka 'How Stella Got Her Groove Back's filming location!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Round Hill is a legendary Caribbean resort with all the appointments that makes it truly 5 star property - scumptous food, stunning accommodations, magnificent grounds, the warm Caribbean - but I never cease to be captivated by the warm welcome and the kindess that the staff always extends. It is truly sensational.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,279 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,282 reviews
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,335 reviews
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Property: Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing