We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kailua Kona
1 review
“Awesome Get Away”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Even though we are residents of this island and have experienced staying at all of the hotels on the Kohala Coast, we found this to be the best stay we've ever experienced!! The atmosphere inside and out is very beautiful and relaxing. The employees are very friendly and genuine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,416
    947
    302
    123
    53
See reviews for
1,088
1,879
52
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We loved the Fairmont! My husband and I went to celebrate our honeymoon/first anniversary. The staff was friendly and the service provided was impeccable. Our room was clean and nicely appointed. Beautiful ambience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank laurenm911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Aloha Lauren, congratulations on your honeymoon/anniversary! We are grateful that you chose The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii to celebrate this special occasion. Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently stayed at teh Fairmont Orchid for our honeymoon. We booked our room on the Gold Floor and it was well worth the extra money. The attention from the staff on the Gold floor was superb. We were there during a slower time and that may have been the reason. The breakfast they include is enough and the food was good. Chris, one of the servers is very friendly and attentive. We also enjoyed the cocktail they offer every evening; just a tip- the alcoholic beverages on the Gold floor are significantly less expensive than at the bars in the rest of the hotel so take advantage of the honor bar. We also met with Stephanie for assistance planning our activities and exploration of the Big Island. She made us feel that we had her full attention and she gave some great advice.

As some others have mentioned, the hotel is somewhat dated and could use some updates. Also, it is not close to the towns so you will definitely need a car while staying at this hotel. Overall, the grounds are beautiful and the staff makes you feel welcome and special. This is a great hotel to relax at but if you're looking for something with more of a nightlife, this would not be the place to stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Gold floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laxgirly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Aloha, Congratulations on your marriage, and thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii. We are pleased that your stay was relaxing, and that the attentive staff and extras on Fairmont Gold provided a good value. It is especially gratifying to know that the staff made you feel welcome and special. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

First family trip as adults... there was seven of us and our trip to the Orchid will never be forgotten! My husband and I hadn't been on a vacation in a long while so this trip and stay at the Orchid was the perfect medicine!! The staff were exceptional.. they went out of their way to accommodate and make you feel welcome!! The snorkeling out of the bay right out front the hotel was the best we have had... more so than many of the snorkeling tours we have been on!! Although the rooms were dated they were very clean... which we were really not in them much... we loved the massive pool, the water aerobics and yoga on a paddleboard!! Restaurants were great... sushi was amazing and martinis huge!!
Another small excursion we did was take a hike with Umi through Holoholokai Beach park and see all the petroglyphs as he explained the journey and history of the Hawaiian people... it was absolutely a must do!! My husband and I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenAngTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
270 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel itself is dated and secluded. If you have not car, you are stuck here. It needs an upgrade and I think they are in that process. There are 2 wings that has 5 floors. The South tower is closer to the sanded beach lagoon and the North tower puts you closer to the spa. The food is okay during our stay. Poke and Sashimi is what we ordered at the beach restaurant every day. This is the only place open for lunch unless you want to order room service. The best meal we had was the picnic basket we ordered for our beach day. Be prepare to pay some serious money for that basket! The ocean front massage was amazing! There is also plenty to do on the beach itself: paddle board, snorkeling, kayaking, and etc. that package is $75 for your entire stay. Self parking is included in your resort fee. Confirm before you check-in. Waikoloa Beach area has restaurants and shopping. I would stay in that area if I come back to Big Island.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bacong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We absolutely loved our recent stay at the Fairmont Orchid. The staff is warm and friendly, the grounds are well maintained, the beach and pool are awesome, and the room was very comfortable. We upgraded to the Gold floor, and would recommend others to do the same. Melani in the Lava Lounge, and Dale in Browns Deli are so friendly that you simply must meet them.

The location is awesome. Their are several great beaches minutes away. We loved the farmers market in Waimea is worth the drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Aloha Mark, thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that you loved your stay, and especially pleased that our friendly employees contributed toward your memorable experience. Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I loved this hotel. The staff was excellent, very attentive. Location was beautiful and the lagoon was amazing. There were turtles on the beach daily. The resort was peaceful and quiet. The grounds were immaculate, lush and fragrant. I enjoyed the Luana Lounge music and relaxing in the evening under the stars. Great grocery store close by with a shuttle to get you there and a refrigerator in the room for snacks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much Cynthia for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at The Fairmont Orchid - we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
12.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Property: Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing