We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Beachfront
    Reviews (3,773)
    Filter reviews
    3,773 results
    Traveller rating
    2,060
    1,142
    317
    157
    97
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    2,060
    1,142
    317
    157
    97
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewshapuna beachthe coast grillehapuna cafethe big islandparking garagesister hotelthe mauna keaocean frontbreakfast buffetpool barcafe pestochairs and umbrellasboogie boardingpartial ocean viewgolf coursedouble sinkswhite sand
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2,163 - 2,168 of 3,773 reviews
    Reviewed 28 May 2014

    The hotel lobby, restaurants, rooms and beach accommodations were excellent. Every staff member we met during our stay was friendly and full of the Aloha Spirit. Such a great contrast compared to the airline that finally got us here, what a relief!

    I would highly recommend staying here for any occasion.

    Room Tip: Ocean view is the best.
    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank David P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

    So pleased that you enjoyed your visit over the holiday weekend. Mahalo for sharing your comments and return again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 May 2014

    This was a nice clean hotel on a great beach. The hotel is a little tired you can tell they updated but they missed a few details that could have made the rooms look much nicer. However the beds were great the sheets were soft and silky! The staff was very friendly and always helpful. We would probably stay here again if we come back to this part of Hawaii again.
    Some tips on the hotel:
    We enjoyed walking over to the sister hotel Mauna Kea it is a 20 minute walk along the coast. We ate a very good lunch at the bar on the beach there. From the outside it looks like a much nicer hotel.
    Be prepared the restaurants and shops close fairly early in the evening and there are not snacks for purchase in your room.
    Unless you don't plan on leaving the hotel a car is a must!

    Room Tip: All of the rooms face the ocean. A higher floor will have a better view. We upgraded to Ocean front and I am not sure it was worth it.
    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jamie M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

    Aloha and mahalo for your comments. We're sorry you apparently didn't discover the Hapuna Cafe with takeout snacks and drinks that you could have purchased for your room? Otherwise, we're delighted that you enjoyed your visit and will look forward to welcoming you back.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 May 2014

    My daughter and I wanted a wonderful experience at a luxury hotel - we got that and more. Oceanfront room with beautiful views. The beach was right there with a large, full-service pool and hotel snack bar nearby. Spacious lawns for strolling at sunset, very friendly guests and immaculate comfortable rooms. Several restaurants on-site with different themes and specialties. The seafood was tasty. We got a delicious breakfast buffet included in the room rates and enjoyed eating outdoors, watching whales spout and the waves roll in. It's expensive, but worth the splurge!

    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Darxie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

    Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we sincerely hope that you'll return again soon. Aloha.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 May 2014

    This hotel is a bit off the beaten path, a good half hour north of Kona and the airport. We arrived about an hour before sunset on a Saturday night and were greeted with a very mellow, laid back setting. We decided to upgrade our room and had to grab a drink and watch sunset while they made sure it was ready. The view from the hotel is fantastic, with the Pacific ocean and sunset and Hapuna Beach.

    Our room was very nice and comfortable. We had a nice, private balcony with an occasional gecko visitor. We were on the north side of the hotel so we had a bit of a walk whenever we went anywhere (the garage is a good half mile to the south!) but that added to the peaceful quiet in our area. All of the linens and amenities were very nice, the room was clean and quiet, and the view was great!

    We had dinner at the Asian buffet and even though we are not really into buffets, it was fantastic. Our server was really nice and offered some great tips for visiting the island, and the whole thing helped us adapt to our jet lag.

    The real prize here, however, is Hapuna Beach. It's really a great beach - one of the best we've been to. The beach monitors were a bit aggressive - not even announcing themselves before they grabbed your umbrella away because of the wind. I was a little startled and they acted more like angry cops than resort staffers, but whatever - nothing was going to ruin this stay.

    We highly recommend the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel!

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank adavici
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

    Thank you for your comments. We, too, appreciate our amazing location on the beautiful shore of Hapuna Beach and are happy you were able to enjoy the beach and so much more during your visit. Aloha.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 May 2014

    We were looking for a quiet, comfortable place to celebrate our anniversary vacation, and we found it at Hapuna Beach Prince!

    After a brief wait for our room at check-in, our ocean front room did not disappoint, particularly watching and listening to the tide roll in from the lanai. Line of sight from the ocean view rooms looks to have been just as good - especially the higher floors - and were only slightly set back from the ocean view buildings). The room itself was large and had an island look and feel, and the bed was comfortable. We stocked the refrigerator with goodies from the local market at Waikoloa Village (20-min drive). If fancy, ultra-modern decor is important to you on a beach vacation, you might prefer the sister property Mauna Kea next door. Our only disappointment with the room was a smoking couple who arrived the day before we left who appeared to disregard the no-smoking policy, whose smoke rolled into our room from their lanai on a couple of occasions, temporarily spoiling the atmosphere.

    We declined the optional $25/night parking/wifi/discount package once we discovered LTE coverage was good in our room, although coverage was spotty in other parts of the property. If you choose this package, you'll have to pay per device, which is a bit nickel-and-dimey, if you ask me.

    The food and drinks at the restaurants were premium priced, as is the case at most resorts, but everything was quite tasty. The breakfast buffet was included with our trip, was well stocked, and the staff was very attentive, although we had to wait for our coffee a couple of times.

    Hapuna Beach is a magnificent place, and there were always beach chairs and umbrellas available. Unlike other beaches we've been to in Maui, there isn't a lot of volcanic rock to contend with while swimming, unless you venture into one of the coves. Snorkel gear and boogie boards are available for rent from the pool at exorbitant (resort) rates.

    Paddle boards and kayaks are available for rent at the Mauna Kea beach - just a short drive (or medium hike along the ocean front) away, also a beautiful, sandy beach.

    If you're looking for more shopping, hustle, bustle, and family activities on site, you might find Hapuna Beach Prince underwhelming and lacking, and might prefer one of the properties at Waikoloa Village. But if you want to get away to your own little, quiet slice of paradise and let time stand still for a while, stop shopping and book that trip now!

    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank jwazdet
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

    Aloha and thank you for sharing your extensive positive comments with others here. We appreciate all that you had to say and will look forward to your return one day, hopefully very soon. Mahalo.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews