We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience That Will Last a Life Time”
Review of Aux Traditions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aux Traditions
Certificate of Excellence
Chepachet, Rhode Island
1 review
“An Experience That Will Last a Life Time”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

To say I was impressed would be an understatement. The home was recently renovated, clean, comfortable, and just plain homey. The owners were friendly, helpful, and considerate. The rooms were comfortable and quiet with a clean bathroom right across the hall. My son and I were the first to experience this great place with what I hesitate to say is a perfect location from which to snowmobile. I hesitate only because, part of me wants to keep this a secret for myself, and a few close friends. And to think we were the first to snowmobile from this B&B. I found a gem or I should say my wife found a gem. I enjoyed it so much I returned the following week with a close friend. He too had nothing but good things to say about the service, the food, and the great location from which to snowmobile. We will be visiting again in the warmer weather. In addition I am also sure this will be a trip we make every year we snowmobile.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rtalberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lake wales
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We opted for a road trip for our Summer vacation with B&Bs as our only accommodations for 2 weeks. We chose Aux Traditions for it's location as we wanted to visit La Mauricie National Park.

This was not the most fancy of our B&Bs but it felt like home or at least like staying with friends. The hosts Meggie and Venci are truly friendly people. It is obvious that they love and enjoy people which will make running a B&B a joy for them. They are new in the business and have found their niche.

The house is an old Quebec styled one from a long gone era. It is over 100 years old, but they have restored it so it's appealing and comfortable. The first floor with the kitchen, dining and sitting area has a beautiful hard wood floor with lovely area carpets. The bedrooms are very basic but cozy. There is a suite of 2 rooms with a private bath and 3 that share a bathroom. There is no central air but even at the end of August it was very comfortable with the window open. There is a fan which we didn't have to use.

Meggie provides a delicious and filling breakfast and she likes seeing her guests enjoy it. She will also provide an authentic Balkan dish for supper if you request it. We opted for this meal with a vegetarian twist and were happy that we did.

Meggie is Bulgarian and her husband is Greek. It must be a good blend for hospitality. You notice their gregarious nature the moment you set foot in their home. Meggie speaks excellent English and several other languages. They are both well educated.

If you are in this area, consider a stay at Aux Traditions. It is just outside Mauricie National Park not far from Trois-Rivières in Quebec. For a visit to this park it could not be more conveniently located.

Room Tip: Choose the suite to have a private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I visited this charming B&B already few times and I love it!
It is a typical rustic Quebec house just minutes from the magnificent park de la Mauricie.
What I love about it: renovated rooms, tastefully decorated; super friendly and welcoming Meggie & Venci (hosts) who will make you feel home; relaxing backyard; tasty food and real char coal BBQ.
It is located in a quiet little town within a short walk to the river and only minutes drive from endless lakes of Mauricie.
Perfect place to get away from all the noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This B&B is an absolute gem ! Located in a little village overlooking the lake and only a few minutes along the road to the entrance to the Mauricie National Park. The house has been beautifully renovated and all areas are spotlessly clean. There is a large garden to enjoy at the rear which is frequently visited by some of the Nat. Park's wildlife.
The owners, Meggie & Venelin are charming and will offer you the chance to have a traditional Balkan dinner with them. Make sure you take up their offer , the meals are delicious and expect to put an inch or so on your waistline !
This lovely couple will do everything they can to ensure that you have a great time while you are with them. My wife and I arrived as strangers of course, but left as genuine friends and will always have great memories of our stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite with two rooms and a private bathroom overlooking the rear garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redtraveller19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-des-Piles
11.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Shawinigan
5.1 mi away
Hotel Marineau Shawinigan
Hotel Marineau Shawinigan
#1 of 6 in Shawinigan
63 reviews
5.7 mi away
Auberge Le Flores
Auberge Le Flores
#1 of 2 in Grand-Mere
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan
11.8 mi away
Auberge Saint-Mathieu du Lac
Auberge Saint-Mathieu du Lac
#1 of 5 in Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aux Berges du St-Maurice
Aux Berges du St-Maurice
#2 of 4 in Saint-Jean-des-Piles
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aux Traditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aux Traditions

Property: Aux Traditions
Address: 1515 Chemin de St-Jean-des-Piles, Saint-Jean-des-Piles, Shawinigan, Quebec G0X 2V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Shawinigan > Saint-Jean-des-Piles
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-des-Piles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aux Traditions 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of La Mauricie National Park, between the beautiful hills of the Laurentian Mountains and the majestic St. Maurice River. Five bedrooms, from which two in a suite, dining room, living room and a Vinarna room for degustation of Balkan dishes. Warm and cozy rustic ambience: guaranteed getaway, far from the din of daily life in the nature’s heart! Activities in the area: boat and canoe, swimming, hiking, mountain biking, bicycle, motorcycle, hunting, fishing, seaplane, golf, karting, historic sites, cross-country skiing, alpine skiing, snowshoeing, etc. Culinary surprises: traditional Mediterranean and Balkan dishes. Come to discover the perfect match between traditions from here and elsewhere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aux Traditions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing