We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch venue a bit out of the ordinary”
Review of The Longs Arms

The Longs Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$20
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Attractive setting and impressive building in a pretty village. Nice old worlde interior. Menu to suit all appetites and most tastes. Tasty food attractively served and with generous portions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline Q, Owner at The Longs Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are really happy you enjoyed all aspects of your lunch with us and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for The Longs Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

This place was recommended to us. Booked a table for two for 7.45pm this evening. Ordered a meal around 8pm... not a difficult meal - one portion sausage, bubble & squeak, one portion fish cakes & salad. 40 minutes later I go to the bar to ask how much longer we have to wait. The food arrived about five minutes later. I have no complaints about the food but nobody told us we would have to wait so long. The excuses were that they were very busy, they had a party in and though the bar did not seem too busy they were busy in the garden ... but we had booked earlier in the evening. I pointed out that if they could not cope they should not have accepted our booking. Then I was told they had a lot of walk-ins that had ordered before us.... but when we ordered we were not told we would have a wait. If we had been we may have chosen not to order and try our luck elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anwinilleis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline Q, Owner at The Longs Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hi,
Firstly I would like to say that I'm glad you enjoyed the food with us last Friday evening. I'm so sorry that you had to wait for your food, a mistake on our part not to explain how busy we were. Unfortunately it can be very deceiving when you dine with us inside as we have a huge garden hidden at the back of the pub which on a sunny Friday evening, can get very very busy. I know that you were told that are restaurant was fully booked when you phoned at 6pm that night for a table so that is already an indication of it being a busy evening but we should have made it very clear to you when you you ordered. Hopefully the free drinks somewhat made up for the delay in your food.

Lastly I would like to say that we are a small pub and sometimes when busy there will be a wait for food but that is because we strive hard to make sure that all the food that is sent out is as yummy as it should be.

Hopefully we will see you again at some point!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We came to this country pub for a 40th birthday celebration on Saturday night. It was a great place to come, the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was fantastic, I had a steak which was cooked to perfection. Will be back again soon. Everyone had a brilliant time. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline Q, Owner at The Longs Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

What a lovely review, thank you very much. It's great to know that everyone in your large party enjoyed themselves. To have a lot of steaks on order for a large group is not always easy so to know that yours was cooked to perfection is great to hear. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a great pub, great food every time I've eaten here. I've recommended it to friends and they all say the same. The menu changes regularly and is very reasonably priced. Never had a bad meal here. Good for lunch and dinner, but do book it gets busy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Aimee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline Q, Owner at The Longs Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for the great review. We try hard to change the menu but without loosing the favourites so it's great that you appreciate the changes on the menu and the fact that we try really hard to keep the cost of the food down. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Having experienced many family events in restaurants, where they just Cant seem to cope with large numbers.....
We decided to booked the Longsarms for a 40th bday party in the restaurant last night, we were overwhelmed by the fabulous food.
The atmosphere of the small county pub was perfect with friendly helpful staff...

Will definatley be going back soon, highly recommended.

Rachel

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline Q, Owner at The Longs Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it's great to know that you enjoyed your evening with (especially as it was a special event!). All the staff enjoyed looking after you, it's always a pleasure to look after happy customers enjoying themselves. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Longs Arms also viewed

Trowbridge, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
 
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Longs Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing