We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in the Mauna Lani bungalows and I cannot say enough about the property, the staff, high level of service! Everything from the moment we checked in and were greeted with smiles and leis to the amazing breakfast buffet, biking around the property, and whale watching!! If we could have, we would have stayed forever and forever! Mahalo!!!

Room Tip: Bungalows were amazing! We didn't hear anything in the bedroom once the door was closed so it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiuslkh808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 2,031 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We are fortunate to live here on the Island of Hawaii, but we had guests from Denver and wanted them to enjoy the gorgeous beaches of "the other side" since we live in Hilo. The MLBH was an exquisite experience. The associates, and grounds, the amenities, the exceptional hospitality...all superlative! Hint, for locals, ask for Kamaaina rate, for visitors, the price is still excellent because they do not "nickel and dime" you by charging you for beach chairs, bicycles, kayaks, pool toys, etc. There are no bad views, all rooms have scenic views. We had dinner at Na Pua, dropped off by shuttle driver... and we strolled back via a most scenic path. Dinner was fabulous! . This hotel is not showy, sparkly, neon-lighty... it is elegant, classy, authentic. I must warn you, there is a parking charge, and if you have a car, there is no option but to pay the fee of $18 per day plus the gratuity once the host brings the car around. You can park it yourself, but you still pay the same parking fee. Once parked, you can spend all your time there on the grounds; there is plenty to do. This is a first rate experience, maybe a "Once in a Lifetime" experience, but not for us! I can't wait for our next stay-cation at the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel! Our guests from Colorado said they had never experienced such a well-maintained, beautiful, friendly hotel. They had just come from a major chain hotel in Maui, and they kept insisting there was absolutely no comparison, and that the experience surpassed most hotels in which they have stayed.

Room Tip: I honestly don't think there are any bad rooms. The elevators are fast and roomy, there are no d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank donnaspeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Lovely ocean front room with beautiful view. The property is beautiful, but the service and food were very disappointing for this level of resort. Stayed 3 nights and would not go again. Seafood buffet and breakfast buffet were extremely poor quality and not even presented attractively. Service in restaurants and poolside were less than to be expected for this quality of resort.

Room Tip: Definitely go for ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJFDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Location was great, beautiful beach with turtles right there on beach, and plenty of hammocks and beach chairs with cushions and shade if wanted. Pool and hot tub excellent as well. We had oceanfront room, so worth it to watch sunset from balcony each night. Food and drinks very good, and enjoyed the shops nearby. Had sushi at shops area, Monstera, very fresh, loved it, dont bother with noodles, sushi is their specialty! Wish we had stayed longer. At Four Seasons Lanai now, and honestly, miss Mauna Lani - rooms much more comfortable!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Wow! What a beautiful place to stay.

The room was really quiet and large, the bathroom as well. The resort facilities are fantastic including the snorkelling, bicycles, pool and hot tubs and on-site eating options. The gardens are immaculate as well. Great service from welcome upon arrival to beachside cocktails. We found it easy to get around the Island from here and enjoyed the drier side compared to Hilo which was wet 3 out of 3 days that we visited. Would recommend this resort especially for a quieter getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our second stay at ML since the tsunami destroyed Kona Village. It has a lovely property with fish ponds and trails to walk and wander as well as just sitting on the beach and listening to the waves. Excellent service and good 2013 update with hot tubs and better pool area. Food is reasonably good and sunsets from Canoe House ( eat early for best tables) were amazing. Rooms fine but nothing special - best are in front with lanai overlooking the beach- great star gazing at night

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here for ten days and absolutely loved it..from seeing whales breeching from our room to gazing at the stars at the observatory to snorkelling alongside turtles. The hotel was amazing with impeccable service...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Silvana2867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
5.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
2.0 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puako
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#3 Spa Hotel in Puako
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
Price Range: £252 - £459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel And Bungalows
Mauna Lani Bay Resort
Mauna Lani Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing