We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best family vacations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great location and amenities in and around the hotel. Rooms were clean and staff very friendly. Become a President's Club member (free) and enjoy various perks - wifi, paper, snorkeling equipment, etc. On site food was good. Shuttle service to nearby market, Ruth Chris, and Tommy Bahama's. Great walking trails to explore the beach. Just like the Fairmont on Maui, this Hotel treats you like royalty.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank JSpaulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Aloha Jspaulding, thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled to know you had one of your best family vacations ever! We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,137 - 2,143 of 4,293 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were there for 5 nights during a conference and enjoyed the property. The grounds were well kept and had a lot of nice waterfalls/ponds to look at. The property is remote from other ones including the shopping area. The hotel provides a shuttle to the nearby shopping center and hotels. There is one large pool and one hot tub (the jets weren't working). For young kids, there isn't a lot of pool options because the minimum depth is 3.5 feet so they can't really stand.

The beach isn't really a large area, it's more of a lagoon but this does afford for a great opportunity to go snorkeling on the property. The best deal at the resort was the fact that one child could buy a week long pass for $65 which gives them access to one item sporting equipment at a time. For example, we bought one card and could even use the 2 person kayak, then switch to the stand up paddle board. The only issue is that when it gets busy, there will be limited items for rental so you may have to wait, but overall it a good way to use the equipment and not feel like you're paying too much. The gym was nice and had plenty of equipment. I used it each morning and it was well maintained.

The rooms are standard but the bathrooms are larger with double sinks and separate shower/bath. It would have been nice to have access to onsite laundry but perhaps the clientele at the Fairmont does not do their own laundry; however we would have used it. The tip would be to sign up for the fairmont frequent guest program, even if you never intend to stay again. It will get you a free wifi and newspaper along with a welcome snack.

If you're a golfer or tennis player, this would be a good place to stay. They have 2 courses and many courts. I didn't eat the resort since we went to the Foodland everyday for a quick grab sushi lunch and other snacks. For dinner we ate off the property. If you want a real sand beach, drive up the road to the Hapuna State Beach (which is adjacent to the Mauna Kea hotel) and pay the $5 for parking. It also offers snorkeling.

Overall a really nice place better suited for families with older kids or as an adult only resort.

Room Tip: Not sure about choosing a good room, but join their loyalty program for free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank windycityfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Aloha windycityfamily, thank you for posting your review. We sincerely value your feedback, and your recommendations to TripAdvisor readers on how they can further enhance their experience at The Fairmont Orchid, like purchasing our Sun & Fun activity pass, and joining the Fairmont President's Club! Thank you for being our guest, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Fairmont Orchid resort is a pretty good place for couples and families. Nice areas to walk. Beach is steps away along with the pool which is big enough to do laps. choice of restaurants is limited and must say food is expensive. The hotel,has a shuttle that runs throughout the day to take one to the little village for groceries and also has a few more restaurants. Tommy Bahamas has excellent food along with Ruth Chris. One needs a car or get around to do some exploring other than just staying at the resort. Room was freshened up and serviced everyday with Very friendly staff. The turtles and the manta ray were out every nite. Great site to see.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carilyn_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a beautiful resort with great rooms and excellent service. The location is 30 minutes north of Kona airport. Dining options are a fine dining restaurant,a sushi place and a casual dining restaurant. However, food and drink prices were unreasonably expensive. There is a market, a Tommy Bahama and a Ruth's Chris steakhouse just a 15 minute walk (or complimentary shuttle ride) away. The beach is clean and scenic but quite small.

Pros: Beautiful resort with great service from all employees
Cons: Expensive food/ drinks, small beach, not many activities in or around the hotel, additional charge for WIFI

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karmicforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nice family hotel with large pool and private lagoon. The lagoon had lots of beach rental items like paddle boards, snorkeling gear, etc. The main restaurant like Brown's is expensive, but there are more economical dining options on the property too. My kids thought the pool was kind of dull-could have used a waterfall or water slide. The kids did however, enjoy the free craft workshops each afternoon. Rooms were nice and clean and service was above average.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kentucky1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Aloha, thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback, and hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We just checked into a deluxe ocean view and was more disappointed than we've ever been in the last 15 hotels we have stayed in in Hawaii. We supposedly have "the best view in this category" but all we see is a mountain view, golf course, and a sliver of ocean. My kids joke that this is a "sliver ocean view" room. Anywhere else, this would be categorized as "partial ocean view'" but fairmont claims this is a "deluxe" ocean view, an upgrade from their standard ocean view. I am troubled that this kind of fraudulent claims and deceptive business practice exist in a business of this size. I wish I could upload a photo of the view for you to judge yourself. This experience has seriously damaged the "fairmont" brand in my mind.

Room Tip: Skip the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Kcyloveshawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Aloha kcyloveshawaii, thank you for taking the time to post your review, and for allowing us the opportunity to address your dissatisfaction by providing you and your family with another Deluxe Ocean View room that did meet your expectations. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had three nights of the ocean view room for 30th marriage anniversary. Although the actual view of the room was partial ocean view, we enjoyed our stay very much, particularly for the beautiful private beach. The food quality and the ambiance of the Hale Kai Restaurant was also excellent. The beautiful sunset and the scene of sea turtles at the beach is still unforgettable. Only one uncomfortable thing was the partition panel of the lanai was not perfectly installed to keep our privacy. Besides that we were fully satisfied with the excellent hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hir03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Aloha, Congratulations on your 30th anniversary and for choosing to spend this special occasion at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii!. We are very pleased that your stay was memorable, and hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
0.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
Price Range: £257 - £695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing