We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Hands down the nicest place i have ever stayed. We loved it here and would love to go back to the big island to stay there again. Service was great from concierge, front desk, valet, housekeeping the list goes on. Very well maintained property and gorgeous landscaping. High ticket price so I'm very grateful for a friend who gave me her friends and family rate...Otherwise we would not be able to afford to stay there! Luxury! Love love loved it. Thanks for having us :)

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Kim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Aloha, thank you for staying with us! We are thrilled to know that you loved your stay, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,099)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,004 - 2,010 of 4,101 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed one week at the lovely Fairmont Orchid and we couldn't be happier. We have two small children and cleanliness and convenience is number one on our list. This resort offers impeccable service, gorgeous pool amenities and a fantastic beach located on the property. The beach is truly what sold us on this hotel and it honestly is amazing. The breakfast buffet is wonderful. It was so convenient and the morning staff were warm and friendly. My kids loved feeding the fish every morning as well. The rooms are super clean and spacious! I cannot say enough great things about this hotel. Truly paradise on earth!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Maria Z, thank you so much staying with us and for your kind review. We are so happy you are happy! The Fairmont Orchid is a wonderful place for families and children of all ages. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The grounds of the hotel are absolutely beautiful everything is well kept and clean. The room was also very nice with a nice view and the bathrooms were large and spacious. The staff couldn't be friendlier and everyone we encountered was very pleasant. We ate at Brown's Beach House for dinner our first night and the staff upon hearing of our recent engagement brought out complimentary champagne !

We also did a couples massage on the beach which was a great overall experience, I would highly recommend for anyone who likes spa treatments.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Aloha and congratulations again on your engagement! We are delighted that you had a memorable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon - perhaps for your honeymoon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second time at the Orchid and we love it.

We checked out I a timeshare stay early to go to the Orchid on this trip. The level of service, luxury, and the location are all worth double-booking when on the Big Island.

Pros:
1) We were upgraded to an ocean front room with a great balcony
2) Brown's is my favorite restaurant on the island
3) There is great snorkeling just beyond the protected bay at their beach
4) With small children the protected bay is perfect
5) Hanging out by the bar for appetizers and drinks is one of my favorite ways to spend an evening.

Cons:
1) There was construction in our wing so it was not real convenient to walk to our upgraded room
2) it ain't cheap


When we think of Hawaii we think of the Orchid.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KublaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I started reading reviews of the Orchid after I booked, and I started to get a bit spooked - some reviews were intensely critical of the property. We hadn't had a big family vacation in a few years, and wanted our visit to be memorable - in a good way.

There was no reason for concern. From arrival to departure, each and every staff member went out of his or her way to make our visit special. From the bell staff to the front desk, concierge, deli, pool - each and every staff member was lovely, friendly and helpful. We found the grounds well-kept and lush, and our upgraded room was spacious, well-decorated, kept very clean by the housekeeping staff, and had a stunning sunset view from the balcony.

Small touches such as delivery of bottled water to our room daily and towels and cold water being offered by the valet each time our car was brought around made us feel like we were living in the lap of luxury. The beach at the Orchid was just right for kids - there's a small, calm bay filled with sea turtles which is a wonderful spot for the first-time snorkeler or paddle boarder.

The unique spa was also a treat. I booked a reflexology appointment in one of the small waterfall-adjacent huts, and it was one of the most relaxing experiences of my life - not to be missed.

We've stayed at a number of upscale properties in the Islands including the Fairmont Kea Lani and Grand Wailea on Maui, the neighboring Mauna Lani and the Halekulani on Oahu, and the Orchid either met or exceeded our experiences at each.

My only criticism - and it feels picayune to mention it, but it was annoying to my kids - is that the daily activity card which is delivered to guest rooms had many incorrect time listings for complimentary beach activities, and some activities which were mentioned in hotel brochures were not offered at all. We missed out on petroglyph and history walks this way. It was a hiccup.

All in all, I highly recommend the Fairmont Orchid and hope to be able to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jenngg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Aloha and thank you so much for your very complimentary review. We appreciate your wonderful feedback about the many services and activities you enjoyed during your visit. Please again accept our apology for the confusion with the daily activity card - we have reviewed all printed materials to ensure they are in agreement so that this does not happen again. Thank you for staying with us - we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights with three young adult children. Facilities are very clean and well maintained. Pool is beautiful. Not a great spot for teenagers/young adults in terms of night life and peers...no real place to hangout. (Of course this could have been a function of the week/time we were there). The beach area seems very well suited for young families and would be super for little kids.

The food is excellent, but very expensive (both at the hotel and the local area). There are no inexpensive alternatives nearby except for a Subway and burger joint at Queens market.

One of the nice things about the hotel is the quantity and graciousness of beach towel availability. I've been to some places where you practically have to give your passport to get a towel. Not here. Also note there are towels available with the bellhop for daytrips, as well as in a locked cabinet next to Brown's deli for after hours.

You'll definitely want a car to get off the property.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Kley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

On our trip of 4 Hawaiian Islands this was our second stop. We arrived at Kona Airport on Hawaiian airlines, collected our Mustang from Hertz and drove to the hotel. At first we thought we had landed on the moon, the black terrain of what looked like volcanic rock was quite amazing. The further away we drove from the airport the more eerie it seemed. There was no sign of life at all on this island and we had to rely completely on our Sat Nav and Google Maps to guide us towards our hotel. Eventually we were informed by the sat nav that we had to turn left and entered a world of lush life down a long road leading eventually to The Fairmont Orchid.

We were greeted by the efficient car valet guys who unloaded our luggage and whisked the car away. We were adorned with Lei Garlands - beads for boys and flowers for girls Lovely! We were guided towards reception who then asked us to follow our luggage to the Fairmont Gold reception area - Fantastic! Not only a special area of the hotel but also where the Fairmont Gold executive lounge was located. It is really worth booking a suite in this area as you are treated very special indeed.

The lovely Elizabeth checked us in and explained the many benefits offered to us by the hotel in general and the Fairmont Gold area in particular. Our suite had two rooms, a large sitting room with balcony overlooking the waterfalls of the spa area, comfortable seating area and en suite toilet. The bedroom also had a balcony with very comfortable loungers table and chairs, huge comfortable bed with quality linen and great pillows. A hallway with two wardrobes either side lead to the bathroom. Two washbasins, large tub, toilet and shower. Quality toiletries and large fluffy towels.

The hotel has many restaurants all with outside areas the main one being Browns. There is a cafe by the pool overlooking the ocean and a large restaurant inside the hotel where a full buffet breakfast was served. We tended to use the executive lounge for breakfast and lunch time snacks when we were in the hotel. There is no free alcohol in the lounge but they have an honesty bar with drinks available all day. Everything else is complimentary. Free wifi is available and also wired in the bedroom desk. We had dinner by the ocean in the pool restaurant or Browns.

When Elizabeth was not on duty, Stacey was in charge, they really are the most helpful and attentive people as are all the staff at this fabulous resort. Elizabeth and Stacey booked us a helicopter trip with Hawaiian Blue over the volcano which is a very worthwhile trip to take.

The pool is huge and heated, around the pool are table tennis, golf, snorkelling, tennis and a hidden whirlpool which was available 24 hours. Beautiful gardens surround the property and are maintained fully. Make sure you walk along the edge of the ocean outside the pool bar where huge turtles come and sunbathe on the rocks, they are amazing.

This is a fabulous hotel catering for everybody in a smart, peaceful location and I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get the best room you can afford and if you are a luxury traveller book into the Fairmont Gold area...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HotelBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear HotelBloke, we are speechless; you made our day! Mahalo, and please come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
Price Range: £225 - £546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing