We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha Spirit Lives at The Fairmont Orchid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We absolutely loved our recent stay at the Fairmont Orchid. The staff is warm and friendly, the grounds are well maintained, the beach and pool are awesome, and the room was very comfortable. We upgraded to the Gold floor, and would recommend others to do the same. Melani in the Lava Lounge, and Dale in Browns Deli are so friendly that you simply must meet them.

The location is awesome. Their are several great beaches minutes away. We loved the farmers market in Waimea is worth the drive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Aloha Mark, thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that you loved your stay, and especially pleased that our friendly employees contributed toward your memorable experience. Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,093 - 2,099 of 4,155 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I loved this hotel. The staff was excellent, very attentive. Location was beautiful and the lagoon was amazing. There were turtles on the beach daily. The resort was peaceful and quiet. The grounds were immaculate, lush and fragrant. I enjoyed the Luana Lounge music and relaxing in the evening under the stars. Great grocery store close by with a shuttle to get you there and a refrigerator in the room for snacks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much Cynthia for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at The Fairmont Orchid - we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is my fourth time at this resort. I personally think that it is the best value for the money. We visited a few of the hotels in the area for lunch and can clearly see that the Fairmont was one of the nicer resorts in that price range.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Aloha Laura, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your complimentary review. We are very glad that found The Fairmont Orchid to be a great value, and sincerely hope you will come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is nice for a larger property and they really try hard to please their guests. We had great service across the board. We loved eating lunch daily at the Hale Kai restaurant because the food was good (though salads could be a bit larger), the ocean front scenery is amazing and the servers were super friendly. Also enjoyed dinners at both Brown's and Norio's. The gym is great; also had a nice massage at the spa but the facilities are small and nothing amazing. We took advantage of the 4th night free promo, and i highly recommend staying on the 6th floor which I believe is called the Concierge level. It was well worth it as you're on the highest floor, you have a dedicated concierge staff who were very friendly and helpful with reservations and tips, and best of all a nice selection of breakfast items as well as afternoon snacks, beverages and other items available throughout the day. And again, the NICEST people worked in the 6th floor lounge. My one big issue is i wish they would provide filtered water (in dispensers like they have at the pool) rather than the abundance of water bottles that they must go through a day. The room is nice with spacious bathroom and two showers and beds very comfortable plus lots of storage in the closet and cabinets/ The pool is fine but the beach is the real plus, just wish they'd have more umbrellas and areas for shade. if you want shade we really enjoyed staying under the palm trees at the south end of the beach because it's a spectacular ocean front location, plus you still get lunch and bar service which was a plus. Snorkeling is fantastic because of the variety of fish but best of all you're swimming with the giant turtles.

Room Tip: Concierge Level with ocean view room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mintchip17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear mintchip17, Aloha and thank you for your wonderful feedback and suggestions for improvement. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay on Fairmont Gold. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Staying here for our 48th Anniversary. This hotel is first class with great rooms, good food, fabulous ocean views and nice, sandy beach. We have had three dinners (room service) on our spacious lanai because of the great view from here. Have had a great buffet breakfast each morning as well. The beach area is good for all ages with all types of equipment for rent. Good, protected snorkeling .

Room Tip: I recommend the North Tower rooms because the lanais are always in the shade for the entire day/even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LodiTraveler1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Aloha LodiTraveler1966, we are grateful for your wonderful review - Mahalo! Please come back and stay with us next time you are visiting Hawaii Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great location, beautiful layout, and outstanding food. We choose to purchase the Gold level, and we would highly recommend this option. Well worth the extra money, and helped to enhance what was already an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank flybyeknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Aloha Seth, congratulations on your marriage, and thanks for choosing to spend your honeymoon at The Fairmont Orchid. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

First of all, be very sure you know what location you are getting for your room rate. An "ocean view"-- for which we paid a premium-- was actually to be enjoyed only from our balcony, not the room itself. The "deluxe ocean view" rooms--which demand an extra-high premium-- started next door to our room. (Yes, the exact position on the hallway makes a big difference!)

Be aware, also, that the rooms are not large...unless you plump for the deluxe ocean category or above.

A complaint I have about their bathrooms: while it's awesome to have a separate shower and bath, why are there only two towel hooks in the entire room (one on the back of the commode door)? With their urging to go-green-please-reuse-your-towels (and save our hotel money!), you'd think they'd actually give you a place to hang them. (This is, after all, a place with a beach and pool. Guests are going to use a lot of towels!!) This stinginess with hardware is a remnant of the Ritz-Carlton Orchid days, which, IMHO needs to be addressed by Fairmont.

A BIG complaint we have: when you have one hit tub and you're a luxury resort, you should fix that ASAP, not put up an out-of-order sign for four days. They owe you a quick repair so you can enjoy this amenity. This really bummed us out--we missed getting to soak after a long days hiking, etc.

Btw, we had holes in our sheets one day. I'm sure this isn't typical...but it is disappointing.


  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SacAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. You have provided some great feedback that we will consider when planning future enhancements to our facility and the services we provide our guests. We are so sorry that the hot tub was not available during your stay. We truly understand your disappointment, and assure you that everything possible was done to expedite the repairs. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed our lovely grounds and our restaurants. Thank you for choosing to stay with us; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
Price Range: £249 - £670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing