We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, shame about the rude customer”
Review of Haven Arms

Haven Arms
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Hedon
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Ate the other night.and as usual very good. Unfortunately there was a table of people who deliberately set out to get drunk and then moan about the food. It is almost like they did it deliberately to not pay. I do hope Emma S is proud of herself screaming at the waitress. Maybe she will read all the comments and maybe starts acting like a grown up. We certainly will confine to eat there regularly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 58diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Haven Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We ate here last night and want to right an injustice to Haven arms from the previous reviewer. We witnessed the large party and the comments do not reflect the actual turn of events. One party member was loud throughout the evening and when the food came she immediately shouted very loudly 'I am not eating that and I am not going to pay but I'm starving so I'm going to eat it'. From what we witnessed offers of change to food was given and she was very rude and shouted at the waitress. The landlady was calm as was landlord but she kept on and on. Some,of her party were embarrassed and they all left without paying continuing to shout and make a scene. The only people making the night uncomfortable was them. Our food and service was great. Please don't let that review put you off and give it a try yourself. We will be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alizz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just had the most awful experience I have ever had while at the Haven Arms in Hedon. We had gone there as a large party of people and after ordering our food & drinks had to wait for appox 1 hour for our starters. When the food came over 50% had to be sent back as it was unfit for human consumption, pulled pork was non existent, just a bowl of black burnt cold hard crackling (no apologies, no replacement offered) On to the main course, same again - after waiting over 30 minutes for the food to arrive, when it came over 50% was not edible. Slow cooked lamb was under cooked & bloody, pastry was hard as nails, other dishes where burnt & dry etc etc... When we complained the landlord & landlady caused a massive scene involving other customers nearby, they where insulting, rude & aggressive. We where then told that we where the worst customers they had ever had & to leave & never come back, and we won't be!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHawksworth, Owner at Haven Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Well, at least this review explains what happened last night - you had no intention of paying for the food and drink you ordered, all the most expensive things on our menu, but planned to place a damaging review on this forum to bring down our very good ratings. It appears to be part of a conspiracy, perhaps by a competitor, to put people off coming here. You are probably in your 60's, never used Tripadvisor before, but joined today for making this one and only anonymous review. I personally tasted the home cooked food you sent back and it was all as it should be. We served over 70 people yesterday and everyone else said they had excellent meals and service. Your behaviour was unbelievable, you screamed at a 20 year old waitress, a graduate who is used to working with tough professional sportsmen and made her cry. she told me she had never been spoken to in that way in her entire life. You intended to make a scene. Another customer said to you "if you had drunk less and eaten more then you might be able to taste the food". Even some of your party said they were enjoying their meals and were embarrassed by your behaviour. We had no choice but to ask you to leave - a first for us in 8 years of owning this business - leaving us an unpaid bill of £200. Readers should evaluate whether it is credible that a full and busy restaurant with excellent approval rating of 76% is really capable of serving 'the worst meal ever".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just visited the pub, we had the lasagna, it was lovely and authentic. The chicken curry was lovely. Service was excellent and staff were lovely and friendly. Definitely will eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lizgel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

waited ages for our food , had the fish and chips ,the fish full of bones so awkward to eat, the mushy peas were solid and greasy chips, my nephew had the lasagna and it was overcooked and dry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haven Arms also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hedon, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Hedon, East Riding of Yorkshire
Paull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Haven Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing