We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehh.... is exactly right, should have went with my gut and not stayed here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ehh.... is exactly right, should have went with my gut and not stayed here”
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Been to Jamaica many times, all great experiences. This one, sad to say was nothing to brag about. We did have a villa, it was pretty, 4bedrooms, a pool, 2 livingrooms, dining room, 4.5 bathrooms and a kitchen. Pool was dirty, bathrooms were outdated and had some animals scratching on the cieling,they fought alot, hopefully not rats but what else could they have been? Alot of water bugs (roaches) and huge ants and alot of mosquitos (bring alot of bug spray). Kitchen was okay alot of ants and flies. Rooms were nice, tv was awesome, great cable channels. A nice walk to the beach, maybe ten min. You can ask for a cart to come and get you and your party but just walk, it will be the most fun you have at this place. Resort, main pool was pretty but very small. Beach? what beach? Felt like I was swimming in a lake. Very small, not beautiful clear blue like the carribbean should be. And alot of plant life, seaweed etc. which makes it hard to swim cause beach is small and kinda shallow. Hard to find cocktails after 5pm, you gotta wait til dinner which is 730. Beach bars open 10am til 5pm. Very quiet, no tropical music playing. Only one restaurant, ala carte menu never changes, neither does lunch menu, both overpriced and very small portions. Food was okay, lunch meals were more enjoyable than dinner. Buffets, very expensive. We tried to eat out everynight for variety and decent price but taxis are very expensive, total ripoff. No night time activities, shows etc. Plan excursions in advance so you dont get rapped by taxi drivers, have shuttles get you. In closing, staff was friendly but couldnt wait to go home. This might have a been a great place in its hay day but really needs to move with the times. Not worth the money at all. Spending 10grand for 6ppl for only 4 days is ridiculous.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nepthejew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,091
    119
    43
    21
    15
See reviews for
400
535
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
181 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

From Josef's great e-mail welcoming us on to our rum punch waiting for u, Round Hill was just the retreat we needed after working and being at an all-inclusive resort. We loved the massage and snorkeling is not to be missed-- the reef and wall circle the area and we were able to spot a barracuda, squirrelfish, stoplight parrotfishes, healthy coral, and loads more. Breakfast by the ocean was divine as Ricardo regaled us in stories of the villa's past. The room itself was classic and the tub and shower are amazing. Opening up our huge windows to an amazing view and lighting a candle was the perfect end to the day-- thanks Josef and Round Hill! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

My wife and I honeymooned at Round Hill and it was exactly what we needed. We both work all the time (we're Marketing Directors), and our personalities are conducive to a pace where we're always doing something. Round Hill is forced relaxation at it's finest! Round Hill is off the beaten path, and is nothing like the typical all-inclusive properties. There's no night clubs, or cheesy restaurants. We were in bed most nights by 10 PM! We got a lot of reading and rest in. If you're looking for peace and quiet in a timeless luxurious setting, then this is your place! With that said, if you're bored easily, then you may tire quickly of the relaxing atmosphere and lack of nightly entertainment. They offer complimentary shuttles into town for shipping, but unless you're okay with dropping at least $50 on a taxi ride, you're confined to the one restaurant at Round Hill (which is delicious).
The general manager, Omar, was wonderful. He knew it was our honeymoon, so he upgraded us to a private villa and had champagne sent to the room. He understands the need to entertain wedding parties during the summer, but was very sensitive to the fact that we were paying guests as well. That's a hard balance to achieve, and we felt that he did that. Staying at Round Hill, you feel like you're stuck in a lost time where everything is modern and beautiful. Ralph Lauren himself designed the decor. Everything is painted white and feels timeless. After all, JFK and Jackie honeymooned here!
I do agree with some post on here - some of the staff definitely pay more attention to the guests who tip more than the 25% included tip, but that's human nature. I don't blame them.
The highlights of Round Hill are:
Daily Tea Time - don't miss it! I ate way too many Rum Balls.
Saturday and Monday night dinners - don't miss eating on the beach!
The views
The decor
The pool
The mid-week manager's reception

The disapointments were:
The price of the all-inclusive option - the food is considerably expensive
The lack of accessibility to other restaurants and activities
The long walk up to our villa (although we needed the exercise).

We did get a way from the property for one day and did the Chukka zipline tour and the tubing down the Great River in the afternoon. We highly recommend it - but make sure you cover yourself in mosquito repellent!

Feel free to email me if you have additional questions. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TarheelTraveler1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I traveled to Round Hill for a friend's wedding. I much looked forward to this visit because I had never been to Jamaica and had read such great things about Round Hill. The booking of my reservation with Keisha was a breeze, which was excellent! Everything from her prompt responses to even booking a last minute appointment for me at the Spa! She definitely "set the bar" for my expectations of Round Hill. Service, in general, from there was sub par. I had expectations of relaxing on the beach, at the pool, delivery of frosty beverages...however, my time was spent searching the grounds for dry towels and frosty beverages! Showers occur daily, around the same time (noonish-3; 4:30-6), so I would think the resort would have been better prepared for this. I must admit that, at checkout, I was somewhat thankful the service wasn't better because my bill would have been about $300 more.
While the rooms in the Pineapple house were pleasant, bathing was no so much. The water temperature barely got warm and did not stay warm. I did appreciate the georgous grounds and views, gracious housekeeping and the kitchen's delicious gazpacho!
Is Round Hill on my list to revisit anytime soon? Nah. But, then again, neither is Jamaica.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sig78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I wanted to love Round Hill so much that maybe my expectations were too high. Maybe it was the off season, I don't know, but for the price I was let down. The lunch menu never changed, the decking of the restaurant needed a pressure wash so bad it was aweful. The bartenders were rude and always seemed annoyed to be asked for a drink...seriously? Our room was above the employee lounge and the pool bathroom so it was noisy and smelled very bad all of the time. The pool bar was only open the first day we were there because a wedding was going on. The rest of our 8 day stay we had to walk really far to fetch a cocktail or wait a ridiculously long time for the pool server. Also, we were treated like second-class guests any time someone more important was around. During the wedding, we were basically pushed into a corner to dine and given pretty bad service. Another night- out last at Round Hill- there was a table of VIP's next to us that was being waited on hand and foot while we waited, and waited, and waited for not only our food/ drinks but for our server to pay any attention to us whatsoever. The long waits for service were not uncommon but it was noticably longer when anyone of any importance was around. Finally, the kids club is a joke. I felt terrible leaving my son there. It is a tiny room without air conditioning that feels like a child care center in a slum. The women who worked there were very nice but it felt like I was punishing my son taking him there and really took the fun out of any mommy-daddy alone time.

However, we toured the villas and realized that this is where we should have stayed. They were fantastic homes on a hillside over looking the bay. We talked about getting together couples and going back to rent a large villa (we toured a 4 bedroom that is frequented by Paul McCartney that was fabulous) but after our experience in the Pineapple House I am not sure I would go back. I feel like we could spend less money and have a better time. Staying off season in the hotel portiono of the resort should not have hampered the quality of our experience as it did. We saw cut backs everywhere that really made our trip bummer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank carlyirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We live in NYC and have been trying to find somewhere to take a holiday with 2 young children (3 and 1.5). Our criteria is basically a short flight, a sunny beachside location and something that is not overly commercial. Basically the type of place that you used to go to for "romantic getaway" but that has some kid friendly facilities. Round HIll was perfect. We stayed in Villa 1. Each of the villas are owned independently so the decorating style and amenities of each varies greatly. Villa 1 had a wonderful established garden with a lovely pool. The interior decorating was nice, but a little tired. ESpecially the kitchen. Not my style but still very comfortable. It was really close to the main part of the hotel so we were close to things for the kids. Although they have little golf carts to pick you up wherever you are and our kids loved riding them (even though we were close enough not to need them). Highlights for mums would be the ladies who come to the villa and cook breakfast for you (and clean up after the kids). They also have a kids club and fabulous nannies. We had Debbie and I couldn't say enough about how wonderful she was. There was no training required at all. She immediately understood our routine and just got on with it. We tended to leave the kids in the morning, go to the gym and do a workout, relax in the adults only area of the resort and then return to spend the afternoon with the kids. Clearly its not the cheapest place on the planet but it was definitely worth the spend. We returned relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angelainnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We were here for 3 nights, after spending the first 3 nights of our vacation in Ocho Rios. I had been hearing about Round Hill for years, and decided to give it a try since we had an early flight out, and we wanted to be closer to the airport the last night. We stayed in the main building, and the rooms were large, clean, and attractive. The landscaping is lovely, and the infinity pool is really first class, as it overlooks the beach and water from 2 sides. My only complaint is the beach and ocean swimming. The access to the water is limited in scope, since there are a lot of rocks on the bottom, and also quite a bit of algae growing in the water. I went in once, and after that confined myself to the pool.
The breakfast is very good. Most of our meals were buffet style, as it seems to be the best bang for the buck here. I thought the food was rather expensive. The service is good, but not as good as at the Jamaica Inn. It didn't help that it poured for a day and a half, and we had to sit in our room with the shutters closed in order to use the air conditioning, since there is no glass on the windows. Since there is no TV, there would be little to do if one didn't have books to read or games to play. The hotel is quite a distance from the town. Tryall and its golf course are nearby. I think that this would be a good place to come with friends who play golf and tennis, with whom to share the rooms in one of the cottages. (Some are quite a hike up the hill). There were about 150 wedding clients there when we were. I would recommend Round Hill, but I reserve my 5 ratings for the places that are perfect. Because there are lots of places in Jamaica with better beaches and better snorkeling, and even better service, I can only give Round Hill a 4.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarylandGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,260 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,228 reviews
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Property: Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing