We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for our Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for our Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Orchid for our honeymoon in August. This hotel, the location, and the service are spectacular. It is the perfect location for a honeymoon, since there are not too many children around, and you have the ability to wander the property without it feeling too crowded. It was 10 days of ultimate relaxation. Both the pool and the beach are beautiful, and out biggest problem was choosing which to sit at! They have plenty of beach equipment to offer like snorkels and paddle boards and kayaks for a reasonable price to rent, and they were a blast. Renting a cabana was a great idea if you plan on spending an entire day on the beach, since you can put up the shade when you start to get too much sun, have a little more privacy, and it comes with a cooler of cold waters and snacks.
I recommend joining the Fairmont President's Club before your stay here, as you get upgrades such as snorkel equipment, and free in room wifi when you do so.
We were there during hurricane Izelle, and though the rain didn't hit our side of the island, the hotel was professional and kept all of the guests informed, offered additional indoor dining options, and was always there to help. A true testament to what incredible service they offer and that they truly care for their guests.
I loved it the first time, and now I cant wait to come back!

Room Tip: Partial Ocean views offer both a look at the incredibly landscaped garden, and the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Aloha Jenna V, congratulations on your marriage, and thank you for selecting The Fairmont Orchid as your honeymoon destination. It was very rewarding to read your review; we are so pleased to be part of your special honeymoon memories. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,391
    945
    302
    123
    51
See reviews for
1,078
1,870
52
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed (2 adults 1 child age 10) for 3 nights. We loved every minute. The hotel were extremely helpful as we were delayed for a day by the hurricane but they amended our booking even though we booked through Expedia on the non refundable rate. We had a lovely 2 queen bed room with ocean and golf course view. Lovely pool and great happy hour! Beach is a nice option for seeing the turtles and a great spot watching the sunset. We ate breakfast at the deli which is the most affordable option on site. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ocean and golf course view is very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We love this hotel and try to visit once a year! We stayed here after our wedding at an estate and were able to relax and enjoy. We love the beach lagoon area to relax in the sun, swim and snorkel. My husband really loved snorkeling with the turtles and checking them out relaxing in the sun! The beach staff is amazing. Rooms are super comfy you almost don't want to get out of bed! The little cafe had the best malasadas but they go quick so get there early!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug7092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Aloha travelbuy7092, thank you for your lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Before you stay here, at least join their Fairmont club to get the discounts provided. It's a big bonus if you also get their credit card. Yes, seriously … it has free room/suite upgrades, free nights, $25 dining credits, etc. it helps make for a much better experience when you are on a budget.

The resort is beautiful on top of gorgeous.

Yes, it's expensive but, if you plan it right and take advantage of 20% off and/or pay for breakfast in advance ($40/room - all you can eat - top notch food - price includes tax & tip - great deal) you can swing staying in true luxury for a very reasonable price.

I bought premade mixed drinks (mai tai) in Kona/used the plastic cups in the weight room/used ice supplied by the resort and had drinks in the pool/beach for a fraction of what others paid while there … same experience.

You are allowed to bring your own inflatables/snorkel gear and use it there. Items take up little room in your luggage. We snorkeled with green sea turtles (honu) in their beach/bay area. One brushed against my daughter … wonderful experience for her. There are plenty of free activities every day. You must canoe … sign up early since there can be a long wait. You must do the crafts … lots of fun.

Resort is extremely well taken care of. Staff is up at 4:30 am polishing the grounds/building to make them beautiful for you … I know … I watched them work (damn time change).

In room fridge is small. No microwave :(

There are plenty of reasonably priced restaurants in the Kona area. Wherever there are lots of cars … the food is likely to be really good. Few cars … I wouldn’t eat there.

The Saturday Luau is nice but, you have to pay the premium price to get a decent experience. If you know of a better luau then, do that one instead. I felt sorry for the performers. Their ensemble was so small that it looked like a work out session for the guys. It could use more “swinging fire” and less “native dance moves”.

Staff is super friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont for our honeymoon in April 2014. We loved it. Had so much fun at the beach snorkeling and using the paddle boards. Our room was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had breakfast at orchid court each morning and it was pretty good. They have a colony of feral cats that are well cared for and have been spayed/neutered. We saw several cats and all of them had been fixed (you can tell by ear tipping). I'm an animal lover so I actually was really excited about the cats. We're headed back for our one year anniversary and we can hardly wait.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Aloha Elizabeth, congratulations and thank you for celebrating your honeymoon at The Fairmont Orchid! We look forward to welcoming you back soon for your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Have stayed at the Orchid a number of times over the past decade and can comfortably say:
- perfect location, very well kelp grounds & exterior facilities
- great staff (friendly & professional; some long time employees, which is good to see)
- nice beach for young children (protected cove)
- excellent spa (according to my wife)
- good value (fifth night free, breakfast included packages, etc)

A couple of areas for improvement:
- south tower (where we have stayed in all but one of our visits) in need of refurbishment -- several floors closed down for work while we were there though. Bif issue is the antiquated air conditioner, which is quite loud
- food: breakfast/brunch (Orchid Court) and beach/pool-side grill are good (although the latter is a bit pricey); More formal restaurant has good food, but lacks in decor and is very pricey
- clientele: seems to have taken a step back over the past 3 years or so -- used to be more similar to guests at the Four Seasons or Manua Kea, now more of a Jersey shore look

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Aloha Paul M, thank you for being a loyal repeat customer! We are especially pleased to receive your feedback, and are delighted to learn that you enjoy our beautiful location, grounds, and friendly staff. Thank you also for sharing your suggestions for improvement so that we can continue to provide the facility and services that meet the expectations of our guests. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

On the plus side: hotel and grounds very picturesque, clean, tidy, staff polite etc.

On the down side, all food, breakfast, lunch, dinner all extremely expensive and whilst very nice, the price totally disproportionate to what is received. Also, menu extremely limited, if you are looking for vegetarian, healthy options or perhaps any other dietary requirements - option are limited.

Also, we had booked and paid for an 'ocean view' room and were provided with a view of the golf course. The only way you could see the ocean was by going out onto the balcony and looking hard left. We would describe this as a side or partial sea view but nonetheless, this was the room we were provided with.

Be aware that the hotel provides a bill at the end of the stay for self parking or resort charges of $25 per night! This was not featured in our Virgin Holidays brochure so we managed to argue this off our bill on checking out but hardly the sort of departure you would want - arguing the point over reception for half an hour before departure when there is a flight to catch!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank mark_josephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
12.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Property: Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing