We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicer weather than honolulu island hopped to get out of bad weather”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Not, quite as nice as Fairmont on maui. I did like it better than the Hilton on kona It was quite busy with conventions so a bit overcrowded and cost a bit more as not as many rooms available. Weather was awesome. Oh, had to change rooms 2 times they were overbooked and first night given room with no view next day at around 3pm we had to make the move it was worth the trouble of moving. first room was back by maintenance with no view.

Room Tip: ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ther67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review.

We are happy that you were able to enjoy the Kohala Coast's amazing weather where our resort is bathed with sunshine nearly 365 days per year and is one of the state's driest regions. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience of having to change rooms; we are pleased that you were happy with your new location. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to welcome you back one day soon!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,435 - 2,441 of 4,368 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at The Fairmont Orchid as an anniversary celebration destination, and we opted to stay on the Gold level. That made our visit a total delight! Stacy and Stephani, our concierges, were so welcoming and so extremely helpful. They made our visit on the Big Island delightful, both with their great personalized attention, and their recommendations of things "not to be missed" away from the property. The resort grounds were impeccably maintained, making it pleasant just to walk around and enjoy the abundant blooming yellow hibiscus, the calm and inviting views of the ocean, and sunset. The staff was incredibly hospitable, and we were always greeted with a smile and a cheerful "aloha."

Breakfast on the Gold level was exquisite, introducing us to treats such as pickled lotus root, ono, along with smoked Scottish salmon and plenty of fresh island fruits The pineapple was the best we'd ever had. The evening offering of hot hors d'oeuvres was truly a treat, with fresh sushi and other interesting nibbles available before heading out for sunset and a walk on the beach before dinner. The torch lighting ceremony was a magical thing to witness. A bit of Hawaiian culture blending with gorgeous sunsets made the days memorable. After dinner it was wonderful to return to our room to find the bed turned down and pleasant video about Hawaii on the television. Our only direct contact with the Housekeeping staff was with Lilian, who was so sweet and charming we wanted to ask her to join us for the day! She too, was concerned that we wanted for nothing to make our stay more pleasant. From our first contact with Tim, our bellman, to our last contact, Hugh, as he brought us our rental car, we had a most wonderful week. It was our first visit to Hawai'i, and we came away with the feeling that "Hawai'i must be heaven, and if it isn't, it will serve as that for us!"

As we boarded our plane to leave, we felt truly refreshed and happy, and we now know the true meaning of the spirit of Aloha. Yes, we will return to the Fairmont Orchid! Aloha!

Room Tip: Stay on the Gold level - it is worth every penny. Our garden view room had the sound of the waterfal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FastLane68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Another short trip to the Orchid, 2 days, and wasn't disappointed!!

*valet engaging with a BIG Aloha greeting

* check-in, was already checked in before we hit the desk and the bellman whisked us to our room

*rooms clean but could have had a better cleaning, missed some small spills here and there

*Beach & pool perfect

*Dining - in room dining perfect, Deli still good, beach service lunch and drinks, fast and tasty- Nori's big change, from good to excellent service and food. Thank you chef, the menu changes are what were use to when dinning at a Fairmont!!!!!

see you soon Orchid, Mahalo!

Room Tip: Best resort to just camp out and enjoy Hawaii
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank On-The-Winding-Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed for one week at the Fairmont in a partial ocean view room.

The Good:
-Gorgeous setting, very well looked after gardens and surprisingly doesn't "feel" busy despite its large size. If you golf you'll love the proximity to the course.
-very comfortable bed, room always cleaned well, even provide a nightly turndown service and supply a bucket of ice into your room nightly!
-Free on demand shuttle to "beach club" and also to local tiny shopping mall. This is VERY handy as the food options in the resort are limited, mostly average (Brown's the exception) and very VERY expensive
-Staff are mostly excellent. Friendly, helpful and many have the appropriate etiquette of staff working in a luxury hotel.
-Some great snorkelling off the beach (LOTS of turtles!) despite the beach being very small and rocky.
-Free Wifi if you join the President's club (free)

The Bad:
-The food. This was the biggest frustration of the trip. It seems they know you are isolated without any other choice around and they do their best to absolutely drain your wallet. We tried the casual restaurant by the beach->Expensive (over $20 for a bad burger) and poor food. We tried the "deli" but yet there were maybe 3 different food choices (I guess they'd rather you sit at the restaurant) and were very over priced. The only exception was Brown's for dinner. The food was quite good, albeit expensive, but at least it was enjoyable.
-Check in could have been better. We arrived on a very early flight (8am) and there were no rooms available until the usual check in at 15:00. That's fine, totally understand, BUT at least offer your guests something for waiting 7 hours for a room! Other places have given us a welcome drink or a free breakfast to occupy the time etc.
-Expensive activities. You'll be up for $12/hour (!!!!) if you were to rent snorkelling gear from the hotel. Instead go down to snorkel Bob's at the shops and rent some for $25-$35 for a week!
-Amway was everywhere! They had a convention on at the time we visited and they had literally taken over the resort. There was even a dedicated channel on the Tv showing Amway ads 24/7.

Overall, apart from the issues mentioned above, the resort was mostly excellent and certainly better quality and value than the slightly cheaper (but MUCH worse) Hyatt Regency we stayed in the following week in Maui.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the golf course seemed to have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Aloha, and thank you for staying with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our property and that overall your stay was mostly excellent. It was concerning to learn that your dining experiences were a disappointment and that we did not have a room available for your early arrival; please accept our sincere apology. Your feedback is important to us and will be shared with our team and used to improve upon our facility and services. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for your valuable feedback.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife & I just stayed at the Fairmont Orchid. We were especially well looked after by the Fairmont Gold staff; lead by Ms. Stacy Jensen. They were very attentive to our [as well as every other guests] needs. The resort is beautiful, we don't golf, however the courses looked terrific. There were lots of turtles and whales around. The weather was a bit of mixed bag, but we ended up having more sunny days than anything else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Glenn,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after by the ladies on Fairmont Gold. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This resort has everything you need or could possible want on island! Simply the most relaxing vacation we've had in a long time. The location is about 30-45 minutes away from the airport, an easy drive and very scenic. The waterfalls on the property and flowers were beautiful! There is a nice path way along the ocean for a nice walk or run. The sunsets on the point, simply spectacular! There is a small deli on property nice beach bar and restaurant on the waterfront. The main restaurant and lobby bar were great. The buffet breakfast was well worth the cost and had everything!!! Exercise facility was perfect as you look upon the grounds and the ocean. The rooms were perfect, we had a partial view and it was literally an ocean view, we slept with the door cracked listening to the waterfalls. Pool was wonderful. The sandy beach and the activities were plentiful! Yoga on a surfboard! So relaxing! And e sure to swim with the turtles in the lagoon! The only complaint I would have is the international concierge desk didn't want to assist us, because we obviously were not Asian and sent us to the bellman which was slammed (that's why we went to them, they were not busy at all). All in all, beautiful property!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MootTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Aloha and thank you for your lovely review!

We are delighted to know that you had a relaxing vacation and enjoyed many of the services and amenities that The Fairmont Orchid has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The hotel is lovely in a great setting, beach is beautiful and great coastal walks available. The staff was helpful. The facility was hosting lots of functions and large groups were there. To accommodate these they closed off portions of the grounds(including the shady of the sandy beach) Spent all day setting up with lots of noise in what was suppose to be a quiet area. Also the beach shack early -one day and getting any items that you paid $75.00 fee for using snorkeling, paddle boards and so on were not available. We were only there a few days and these were not published in advance. Browns Restaurant was booked by larges parties and since it was the only formal dinner on the grounds, we had a late reservation on our last night and were seated 45 minutes later that the scheduled time. They had no problem compensating us with food and drinks but they were closing up before we were finished and the waiter and prep cooks were the only ones left. A cover was on the hostess check-in during our dessert. Not the type of environment in what is considered a "high end" resort dining experience. The other nights were at a very casual eatery but very limited choices.
They charge for everything including.75 cents to print your boarding pass. We have stayed at many resorts and that was a first. All the extras are overpriced. This resort is charging a premium prices but nickel and dime you for everything. They say they have amenities but charge a resort fee of $25.00 a day for it. We knew this when we booked but felt pushed aside as they were wrapped up in their groups, Gold members, Fairmont club members and business functions.
So a couple not part of a group should think twice about this resort. There are others out there that will make you feel special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marybeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Marybeth, thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your nice comments about our resort and helpful staff. It is concerning that overall your stay was a disappointment and we sincerely apologize that we failed to make you feel special. We strive to balance the needs of all of our guests to ensure a memorable experience and I am sorry that we fell short on this occasion. We take your feedback very seriously and will use it to improve. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a more positive experience.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
0.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
Price Range: £233 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing