We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true retreat”
Review of Tigmi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tigmi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oumnass
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A true retreat”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have stayed at Tigmi many times in the last five years, both to review the hotel in a journalistic capacity, and to run yoga and meditation retreats here.
Previous reviews that state the venue is 'boring' are missing the point. The raison d'etre of this hotel is peace and quiet, with a lovely small spa, two swimming pools and numerous tucked-away terraces on which to curl up and read, or snooze. It is certainly not a place to come to if you're looking for action, or shopping - and all the better for it.
I have stayed in six different rooms now; each has been exceptionally large, with lovely Berber rugs, Moroccan furniture and huge, comfy beds. I especially recommend the suite, and room 25, for its private setting.
More than any other hotel I have stayed in, there is a huge sense of space - bedrooms are spread apart from one another, mostly with outdoor furniture, for gazing at birds, or reading. Across the road, where the old part of Tigmi is (the setting for the yoga studio and most of the suites), the sense of space increases, with plenty of fascinating hidden terraces and viewing points, from where the Atlas mountains feel very close.
Food is very good, and has noticeably improved recently, and the staff are unfailingly warm and friendly.
Tigmi is (refreshingly) almost the antithesis of a conventional hotel; it's quirky, rustic, and feels far more like a big guesthouse than a hotel. Solo female travellers will feel completely comfortable and looked-after here.
Do try a hammam and/or massage treatment whilst you're here - it adds to the tranquil, slow-down-a-few-gears nature of a stay at this quite unique, restful place.

Room Tip: Room 25 is especially private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luciac76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    20
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
42
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Good points: lots of tortoises of varying sizes wandering around the garden and pool areas, two nice pools to laze around (if there are screaming kids in one pool you can move to the other!), great sunset views, very spacious suite (no 5), lots of quiet areas to escape other people.

Bad points: food was atrocious (towards the end of the week we were all talking about what food we couldn't wait to have when we got home), the rugs in the rooms looked like they hadn't been hoovered/beaten in months (cleanliness not their strong suit), service was hit and miss and could have been a lot friendlier, the owner Jean-Paul was very rude to one of the girls when she requested someone to come and open her safe (it was faulty) at bedtime.

Room Tip: Suite 5 very spacious with own balcony and sunbeds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A bit of a disappointment for us. It felt more like a generic hotel than anything really special. Sure - the views are gorgeous. But you can't really leave the property unless you go on an excursion. And there isn't much to do at the property -- just an ok pool, and a dining area. There are better places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Tigmi is a very special place. An open fire in the bedroom, a real welcome. Peace and beauty all around. Watching children herd goats while eating breakfast, a walk through fields towards snow capped mountains. Love Marrakech but to be able to experience the countryside and then dip into the city was a perfect combination. I know I'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cathyakbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Do you ever feel that, sometimes, you just need to get away from it all?

The boss and I were completely fed up with wind, rain, sleet and the threat of snow in the post-Christmas gloom of the UK, so we decided to look for some sun. With current weather cycles that meant going rather far south than normal and the Canaries did not really appeal, so we decided upon a return to Morocco.

The decision was made to look for somewhere quiet and outside of Marrakech so the internet hunt began and we selected Tigmi.

Good choice.

After arriving mid-morning on EasyJet we took the no. 19 bus from the airport terminal to Jemaa al Fna (MAD50 per person "allez-retour") soaked up some sunshine and the cosmopolitan tourist-people-watching madness and enjoyed a very inexpensive lunch before the 4pm rendezvous with the free hotel shuttle.

We easily found pick-up point at Place de la Liberté and were delighted when the mini-bus arrived bang on time. The 24km journey to Tigmi transports you through time to another world. Gone are telephone land lines, until very recently electricity, tarmacadam and shops. The last few kms, after turning off the main road, were dusty, bumpy and fascinating in equal measure as we passed through the Berber village of Tagadert to the Tigmi complex, to be greeted by Rajia and Jean-Paul, the management team.

It feels wrong to describe Tigmi as an hotel. It is a wondrous collection of arches, terraces, corridors, steep steps, shady nooks and crannies and rooms with 2ft thick walls that all combine to deliver accommodation spread over two large sites with one restaurant, one bar and two swimming pools. Our room (no 25) was very comfortable and very spacious. As we travel a lot we immediately inspect two things on arrival - towels and beds (both mattresses and linen). All here came up trumps big time. The bed was large and the mattress supportive - the linen was crisp and the duvet was soft and warm. Towels were large, thick and fluffy. Bliss. The addition of an open log fire in the room, built and lit every night by the local Berber log fire specialist, was a huge treat that brought a welcoming glow to the chilly night air.

Breakfast was excellent. Ingredients including fresh juice squeezed from oranges picked in the garden, yoghurt made on site, a selection of breads, cake, fruit and preserves and an option of eggs were all superb.

At Tigmi you have the choice of doing absolutely nothing; so we did. If you want to do much off site you must be prepared to hire a taxi from Marrakech that will charge you the fare to come out and return (MAD 500) just to pick you up to take you where you want to go. There are no local cab companies as the Berbers in the village don't use taxis. When mention is made of going back in time this is no exaggeration. So a word of warning to help you manage expectations. If you want to have the option of going to restaurants in the local area, or to walk around the town in the evening window shopping, or to go camel riding or partaking of any one of a number of other recreational attractions, you will have to stay somewhere else. There is nothing like this of any description in the vicinity of Tigmi. Tigmi is a place to relax, enjoy the scenery and to recharge.

Another point to bear in mind given that this hotel is in the middle of nowhere - if you have high expectations of things being just right all the time you should also give some thought before booking. As Jean-Paul said when we were discussing life at Tigmi (and I paraphrase for effect) "to make the most out of staying in Morocco you must become Moroccan. If something in the hotel breaks, it may take four or five days to find the replacement part to fix it; and while we always do our best to make sure that a guest is not inconvenienced, sometimes stuff happens."

One criticism - we found the food in the restaurant to be a very limited selection - one starter, five main courses and one dessert - but everything we ordered was fresh and well prepared. It may be that as we were travelling in the lowest of low seasons (first week in January - there were never more than three other guests staying there throughout our four day stay) they had reduced the menu choices to reduce wastage, which seemed fair to us and we had no complaints.

As is often the case, the memories of a stay are frequently defined by the quality of the staff as well as the site and the amenities; and here Jean-Paul, a Moroccan hotel management veteran of almost 30 years service, clearly knows what he is doing. The team that waited on our every need around the pool, the bar, the restaurant and cleaning our room were, in every respect, pleasant, eager to please and professional. Some found it difficult to communicate and even a limited conversation was only possible in English with one staff member apart from Rajia and Jean-Paul, a tall waiter who was eager to practice his language skills and to leave French behind for a few minutes.

All in all, we loved this place. A perfect location, a beautiful property, stunning views, fabulous accommodation and a really good team running the place. it won't be for everybody (teenagers especially would get bored to death) but for us it was pretty much the perfect break and we have no hesitation is giving Tigmi and Jean-Paul our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CymraegBeirniaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We're just back from our third stay at Tigmi and will keep going back for as long as we can! We run yoga holidays throughout Europe and beyond and this is one of our favourite places to take our yoga groups. The rooms are gorgeous, the suites are stunning and there are lots of little rooftop terraces and hidden balconies dotted around to discover and hang out in. The good is delicious Moroccan fare with the chef very good at taking care of food allergies/intolerances. Staff are very attentive and mostly local people from the Berber village. Highly recommended for any kind of stay! Thanks Jean-Paul and all your wonderful staff for making this last week another great Living Yoga Holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Living Yoga Hol... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
456 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is about 20 mins away from central Marrakesh, and a wonderful break from the city. The rooms are big, beds comfortable, and the food pretty decent. The hotel also arranges several interesting tours and activities in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oumnass
17.3 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
332 reviews
4.2 mi away
Domaine de Tameslohte
Domaine de Tameslohte
#272 of 500 in Marrakech
168 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Kasbah Bab Ourika
#1 of 3 in Ourika
575 reviews
15.6 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
772 reviews
7.1 mi away
Le Flouka Auberge et Restaurant du Lac
Le Flouka Auberge et Restaurant ...
#1 of 3 in Lalla Takerkoust
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigmi

Property: Tigmi
Address: Douar Tagadert el Kaldi | Km 24 Route d'Amizmiz, Oumnass, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Oumnass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oumnass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tigmi 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigmi is a place of quietude to listen to silence, slow down and rediscover that precarious sense of wellbeing. The house sits on the brow of a Berber hamlet (Tagadert) in the Haouz plain, positioned between Marrakech and the High Atlas mountains. It is just 24 kms (15 miles) from the Medieval city, yet a world apart in the peace you will discover. A true retreat from the hectic lifestyles we have all become used to. Tigmi offers guests the opportunity to unwind and relax but is close enough to the Red City that guests can pop in and shop the Souk, see the Majorelle Gardens during the day and the Djemaa el Fna square at sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigmi Hotel Marrakech
Tigmi Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz, Morocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing