We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world luxury on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old world luxury on the beach”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I came by here for two days on our honeymoon. Mauna Lani is a lush tropical location, the landscaping is really beautiful. Our room was very nice, the view of the ocean was great, our only complaint is how loud the birds in the atrium could be in the morning. Loud. The blinds are also slatted, so for my husband, who likes a dark room, the sunrise was a wakeup call. The breakfast buffet was really delicious, however there aren't too many local food options nearby, it's mostly chains, unless you drive 40 mins to Waimea or Kona.

With a pool big enough to practice swim strokes in (but not big enough for laps) and the sea right nearby, there were a lot of decent swimming options. The grounds were teeming with cyclists and runners (there was a 70.3 triathlon the next day) and it was a great place to train. The fitness center was one of the best I've seen at a hotel. I regret that we never got to play tennis or go scuba diving (no time!) There's a laundry room, which is really handy if you are moving on to another location and want to start with clean clothes!

Most importantly, Mauna Lani had a feeling of luxury and charm that I haven't seen in a hotel for many years. On arrival you receive a shell necklace, and are taken to a seated check-in where you are offered a cold lavender towel and a guava and mango drink. We were not staying in one of their seafront villas and yet we were treated like valuable guests. Highly recommend this beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    479
    127
    36
    25
See reviews for
563
942
22
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Although I live here on the island, I had the opportunity to stay at this resort to attend a small concert for a nationally renewed ukelele virtuoso. Yes, the resort is NOT in Kailua Kona, however you won't be disappointed once you venture on to the property and feel the amazing spirit of Aloha. The resort is very peaceful and won't disappoint.

Many rooms are recently renovated, and the new pool area is astounding! Our room was filled with amenities, a large comfortable lanai, and excellent beds and bedding. The bathrooms were spacious and offered privacy from the room with ample lighting.

There are several water features and ponds that provide easy viewing of local sea life, inside and outside of the hotel. Grounds are well-kept, and walking paths are well-lit at night for those who wish to take an evening stroll on the grounds.

Food, service, and atmosphere at the restaurant (separate building from the hotel) is outstanding. It is worth every penny to enjoy a meal or pupus and drinks.

Hotel staff is very courteous, attentive to your needs, and service throughout the hotel is outstanding.

There are several large resorts in the area (closely, but not on top of each other) - this resort (for the money) is competitively priced, great value for the money, and won't disappoint.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the newly renovated pool area - simply spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBrownKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kohala, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We live on the Big Island and chose the Mauna Lani Bay for a one-night anniversary getaway. We were in an oceanfront room and had a beautiful view of Maui as well. Having stayed at many of the Kohala Coast Hotels, we feel the beach, grounds and pool here are among the best, peaceful and well-maintained. The staff is full of aloha.

Our only complaint about food was the lack of food items to accompany a late afternoon coffee at the Mountain Thunder coffee/bar place. This stay we only had breakfast at the hotel as we were headed out to the Big Island Film Festival that night, but have had many wonderful meals at the Canoe House.

Also enjoyed yoga class by the beach...perfect way to start the day!

Room Tip: Splurge for oceanfront if you want to fall asleep to the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohaBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We attended a wedding at the Mauna Lani and stayed for 4 nights. (4. night free) Walking in we sort of had mixed feelings about this place . Slightly outdated but we changed our mind when we saw the room with a gorgeous ocean view. The place was very quiet and the beach and snorkeling was great. The breakfast is served in a really pretty setting and the food choices are plenty.
We would recommend this place for families and couples.

Room Tip: Any room with ocean view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcegap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in April 2014 for our honeymoon. Hotel architecture is tired & 1980s style but it's clean and the grounds are very nice and well maintained. Rooms are large (bathroom is huge) we had a mountain (i.e. parking lot) view. We stayed 3 nights - should have reserved for 4 nights (even though we were only staying 3) because of promotion being run now for free breakfast if you stay 3 nights (and get 4th free). Hotel (along with all other hotels in area) is isolated - all there is to do is the hotel & the Mauna Lani Bay shops & restaurants (free shuttle transportation provided between hotel & restaurants about 1 mile away)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, TX
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the Four Seaons on our last trip in October, I thought that it could not be topped but, I have to admit, I have enjoyed our stay at the Mauna Lani even more. If you are looking for a very quiet getaway, with a great beach and the feeling of exclusivity, this is the place for you. The room, the staff and the food was terrific. One quick tip, book a corner, ocean front room, you won't regret it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mgmbenhurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was our first stay on the Big Island. I read many reviews trying to pick the perfect place for our stay and I am so glad I picked the Mauna Lani. It is a little ways from Kona (about 40 minutes) so you are not in the downtown kind of area. If you are looking for a quiet retreat this is the place. It is a beautiful hotel and property - a little piece of paradise. All the staff were wonderful. We were busy doing tours and sightseeing so we wish we could have had at least one more day to enjoy the pool and beach area. Only things to note were that there were conventions taking place at the hotel and at evening time it could get a little loud when they were having dinner, luckily the doors to the hotel room are made very thick so drowned out the noise. Also late night food options at hotel and in the immediate area are lacking if you are looking for something quick. We would definately stay at the Mauna Lani again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to an Ocean View Room, the front desk told us that was an advantage to booking dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
4.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
22.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows

Property: Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Address: 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puako
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#3 Spa Hotel in Puako
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel And Bungalows
Mauna Lani Bay Resort
Mauna Lani Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing