We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort but Pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Room is adequate sized and décor is modern. Bathroom has separate shower & bath tub. It took a while to get from the lobby to our room since the resort is very large. The resort is 30 minute drive from airport. You will definitely need to hire a car on Big Island therefore it is $17 for parking per day. Food in the resort is expensive so definitely go up the road and buy your food there. Room Service is expensive and there is a surcharge for room delivery. The resort is a 40 minute drive to Old Kailua Village (where all the shops, bars & restaurants are). The small bay inside the resort has lots of turtles visiting so is a great spot to snorkel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 24rack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,321 - 2,327 of 4,166 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights and were pleased with our garden view room, which truly was a beautiful garden view, not a view of the parking lot or roof or other maintenance area like we had at the Marriott on Maui. The grounds are beautiful as all the reviews indicate. I can't give it a 5 rating because we had the worst service trying to get dessert and drinks upon arrival. It aggravated us so much that we never wanted to eat at the hotel. We went next door to The Canoe House, which has great reviews, and really enjoyed both a lunch and a dinner there. I also asked them to clean the grates that cover the air ducts in the bathroom since they were extremely dirty. They cleaned the grates but forgot to clean the dusty louver doors that I also requested to be cleaned. Overall very good but not as good as I think a Fairmont should be.

Room Tip: Eat at The Canoe House next door at the Mauna Loa Hotel and Resort. Great food, great service and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It is very gratifying to know you enjoyed your room and our beautiful grounds. Please accept our sincere apology for your disappointing experiences with food and beverage service and housekeeping. Your feedback is very important to us and will be shared with the appropriate department managers and used to improve in the areas where we fell short. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us; we look forward to welcoming you back and providing you with a more positive overall experience.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed in an oceanview suite on the first floor for four days. The room was huge with all the amenities you could possibly want and a lot of space. We were greeted with a lei and every staff person was kind and helpful. the staff at Brown's deli were standouts though, their greetings in the morning made me smile every day. The beach is smaller than some others but the lagoon is perfect if you have kids (ours stayed home). For a small fee, they also have all snorkeling, paddle board and kayak equipment available for use. You never have to leave the property, there are several eating options, you can walk or run to other properties and to the petroglyphs, the pool is huge and the scenery on the restaurant property is breathtaking. They offer a shuttle to the grocery store and a few shops. The gym is outstanding, you can run while looking at the ocean and they have machines and free weights. It was not busy at all at this time. There are so many places to sit, talk, have a drink and even watch a game. There were not a lot of kids playing, screaming, etc, as mine do so I don't know if I would come back while they are little, I hear the Sheraton is more of a family resort. No pool slide, etc. But for a couples getaway, there is no other spot I would go.

Room Tip: Stay in the building closest to the beach, it is close to everything and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyontheMove_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

You can never go wrong choosing a Fairmont resort. Upon arrival we were welcomed with a lei greeting. Check in was friendly and efficient. The Fairmont resort is spread over acres of beautiful well maintained tropical gardens, and waterfalls, with restful walking paths through hidden spas and a hot pool. The heated pool is in a lagoon style and huge. There's a turtle look out point where you can watch them bathing in the sun, or just go down to the secluded beach and swim with them. The rooms are well appointed, large, clean with great beds, and a good size balcony.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 460Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your confidence in Fairmont Hotels and Resorts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have stayed at this property many times, continuing to come back because of the lovely grounds, good weather, and great staff. The two major issues I've read about on Trip Advisor over the past year have been the inadequate areas of shade by the pool and the temperature of the pool water (too cold.) Just returned from a 5 night stay, and am happy to report that there are now at least 16 umbrellas in the pool area --- I think there were 5 or 6 before. We never had a problem finding a shady spot. The temperature of the water has been addressed as well. I think the temperature is now perfect for those who have children in tow or use the pool primarily as a place to cool off. I am a lap swimmer, and it was actually a bit too warm for me. But, I think most guests will be pleased.

We received consistently excellent service from every staff person we encountered, and felt very well taken care of. It was a totally relaxing vacation with no stress at all --- just what the doctor ordered! The only disappointment was dinner at Brown's Beach House. The setting, with views of the water, is beautiful, but the food was nothing special. We had dinner at Ruth Chris Steak House in the nearby shopping center and our meal there was of much higher quality and with more generous portions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sloshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us again. We are thrilled to know that our lovely grounds and friendly staff bring you back, and that you received consistently excellent service during your recent visit. It is disappointing to know that your dining experience at Brown's Beach House feel short of your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and will use it to improve. Thank you again for choosing The Fairmont Orchid, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont Orchid in November 2013 for 5 nights. We absolutely loved everything about the resort, from the turtles on the shore (which was amazing), to the restaurants, golf, the pool, the amazing spa and just the laid back atmosphere and great, friendly service. We already have our 2nd trip back booked in January. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in an executive suite, which was huge and had an amazing patio and view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaileyFynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, and for your kind comments. We look forward to your return in January!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights Nov 2013 as first stop on a week on the island. Signed up to the presidents club and got free wifi. They hadn't yet started the resort fee even though it said this in the website (starts jan 2014 they told me).

Room was spacious with comfy bed and big bathroom (separate bath, shower) which had a toilet room with a plantation shutter door- not so great for privacy. The windows also had plantation shutters which were not adjustable, so the dawn light would come in.... Didn't bother us, but I imagine it would bother some people. Good tv fast wifi and great swimming pool. Couldn't hear anyone else. We had aircon trouble which was fixed within 30 minutes.

Highlight: We were able to swim at the white sand beach with the turtles.

Very relaxed, everyone in shorts or swimmers. All the food we ate was great, and the lounge had great nibbles, including dessert tapas and drinks. There is petroglyphs close to the hotel and agree shuttle bus that takes you around the area if you don't want to walk.

All up if you want an all inclusive resort this is a great spot.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Morphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
Price Range: £249 - £632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing