We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab-u-lous”
Review of The Old Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Bell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Delph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stay in lots of hotels, but this is the only one that we have gone back to 3 times - and we will no doubt return again.

If you want a hotel near Manchester or near Saddleworth, do yourself a favour - stay here. It is very nice, very clean, very comfortable, very friendly, and the food is very good. Sorry if I've missed anything.

Room Tip: Just go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

Booked to stay again at the Bell (my second visit) due to the excellent time I had here six months ago. I enjoyed this stay even more. Staff are great fun. Great selection of beers and I always enjoy the atmosphere here. Food was lovely - xmas dinner menu - fantastic value and high standard of service. I hope to be placed here again in the future! I really enjoy my visits here! the best place outside of Yorkshire!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1981JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed overnight for a family event the toom was clean and comfortable. A group of 11 of us also enjoyed dinner in the hotel. I couldnt fault it, the staff were friendly and attentive, there seemed to be a number of locals dining and there was a nice ambiance. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Leylamojacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I booked the Old Bell based on the reviews from Trip Advisor. I used to visit this pub years ago when I lived in Oldham and what a transformation. I had booked the hotel for my family because we needed to be home for personal reasons. On arrival we were made welcome by the friendly staff and after settling into the rooms, of which were of a high standard, we went to the bar lounge for a late meal. Although it was nearly time for the kitchen to close there were no complaints when we ordered the meals, these were of good standard and made to order.

The breakfast next morning could only be described as wonderful and could easily match some higher class hotels for quality, once again the staff were friendly and courteous. A pleasant stay and highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank wyatt2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Saddleworth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed there last weekend whist attending a wedding nearby. Staff were so friendly and accommodating. Food for dinner and breakfast was excellent. Having stayed in many 5 star hotels all over the world - I was so pleasantly surprised at the level of service here, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend. And a point of note if you happen to be a smoker (which I am!) they have gone out of their way to stop you feeling like a pariah - by providing a little terrace outside the Conservatory Lounge upstairs..Well Done!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your great comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have stayed at The Old Bell regularly for a few days per year since 2005. We have always found the staff to be genuinely and sincerely friendly and interested and receptive. Such personal warmth may be a "northern" cliche, but it is borne out by actions and attititudes from all members of staff. Friendly is as friendly does - I subscribe to that motto - and declare that that is what a resident of however short/long a stay will happily experience.

Breakfast is generous, and cooked fare is served truly fresh and hot.

The rooms we have stayed in have been delightsome. In fact, after all our many stays, we have never yet needed to switch on the television in any room given us.

A good stay is what you should expect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SignorMaRcOpOlO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for returning to The Old Bell Inn each year. We’re pleased we continue to meet your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have just spent 8 nights at this lovely 'Olde' Hotel/Restaurant whilst visiting from Australia. The atmosphere is cosy & inviting and the Staff friendly & professional. My room was clean & bright with a lovely decor and the inclusive breakfast was FANTASTIC. Evening meals can be eaten in the cosy Pub setting or the more formal Restaurant dining room. The food produced by Chef Mark and his team was varied, tasty and FAULTLESS....... I will definitely be staying here again next time I visit the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again VERY soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delph
0.8 mi away
The Gate Inn
The Gate Inn
#1 of 1 in Diggle
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
320 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Oldham
541 reviews
2.2 mi away
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
1.7 mi away
Grains Bar Hotel
Grains Bar Hotel
#3 of 8 in Oldham
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bell Inn

Address: 5 Huddersfield Road, Delph, Oldham OL3 5EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham > Delph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Delph
Price Range: £92 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Bell Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bell Inn is an 18 bedroomed, four star AA & VisitEngland accredited inn. There is a Brasserie and a Restaurant where local head chef creates exciting dishes using fresh, locally sourced produce. Head Chef's 'Signature Menu' has been awarded a coveted AA Rosette for culinary excellence. Over the past few years The Old Bell Inn has established itself as one of the finest venues in Saddleworth, with an excellent reputation for service, dining and accommodation. This 18th century Coaching House is steeped in history and has been carefully transformed to reflect a clever mix of traditional old English charm with contemporary luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bell Inn Delph, Oldham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing