We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and really enjoyed our trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
san franciso
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value and really enjoyed our trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

My husband and I booked a last-minute trip (and a do mean last minute) after our trip to Tahiti was canceled due to the strike this summer. We were then scheduled to stay at the Mauna Kea but found that it really didn't suit our style. We are in our 40's and like a more contemporary feel. The Mauna Kea, though redone, still has the look and feel of the 40's and unless you get an upgraded room, has very, very small rooms. They did try to accomodate us and were very nice. The Fairmont was very full due to a conference and we were on the Gold Floor which was delightful. Unfortunately, we had to have our sheets and comfortable changed the first night since it was dirty, but other than that found the service to be exceptional. Really enjoyed the pool and the concierges were fantastic. They could not do enough for us, including offering us specials, helping us book spa services, which also included specials like lunch etc. Loved being able to get drinks at any time and breakfast. One drawback was that the cleaning cart was left in front of our room about 75% of the time. Not great when we had to move it to come and go. We would go back to this property in a minute as the food was terrific. And, living in California we are really spoiled by food. We've stayed in what people report to be really good properties, like Villa Del Sol ( now Tides), Bacara, Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa, Four Seasons, Ceiba del Mar, etc. and we liked the Fairmont. Can't say the same for Aviara in San Diego or Ceiba del Mar in Mexico. We like to travel and honestly, the people and property were very nice.

Also, check out the seahorse farm. Only one of its kind in the country. Very, very special.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odiemuppetmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,346
    936
    299
    121
    50
See reviews for
1,047
1,851
52
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

Loved this resort on the Kohala coast. Weather was gorgeous every day, and the swimming cove was sheltered and calm. Sea turtles like to hang around there, so we saw them while we snorkelled and swam. All the amenities you could want, and special thanks to Dave the concierge who made sure our stay there was fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanuckChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford Essex
Level Contributor
187 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We spent a week here and had a fantastic time. From check in to the time we left every member of staff couldn't do enough to please. Especially helpful was the Concierge desk.
We don't know how but we were upgraded to the meal plan which included a buffet breakfast each morning. Nice surprise. We don't really go for big breakfasts but there was plenty of cereals on offer, fruit etc plus a couple of toasters and the usual selection of jams and marmalades. We only ate once on site, at Browns, which was very good quality if a bit expensive. (This seems to be the norm for this area as the restaurants in the shopping area nearby were just as pricey) If you do venture to the shops on the free shuttle bus or even walk you must try the steak at Ruths Chris steak house. The best steak I've ever tasted if not the dearest!
We did go to the Luai which was a good show with plenty of help yourself food and a free bar.
The pool area tended to get busy later on in the day but as everyone gets up early we were on our sunbeds by 7-30!! The towels are free and they don't seem to mind how many you use during the day. The only moan would be that there aren't enough umbrellas available for all the beds.
The gym is quite large for a hotel and all modern equipment. We didn't use the Spa facilities but it did seem quite expensive to what we have become accustomed to.
The hotel grounds are really nice for a stroll in the early evening to watch the sunset and the beach is good for spotting turtles.
The only other thing is on our last night a Lego convention arrived and took the place over and during the day a large section of the pool area was sectioned off for their use. As it was our last day and we were moving on it didn't bother us but if it had happened early on in our stay it would have been quite an annoyance.
All in all a good hotel even if the area is expensive.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayfan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed at the Fairmont for 6 nights in September, with 2 of the nights free. It was our 4th time at the hotel, so it felt like going home. We have also stayed at Hualalai many times, and for the money difference, the Fairmont is great. Of course its not as over-the-top as the Four Seasons, but you're paying half the price. The staff is so friendly, especially the beach boys. The spa has a great sense of place. The food at Brown's gets better every trip and is some of the best on the island.

Our favorite feature of the hotel is the lagoon. We get our money's worth snorkeling and kayaking. I suggest hitting the lagoon before 9 am to snorkel to get the most fish and turtle activity.

If you head to other beaches, ask the wonderful valets for chairs and umbrellas. They really come in handy at Hapuna. The Big Island has so much to offer, please go out and explore it!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nydisneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

we stayed at the fairmont orchid for our honeymoon in september...every staff member we encountered was helpful and gracious - we got great service and felt like vip's. we got upgraded to an amazing room, which was also a plus. the gym was not crowded and had updated equipment, the grounds were spotless, and we loved all the food we ate on property...we would recommend thepoke counter at the foodland at the king's shops for lunch. loved that to pack up for the beach!
would go back here for sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Although there were a couple hiccups with a spa appt and confirmation on outside vendor confirmation, the manager intervened and more than made up for my disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmsawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Fairmont Orchid and can't wait to go back again! We stayed on the Gold Room Floor and were catered to at every turn. Patricia and Angel were the absolute BEST!! Took care of everything for us and always did it with a smile. Our room was gorgeous...deluxe ocean view king room, very close to the end, very near the ocean. The property is breathtaking. Absolutely stunning! Gorgeous landscaping and if they have one waterfall, they have 10! Beautiful pool, great private beach and amazing fitness facility. No need to leave this resort...they have it all!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Virginia_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Operations at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Aloha! Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Fairmont Orchid. Guest feedback is important to us, and it is always gratifying to hear from our guests about their positive experience. Mahalo for your compliments about our colleagues and our resort. I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
12.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Property: Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing