We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Example of Excellence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
london, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Example of Excellence!”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We stayed at Hapuna Beach Prince hotel from Feb 26 to Mar 3 this year, the 8th return visit. As always, from arrival the service was superb; these people cannot do enough to help and are so friendly. We felt like coming home. On a previous trip I stupidly left my binder with our itinerary in our room upon departure, and didn't discover it was missing until arriving at Kona airport, over 45 mins away! No problem, one of the staff brought the binder to me at no charge and would not accept a gratuity!

The hotel is in luxurious surroundings, with immaculately kept grounds and is right on one of the best sandy beaches in Hawai'i. The room was scrupulously clean and maintained with consumables throughout our stay. Our housekeeping person was friendly and helpful answering our requests.

Breakfast is one of the best meals of its kind to be had anywhere. I thoroughly recommend their Hapuna buffet which will set you up for the day. The staff at Breakfast are also worth mentioning for their welcome, friendliness and willingness to find you the best table available.

Check-in and check-out were a breeze and the charges most reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front if you can afford the extra cost - the view is spectacular
See more room tips
Green Features: The management are moving significantly towards more environmentally sustainable practices.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you so much for returning again and again. We truly appreciate our loyal guests. And thank you for noticing our efforts to move towards more eco-friendly practices throughout the resort! We look forward to your 9th return soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,924
    1,070
    284
    137
    69
See reviews for
905
1,609
102
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Hapuna Beach Price Hotel has one of the best beaches in Hawaii....the property is beautiful and the people are so helpful and friendly. Everyone at the hotel exudes Hawaiian hospitality! When we drove up, the bellmen are helpful, but not overwhelming. At check-in, you are served a nice cold glass of juice and quickly given your room. Whether they are making up your room, serving you in a restaurant or just passing you in the hallway, everyone is so happy and welcoming.
This is the second year that we've gone there...our room was beautiful, air conditioned with a balcony. It was clean and bright with a lovely accent wall, new carpeting and a huge flat screen TV. The bathroom is large and has a shower, tub and double sinks.
The room is equipped with a safe, iron and ironing board...and although we didn't notice this until the day we were about to leave, they have built usb ports and device chargers...for your iPhone, iPad, mophie and blackberry!...every hotel should have these!
I love that the hotel is a destination resort with everything one needs...a spa, golf course, beautiful beach and restaurants. They also are near Waimea/Kamuela, one of the most beautiful parts of the Big Island.
On Saturday, I headed up the Waimea Town Farmer's Market and then on to Laupahoehoe. I was able to easily go through Honokaa check out all of the charming little areas of the Hamakua Coast..the entire island of Hawaii is beautiful and staying at the Hapuna Beach Prince provides easy access to these areas.
The next day we went to the Kona side of the island. Highway 19 is an easy drive so whether you are heading up mountainside or to the Kona side, it's so convenient...drive to the airport is only about a half an hour (includes stopping at Waikoloa for gas)
Absolutely LOVE this hotel and will definitely go back there again! Thank you Tom and staff!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2gonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Aloha and thank you for returning to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your visit once again and look forward to many more returns to Hawaii Island! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBRIGHTSVILLE,PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I went to the Big Island Hawaii in July 2014. We stayed at the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel.. The views were truly Amazing and breathtaking.. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The POOL was lovely and we were only a few steps away from the white sand beach. The checking process was very welcoming, served us juice while checked in, the staff extremely courteous throughout our stay.. We also had access to the sister hotel Mauna kea Resort. Lots of activities to keep us and my 8 year olds daughter busy. The Luau at Mauna Kea was Very very nice!!! Can really say this was a vacation of a lifetime and my best one yet.. Hope to be able to come back here again real soon.

Room Tip: Oceans Views where Awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LORNA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Aloha - we're happy you enjoyed your visit! Please do return again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I would give this hotel 6 stars if I could, for Extra Credit. We have been there 9 days in August, which is a long enough time to get a real idea of the hotel. I agree with all the positive comments I have read here, and will try to add a few details about our own stay.

First, the room. It was very nicely decorated, large, and relaxing. The view was amazing. The bathroom was big and so nice. The ventilation was particularly efficient. Even after everyone in the family was done with their shower, the bathroom never felt saturated with moisture. One thing special about the rooms there is the screen door. In addition to the solid room door that opens to an outdoor hallway, there is a slatted door that you can close while the solid door is opened. If you open the window too, you get a nice breeze flowing through the room, and it feels like being outside. No need for air conditioning.

The hotel: it is beautiful, and everything, every corner is clean. The view from the hotel lobby is breathtaking. Having breakfast there was the best way to start a wonderful day. The pool is beautiful. The beach is one of those dreamy beaches where swimming is always easy. Snorkeling can be interesting and if you need more, there are other places close by.

Staff: The staff was always so nice, available, and prompt to attend to us. One day, we needed additional supplies. I called room service, and the items were delivered less than 5 minutes later. On the day the island was waiting for the hurricane, the manager was taking the time to have conversations with the guests around the hotel, as if he did not have a million things to do to get the place ready for the storm. And then, there was Karen, the hotel assistant manager. We met Karen on the second night, after we had an unpleasant incident with our rental car. I went to the front desk to get some insight from the staff. Karen was there, and she was so nice to us that she completely saved the day. We met her again later, and each time she went above and beyond her job requirements. She was taking care of us not as hotel guests, but as if we were her own guests.

I could go on like this for a long time. It is the first time I tried a hotel and want to go back to the same place without any hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Mahalo for all your positive comments. We appreciate that you have recognized our outstanding employee, Karen, and we'll be sure she is aware of your remarks. We hope you'll return again soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This hotel has a lot going for it. It's located on a very nice beach, beautiful views everywhere, nice large rooms with many thoughtful extras (for example, has an iphone 4/iphone 5/microUSB charging cord built into the phone). The staff were all very helpful and the rooms immaculate. We requested 2 ocean front rooms and by being on the ground floor could easily move between rooms off the patio. We took advantage of their 'end of summer' special that made the rooms surprisingly affordable considering the location ($245 for an oceanfront room).

We found the snorkeling surprisingly good right off the right side of the beach in front of the hotel. While not an expansive area, the water was very clear and we saw a good variety of fish. Easiest access is to enter at the beach and swim out to the rocky areas along the edge. Go in the morning before the water becomes choppy.

Our complaints were minor: Probably the biggest was the spread out nature of the hotel and relatively inconvenient location of the parking structure, especially if your room is on the far side of the hotel like ours was. Good exercise, but really, we had to add 10+ minutes travel time each direction whenever we needed to go to the car, but even walking to the lobby and restaurants was a long walk. Our other complaint was the lack of decent family dinner dining options, but that's really a problem for most of the big Kohala resorts. We did splurge for the 'Let's Go Crabbing' Friday buffet, but spending $50/person (after a 20% hotel guest discount!) for a family of 6 is a bit much although the food was really good. The breakfast buffet was also excellent but at $28, was something we could only bring ourselves to do twice. The restaurant settings are beautiful with expansive ocean views.

Room Tip: Our special needs were having a family of 6 with older children, we wanted two 2Q rooms that were co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for visiting and posting your positive experiences. We appreciate your business and we appreciate all of your comments. We hope you'll return again soon to enjoy some more great snorkeling! Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

NOTHING about the stay at the Hapuna Beach Prince that I had with a friend from July 4-11, 2014 could have been better. The staff was friendly, helpful, attentive. From what I could tell, every room had a view of the ocean/sunset/mountains. The location, away from the city but an easy drive to anywhere on the island, couldn't be beat. It is situated two minutes from the BEST beach/snorkeling on the island (69 Beach). The snack shop at the hotel had the BEST banana bread and lemon bars I have ever tasted, at reasonable prices. The room was standard but the beds and pillows were SO comfy, and bathroom with separate tub and shower, two sinks....very convenient. Everything was cleaned spotless daily.The sunsets every night were spectacular. Not one bad thing to say. I will do it all over again and change NOTHING.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CravingAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

A big part of the Big Island is a beautiful volcanic wasteland. Nestled on the northwest shore is a string of resorts, many of which I visited, but I have to say the Hapuna Beach Prince Resort was by far the best looking - and the most isolated. It is not located in the cluster that lies just south along the Kailua corridor, but is north of Waikoloa and west of Waimea; once you get beyond its entrance it is all that exists in the world - and all that you need if you're the type of person who prefers to simply call your resort home for your stay. For us, we used it as a home base to explore the island. The view from the main lobby is breathtaking. Tip 1: don't self-park. For the $5 a day difference, go with valet - self-parking is a hike to anywhere you want to be. Anyway, from the main lobby you have levels leading down to the restaurants, the bar, the pool and the beach, each of which is stunning. We ate lunch at one of the neighboring resorts one day, and the experience was priceless. At Hapuna Beach, the mix of American and international travelers was just right; nobody was on top of each other, children were well-behaved and the noise level was non-existent. In the nearby resort, I spied many fellow New Yorkers being loud, yelling at their kids and spoiling the beauty of the place. There was no such aggravation at Hapuna Beach. It was truly a laid back slice of paradise. I'll take that place over one of the bigger named resorts down the road any day.

Room Tip: We had booked a terrace view and were upgraded to a partial ocean view, which was dynamic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmrafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Aloha and thank you for posting your positive comments about your visit with us. We love hearing from our guests and are pleased that you so enjoyed your visit. We hope you'll return one day very soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
0.7 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
27.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
6.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Property: Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Address: 62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9749
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puako
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#4 Family Hotel in Puako
#4 Spa Hotel in Puako
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers luxury accommodations, an 18-hole golf course, spa services, and space for meetings and weddings. Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Kamuela
Prince Hotel Hapuna Beach
Prince Hotel Island Of Hawaii
Hapuna Prince Hotel
Hapuna Beach Hotel
Island Of Hawaii Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing