We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“27 years...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“27 years...”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

....That's how many years we have been visiting the Prince Resorts Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. It's understated elegance at its finest. The ocean views are breath taking. The crescent shaped beach is truly a sight to behold. The outdoor breakfast dining terrace has a stellar view of this scene. Our last family trip was 2 weeks ago. The Aloha spirit is every where: from the bell boys, to the front desk, concierge, dining room hostesses, wait staff, reservations, housekeeping, etc. The highlight of our stay is always the Saturday all you can eat Clam Bake. The "Star" of the feast is the Maine Lobster. There are numerous other seafood and fish delights also. We've had many beautiful and lasting memories. Our daughter got married there and now she, husband & children are return guests also!

Aloha,

Carol W

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your thoughts and wonderful comments. And mahalo for being such a loyal guest of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    256
    80
    34
    23
See reviews for
369
611
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I first came to the legendary Mauna Kea in the late 80's and fell in love, couldn't wait to get back and I did and did…Earthquake hit and the hotel closed for years- redone a few years back and I returned this week after maybe 10 years…in love again. An exquisite beach right out your door and a natural setting that redefines beauty, rooms are more modern than I remember and now they have TV - its all beyond great at The Mauna Kea - Aloha

Room Tip: I like staying on the rooms that are located on the beach level that way you don't have to desce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
We love your headline! And of course, we agree. Thank you so much for returning once again to Mauna Kea and the shores of Kauna'oa Bay. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mililani, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed for our 37th anniversary. We arrived before checkin time and were warmly greeted at the lobby by the bellman. While checking in, we were given cool towels and juice. We were surprised to receive an upgrade to an ocean view room! When our room was ready, we were called on my cell (an hour before the regular 3pm check in). Upon entering our lovely room, we found a welcoming bottle of champagne, papaya and banana bread. The service at Mauna Kea Beach is great. Every employee is friendly, and courteous. The rooms are large and clean. The beach is beautiful. You will love it!

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalola77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
We appreciate every guest and are always particularly happy when kamaaina enjoy Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. We hope you'll return one day very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have been to this hotel twice and both times were simply amazing. Oh please you had to put your own towel on the chair. This person is probably just a rich spoiled brat who has never had a job or had to lift a finger in their lives. Some folks such as this reviewer just can't and will never be pleased. They just have to complain. The only time you would smell anything is the evening ( I think Thursday nights ) is when they are preparing for the clam bake. What do you expect. They do have to move the food and eqiupment to the beach in order to have the clam bake right ? So common sense says you might see, hear, or smell some things from the kitchen. The staff is great and very helpful. Stayed in the beach front rooms both times. My parents who are 65 and have been on many vacations says she still dreams about the week she stayed at the Manua Kea. Say's it was the nicest room she has ever been in mostly due to the ocean front of course. Eating brunch each morning watching either dolphins or the occasional whale jumping out of the water. I'm 40 and pretty high strung. No other place has been able to make me relax like my two visits to this hotel. Oh and if you like golf gotta give this course a try. Even if you hate golf just being on this course and seeing the views are amazing. Take a walk to the 3rd hole which is iconic. Really cool just to see this hole that goes over the ocean. All and all DO NOT listen to any of these idiots who say this place is bad. They are the 10 percenters or the hater. Some people no matter how great it is just can't and won't be happy.

Room Tip: Do not take the mountain room go for the ocean view. Yes it's going to cost more but is such a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything was fine. Not exactly sure how we are suppossed to answer this question but all was clean and in tip top condition.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Buck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We sincerely appreciate all you shared and love passing this along to our hardworking team. We hope you'll be back one day soon and enjoying another day at beautiful Kauna'oa Bay! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

From the first flower lei and welcome hug, to the final goodbye, we were treated so well. We were celebrating a personal event when we arrived and the hotel sent us complimentary champagne - an unexpected treat.
Our room was on the top floor with fantastic ocean views and of the manta rays swimming at night.
The hotel is definitely of the older style, but the grounds and golf course are lovely.
I have only positive things to say of our time there.

Room Tip: Ocean view, no contest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzMumAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Congratulations once again on your "special occasion" and mahalo for choosing to stay with us. We hope you'll return one day very soon. Aloha and mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Mauna Kea the second week of June for part of our Honeymoon and absolutely loved it! We got in late and wanted a drink to unwind, but all the restaurants were closed. The staff went out of there way without us asking to try to help us, even as far as taking us down to the kitchen! We stayed on the 8th floor of "the tower" in a non-deluxe room and loved it! Champagne on ice, mango and banana bread waiting for us in the room. We Never saw house keeping but they came to room room at least twice a day. The Beach was perfect, the restaurants were fine, but not a lot of variety. If we had been there longer we would have ventured off the resort for diner. The luau was just OK, but wouldn't do it again. Don't waist your money on a $200 massage. Very family friendly. We can't wait to go back for longer.

Room Tip: Tower Rooms, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YeahYeah2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We sincerely appreciate your business and are happy you had an opportunity to visit. Thank you for your comments which we will certainly share with our team. Mahalo and aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The beach was fabulous, calm during the day, perfect snorkeling a short swim from the shore. In the afternoon there were a few waves perfect for body surfing. The room was wonderful, we had an ocean view, they upgraded us from a smaller room to a deluxe one, there was even a lanai off the bathroom. And the bathroom was wonderful, a big soaking tub and open shower, perfect. The closet is perfect for a hotel a wide waist high shelf where you can open your suitcase so you don't have to use those little luggage stands.
I would recommend that you ask for a room on the 6th floor or higher, when were in room 602 and the view was amazing. The restaurants are ok, and the food is reasonably priced for a hotel. The people who worked on the beach at the towel and equipment hut were incredibly rude, but the bell staff was lovely. The housekeeping was hit or miss, I ended up cleaning the bathroom myself after we got to our room.
We will definitely stay here the next time we are on this Island, and hope for better staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors in low even numbers have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livingontheriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for visiting! We are happy you were pleased with the deluxe room design and other aspects of your visit. And we appreciate the constructive comments so that we might continuously improve our guest experiences. Aloha and mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
0.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
27.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
6.1 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
5.0 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
16.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#1 Spa Hotel in Puako
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#3 Family Hotel in Puako
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located on Hawaii Island's Kohala Coast. Legendary, timeless hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauna Kea Beach Kamuela
Hotel Mauna Kea Beach
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing