We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a relaxing time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a relaxing time”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Spent 5 nights at this hotel just chilling and relaxing
Food was excellent, though a bit pricey. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was very spacious , air conditioning worked well and everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained. Beech is immediately in front of hotel, with plenty of beach chairs and para soles provided by the hotel.
If you don't have a car you are a bit isolated but that was what we wanted.
Great relaxing venue for a quieter holiday

Be aware restaurants close early so don't leave it too late to eat - though this might be a shock just to Europeans as all Americans we spoke to viewed this as normal

Wifi provided in room but is expensive and you need to pay full price per device so you can run up a big bill quickly

Would certainly recommend this hotel for a quiet week

Room Tip: All appeared good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron28QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed a relaxing visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,923
    1,069
    283
    137
    69
See reviews for
904
1,608
102
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We included a picture of the view from an ocean front room and from a partial ocean view room. You can decide if it is worth it. We paid an extra $70 a night for the Ocean front room. One negative: the room is farther away from the beach and the front desk.
The room has strong AC and a strong shower. The bathroom is very spacious.
The beach is really the best part of this hotel. The staff was nice, especially the valet.

Room Tip: See pictures of the view of Ocean front room versus a partial ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank european-traveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Aloha and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed the beach and look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is outdated, open bathroom and toilet. Felt a little bit greasy and not really inviting. Additional pricing is annoying, e.g., for internet, parking. Breakfast was really bad, never had such a bad steak. The location is very good, though. The beach is clean and very easy to reach. The pool is ok. If this hotel would be updated, they would include internet and parking for free and change the cook, this could be a first class spot.
Next restaurants are a little bit far away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments. We are looking into your comment regarding the breakfast steak and appreciate this being brought to our attention. Since we do not charge a daily resort service charge as most other hotels do, only those guests who utilize parking and internet are assesed a fee, rather than all guests. We are, however, also reviewing this policy. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Our trip to Kona started off rocky, but when we reached our hotel everything changed. We were upgraded to a room with awesome views and the staff was friendly and so helpful. Great location and the beach was breath taking. This was such a great experience for our family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teraharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We're delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit with us! Please return again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My only compliant would be the extra charges. $17.5/day for parking, $11.5/day internet/ per device (no hotspot possible), breakfast $30/person.... It quickly mounts up to a small fortune!!! On the plus side, location is great with a wonderful beach with snorkelling right outside. Great for children.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your comments. Unlike other major resorts throughout Hawaii, we are one of a small handful that does not charge a daily resort service fee. That said, we are reviewing our policy based on customer feedback and appreciate hearing from you. We're happy you did in fact enjoy your visit and we hope to see you on the beach at Hapuna again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The positives: The view from the room was great. The room was clean. The staff were friendly.

The negatives: Some of the staff were inept: Had to call three times to get my reservation confirmation sent to me. Wakeup call never came. Bartender does not know how to make a Bloody Mary. SIgnage is missing (just for e.g., No sign posted from garage elevator to how to actually get to the checkin lobby). Food at the pool was mediocre.

Room Tip: Either high floor in building four and five, or any room in building three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DolphinDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments. Every comment provides us the opportunity to continuously improve so we appreciate hearing from our guests. We hope you'll return to enjoy our resort again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This beautiful hotel was the icing on the cake for us. We arrived and we're greeted with a beautiful sunset. Lovely rooms, great pool a stones throw from the best beach in the world...

Need I say more. Mahalo

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed your visit and hope you'll return to celebrate again and again. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
0.7 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
27.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
6.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Property: Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Address: 62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9749
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puako
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#4 Family Hotel in Puako
#4 Spa Hotel in Puako
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers luxury accommodations, an 18-hole golf course, spa services, and space for meetings and weddings. Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Kamuela
Prince Hotel Hapuna Beach
Prince Hotel Island Of Hawaii
Hapuna Prince Hotel
Hapuna Beach Hotel
Island Of Hawaii Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing