We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
US$486
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$651
US$456
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$423
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$362
US$260
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$419
US$390
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Waikoloa Village(Waikoloa)(Great Value!)
US$415
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$743
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$594
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,375)
Filter reviews
1,375 results
Traveller rating
928
292
85
45
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
928
292
85
45
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshau treemauna keagolf viewgolf coursemain towerthe big islandmid centuryclambakefour seasonsasian artmanta rayswalk in closetbanana breadunderstated eleganceclam cakesplay golfyear after year
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 1,375 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here in early June and sadly only for one night. I will say that I completely agree with some of the last reviews. For a hotel in this price range, better attention from the beach attendants would be nice. If they assisted with towels and chair covers, it would feel a little more like a luxury hotel. The beach is one of the largest and softest hotel beaches on the island. It is very beautiful. The pool appears to be an afterthought and very very small.
The food at the beach restaurant, Hau Tree, was slightly below average. You can tell that it is meant to be very quick with somewhat pre-made items, but for a casual beach restaurant it’s fine. As strange as it sounds, the Ovaltine Malt was great and hit the spot! The fine dining restaurant, Manta, was very good. Again, another odd item but try the Big Island Goat Cheese Marshmallow Salad, it was delicious! My entrée was great and my husband had a Petite Filet which was quite actually large, but just okay in preparation. They knew it was our anniversary and everyone from the Host to the Manager wished us a Happy Anniversary. That made us feel very special!
The guest rooms are very nice. The hotel is very old and you can see some of the wear and tear but they have truly done a nice job on the guest rooms. Even with the older bones they were clean and crisp. They offered many complimentary amenities like a branded golf ball, complimentary photo from the in-house photographer, and bottled water with turndown. These are just a few small things that made me feel valued as a guest. I assume all the rooms have the same bathrooms but in a deluxe ocean view the bathroom was amazing. It was literally half the size of the guest room with two sinks in the entry, and a HUGE soaking tub and free standing rain shower overlooking the ocean. The bathroom and bedroom each have a large lanai and chaise lounges.
I am horrible with names and should have written them down but the lovely lady the greeted us at check-in, Nikki from concierge, and our server at Manta were all very friendly and professional.
Overall, this is was great hotel to stay at and I wish we would have stayed longer. It has an old Hawaiian charm that not many hotels have anymore. As with many restaurants and hotels on the island, it is a bit more casual in the sense of interactions with staff and residents but if you can remember you are not on the mainland where things are a bit more formal you’ll have a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enjoys2Travel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We wish you could have stayed longer too! We appreciate your positive comments and constructive feedback. And we look forward to welcoming your return...for a much longer stay....the next time. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Mauna Kea is our favorite resort in all the islands. We have stayed there before and after the earthquake. Things have definitely changed as a result of the quake, but I can find little fault with anything. We have stayed at the Mauna Lani, the Four Seasons down the road and on Lanai, the Halekulani on Oahu, the St Regis and Koa Kea on Kauai, and we still prefer the Mauna Kea to all others. The overall vibe at MK is one of a beautiful home that you can live in temporarily. I think the staff is amazing. There is art everywhere you look. The architecture of the hotel takes advantage of the site beautifully without being out of place. Plus, the whole place smells great. There is so much plumeria growing that it scents the air.

No, there is no one running up and down the beach to serve you drinks. Technically, the beach is public and it is against state law to have alcohol on it. That said, the Hau Tree bar is a few feet away and they won't stop you from taking your drinks onto the beach in a plastic cup. The beach is HUGE compared to other resorts. It is gorgeous, and it is the star attraction. There is drink and food service on the palm-covered lawn, which is also beautiful.

The sand on the beach is hella hot! Bring shoes unless the day is overcast.

I definitely recommend getting breakfast included in your room price. I think the breakfast here is the best ever! There are no other nearby options, but there is a coffee shop in the hotel now if you are a light eater.

I think the most amusing thing I have seen in all of Hawaii is the absolute devotion people staying at the Mauna Kea have to wearing Mauna Kea logoed clothing. It's almost as though they forget to pack and just buy their clothes when they arrive. By the end of a week, I find myself wanting an orange wardrobe with white plumeria covering it. It's contagious. (Yes, I do own a bit.)

Ladies still receive flower leis and gentleman receive koa leis from a sweet Hawaiian auntie upon arrival. What a nice touch.

Room Tip: We love the beachfront rooms in the plumeria wing. You can hear the ocean from your room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowstoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Everyone looks good in Mauna Kea orange! Thank you for your positive comments and for staying with us. We hope you're already making plans to return soon. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The beach is gorgeous. Everything else? Awful. From the food at the beach, and the horrific offerings on the menu at lunch time, we couldn't stand it.
The beach service? It is self service. Put your towels on your filthy chairs yourself, and there is not a beach waiter/waitress.

The pool? Fine if you like inhaling the smell of rancid oil from the fryer from the gross beach restaurant.

The rooms are clean, but guests found a rat in their room while we were there.

If you need shade, have any dining standards whatsoever, or want luxury... This place is not for you. Think $200 a night in a cancun in type resort with a much better ocean. Gorgeous ocean, views. That's it.
The Four Seasons really should buy this property. Really. I'd demolish it & start from scratch.
This is a terrible resort!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank traveltounravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We are taken aback by your comments and apologize for your less than satisfactory experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Mauna Kea Hotel is well known for extravagant clambake and weekend brunch, I have been to both and enjoyed both of them. The Hotel is about 30-40" from Kailua Kona in a hidden cove which has one of the best beach on the island. The brunch is served in open air large patio over looking the beach, the view is meal in it's self. It is very pricey but large selection of fruits, meat, fresh sashimi and many more to choose from. It is a perfect way to spend your relaxing day, away from the tourists crowded Kailua. Staff is very friendly and service prompt.
One word of caution, valet parking is $45, if you are not patronizing their restaurants, free with dinning reservation. Beach visitors will be charged that amount.
Reservation is a must!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bento2744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your comments and for enjoying breakfast at Manta & Pavilion Wine Bar. We hope you'll return and visit for dinner and/or Sunday brunch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is an outstanding resort and easily one of the best on the island and perhaps even in all of Hawaii. It is located on the most perfect beach on the Big Island and I would suggest one of the best beaches in the world! A cold towel and fruit drink (and lai) welcome you upon your arrival and you can sit down to check in with the reception desk. As with most tropical hotels, the lobby is wide open and grand with views straight out to the ocean. There is a long hall with a Koi pond (more like a river) going down the hallway. The room options are in the tower (or main hotel) or the beachfront property (which is attached), just slightly further down the hall (and not surprisingly, closer to the beach). We were in the beachfront property and the rooms have been completely renovated. They were a very good size with a beautiful bathroom, shower + tub combo and lovely balcony. The room was exceedingly clean and well appointed. You can always tell the quality of a hotel by the number of towels they provide and the Mauna Kea provides enough for six people! From the beachfront, you can walk or take the elevator down to the beach level and it is just a few short steps to the beach. Again, the beach is one of the highlights of the resort and should not be missed.

The staff were very helpful (the only unhelpful or less friendly staff were at the beach shack where they hand out the towels), but otherwise they were excellent.

We also ate at the Kauna'oa Bar & Grill, which had nice casual fare (but get their early to sit outside and watch the sun set). There is also a small coffee shop off the main lobby, a cup of Kona coffee there is $8.00 so I might recommend finding somewhere else to sample Kona coffee!

Finally, the golf course is wonderful and only a few steps from the hotel which means no transfer or driving. Highly recommended.

Overall this is a fabulous property in a wonderful location and should not be missed.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are furthest from the main hotel with the smaller numbers (ie. 301, 401, etc.) and closer to the main lobby the higher they go (ie. 323, 423, etc.). Both are perfectly fine, but if you want a shorter walk, you may want to request one of the higher numbers.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travbud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and sharing some of your experiences here with others. We are indeed fortunate to have such a beautiful location here on the island. We appreciate all your comments and hope to welcome you back one day very soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews