We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Elegant boutique hotel, but beach is small and dining limited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful & Elegant boutique hotel, but beach is small and dining limited”
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Round Hill is easy to get to from Montego Bay by taxi but too isolated to enjoy any of the local attractions. We were told it's also not safe to walk outside at night (out of the resort). Although we didn't want to go to "an all inclusive"--it ended up that that way except we paid extra for everything except breakfast. The grounds are beautiful, but the beach frontage is abbreviated with no surf and rocks and reef prevent long swims. If you like to take long walks on a beautiful white sand beachfront, Round Hill is not for you. The 5 tennis courts were okay, but there wasn't even ice available at the tennis hut. The spa is nicely located along the beach and we had good service. The lunch menu is excellent and half the dinners were good. There was a litle iive music during the weeknights, but it ended around 9:00 with nothing else to do. All in all, the hotel is far too limited and pricey for what it offers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whoopsy2447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    122
    44
    21
    15
See reviews for
410
549
35
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Getting married at Round Hill was a dream come true. The resort itself is a perfect blend of subdued luxury and history, while still upholding Jamaican culture. The staff was incredibly friendly and made me and my husband feel a sense of place, or belonging, right from the start. We were drawn to Round Hill as a wedding venue because of this non- commercial and “club” like feel. Our first “reconnaissance” stay on the premises provided absolute confirmation for this reputation. From a logistical perspective, the resort is an ideal size for a sub- 100 guest wedding. Our guests were effectively afforded the whole resort for three days without it feeling too small or cramped, or too large and disparate. Furthermore, the varying accommodations from smaller rooms in the Pineapple House to larger, more luxurious private cottages provided our guests a wide scale in cost options. Finally, the service, food, and proximity to an international airport truly improved the quality of our wedding experience

I have experience planning large corporate events in New York City and was immediately impressed with the events staff at Round Hill. Everything was organized, timely, and stress-free. Once we arrived in Jamaica, we immediately felt like we were on vacation, and we were treated like guests, not hosts. I am extremely detail-oriented, and there was never an issue for me to worry about. The Round Hill staff went above and beyond its call to make sure we were having the time of our lives, including hosting a cocktail hour for our guests and serving rum punch on arrival. We were thrilled with every part of the wedding, from the rehearsal dinner beach barbeque, and the passion fruit wedding cake, to the champagne and flower petals awaiting us in our private villa after the reception. Additionally, the external venders that the wedding planner (Rochelle Smith) recommended were excellent. The band, florist, and photographer exceeded our expectations and were on par with what I have seen at the most high-end Manhattan wedding.

I also never felt like I was limited to a “prix fixe” wedding package from the Round Hill wedding planner. Rochelle helped me plan our wedding from the start and never pressured me into any decision. She had great ideas, but was also open-minded to my suggestions. I felt like the wedding was “ours.” In the end, our wedding day was not just unforgettable; it was framed with opening and closing days of blissful paradise with our closest friends and family!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCtraveler2010XYZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2010

This hotel absolutely exceeded my expectations. Our villa was so beautiful with an outdoor living room that we didn't want to leave it but it is impossible to stay away from the beach with its two outdoor bars and a gorgeous infinity edge pool. The spa also has a private beach area and pool for adults only (a main reason for choosing this hotel as we typically do not stay at family friendly resorts) though we didn't have to make use of it. There were plenty of families and small children but it wasn't overwhelming and never felt crowded. We enjoyed the restaurant/room service and found the staff to be incredibly friendly and attentive. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradleymboyd
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Our third trip to Round HIll was the best. While the accommodations, layout, and views are all spectacular, what makes Round Hill so unique and special is the incredible staff. Most luxury resorts can be stuffy however Round Hill is elegant yet totally comfortable. We wil be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradleymboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We were recently married at Round Hill and could not be happier with how it turned out. Being Caribbean aficionados, we have traveled to many island destinations (USVIs, Antigua, Dominican Republic, Grand Cayman, Bahamas, St. Lucia, St. Martin, St. Vincent, Grenada), and Round Hill is the best we have come across. The classic grace and understated elegance are truly one-of-a-kind. It’s a truly lush, beautiful tropical setting, which created the perfect backdrop for our wedding. More importantly, the staff went above and beyond to make sure our weekend was special.

We were married on the spa lawn and although we ‘dodged’ a couple raindrops, it was still amazing. The staff took care of every detail in a very personal way, as if it was their own wedding! They truly make you feel that you are part of their family and go out of their way to make sure your stay is memorable. After our cocktail hour around the spa pool, we walked on a tiki-torch-lit walk to the reception on the Seaside Terrace, where the space had been transformed by hundreds of orchids and hanging tea-lites. It was stunning! We danced the night away under the stars.

We would be remiss not to mention the facilities themselves … we stayed in villa #23 and couldn’t have been happier. Not only was it beautiful, but again the staff and food were first-rate. We had guests in several other villas (#25, 18, 5/6, 13) and all were stunning, in addition to many guests in the pineapple house who loved that too. We spent many glorious afternoons in the villas pools and the main infinity pool, as well on the new expanded beach, which was great. Several of our guests took advantage of kayaking, sailing and snorkeling and had plenty to keep them entertained. For the less adventurous, the bar and constant stream of entertainment were a great option as well.

We will be forever grateful for the generosity and attention to detail displayed by the team at Round Hill, and for making our wedding event one to remember. We cannot wait to return and see the staff that has become our friends. For those who plan to visit Round Hill you will not be disappointed. It’s a special place. Make sure to say hi to Kingsley, Owen, Mark, Kevin, Junior, Mensieta, and of course Rochelle. We hope to see them soon ☺

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pats2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2010

From the moment I stepped out of the car the staff was simply amazing. Mark at the front desk was enaging and funny. Everyone I met has worked there for years. ( sign of excellent management.) The grounds are gorgeous and the rooms were so warm and comfortable - awesome views. Slept extremely well every night and felt safe! Check out the spa... amazingly, the path to the spa is awe-inspiring. LOVE this property and the staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serene_sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed at Round Hill for the first time last week. It was the Best experience! The staff welcomed us from the first minute we arrived and it was a warm experience throughout our stay. We felt like it was a second home. The food was fabulous and the attention to detail is not overlooked! I would highly suggest it to anyone wanting to get away and escape to the most beautiful place in Montego Bay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomainsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,296 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,359 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,072 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,395 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Property: Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing