We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Village Pub / Resturant ”
Review of The Longs Arms

The Longs Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$19
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Fantastic Village Pub / Resturant ”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Visited with very quant village pub with friends in April after a long walk through the adjoining countryside .
They "do it right"
Good selection of beers
Good selection of wines
Great home cooked meals
Friendly staff
Great atmosphere full of friendly locals.

Helpful?
1 Thank Coroona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline Q, Owner at The Longs Arms, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi,

Many thanks for your feedback, it's great to know that we managed to please you in a variety of ways. I also agree with you, our locals are very friendly!

See you again soon,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    60
    10
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Gluten-free Labelled, Served Well by Jake”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A great pub with an excellent menu & fine selection of beers. Menu is marked up for veggie & g-free. I had the sea bass with crayfish & I would recommend it. After I had the afargato with local Marshfields ginger ice cream and expresso coffee. Delicious! We were well looked after by Jake.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TerrificTutor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline Q, Owner at The Longs Arms, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi,

Many thanks for giving us positive feedback, we try hard to make sure there are items on our menu to suit people with dietary requirements and are always willing to adapt to suit people's needs.

Jake is one of our key members of staff so it's great to here that you like him, we think he's great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a Place!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

the beer fesitval was fabulous, perfect family day out! thank you to the hard working staff at the Longs arms!
the garden at the pub is a perfect place for young families to have a lovely day out, enclosed and safe - and the food is very very good

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SjM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline Q, Owner at The Longs Arms, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi,

The beer and cider festival was a pretty incredible day, I think a good day was had by all. Our garden is really getting a name for itself now and your positive comments are just what we want to hear after all the years getting the garden to the stage it's at now.

Thank you for you comments and I look forward to sing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Really part of the village”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a real part of a lovely village.Always busy with locals and visitors but however busy, the food and service are excellent. They take the trouble to involve themselves with village activities and I can honestly say that this is one of our favourite pubs

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richsim-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline Q, Owner at The Longs Arms, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for your positive remarks. We all try really hard to make our locals and new customers feel appreciated and after being here 9 years, we have been able to become involved in the village in lots of different ways, not just with food and drink!

I'm really happy you enjoy coming here and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Erin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely one to visit again”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We used this for our walking group's end point and had booked a table a few days before (with a late change of time and number that the pub handled without complaint).
We arrived just after the Beer Festival so staff were busy clearing up but service was still friendly and efficient. The food range was good. A sudden electricity failure proved that the pub did not rely on microwave reheating but cooked on gas - most items were still available for us to eat by candlelight. We were there Sunday lunchtime but as well as the standard roasts there was a good selection of fish and sea-food alternatives.
We couldn't check out the beer garden - there was a marquee there, being cleared away after the festival. And it was raining anyway.
My wife and I intend going back when we are next in the region.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline Q, Owner at The Longs Arms, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments, it certainly was an interesting service with the power cut and the fatigue setting in from the beer festival the day before! Hopefully next time you visit you enjoy yourselves just as much and you have lighting not just from a candle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Longs Arms also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
 
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Longs Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing