We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy and good Value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingstown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kingstown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hedon
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Handy and good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel and had a meal in the restaurant. Room was comfortable and meal was good value - steaks very tasty!
We stayed on a Sunday night and the room price was great value. The room was basic but clean. This is not a £300 a night Hilton folks so don't expect it to be.
The staff were courteous, efficient and friendly.
We ate at 8pm and did hear staff inform a group that children could not be served in the restaurant after this time. Not sure if this is a licensing issue but it was unusual especially in this economic climate!
Overall though the hotel was handy for where we needed to be, the bed comfortable and the food hot and tasty! So ticked our boxes at a good price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScottyMclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    67
    36
    19
    24
See reviews for
81
62
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

New management badly needed, oh and a cook who knows how long to boil a pea for and the timings required for the microwave so that the so called food is warm enough. You would be better setting light to your ten quid note to brighten the place up.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hedon hotels

Hull
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Five members and three generation of our family went for lunch.
We waited 45 mins for the food, no one came out and apologised or gave reason for the delay, they certainty weren't busy.
When the food did come half of my son's BBQ bucket food was missing, I pointed this out to the waitress who returned with the missing food, it was so burnt it was not edible, again no apology or reason for the incomplete order.
Save your time and money and give this place a wide berth.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank claccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Good clean venue
Large dining area , plenty of choice of both food and drinks.
A good atmosphere and pleasant staff.
And, there's a Whacky Warehouse to entertain the Kids... Good safe environment for children and nice seating area for Parents. Good choice of drinks and plenty of activities for the children.
All-in-all, well worth the visit

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich4Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

A family group of 6 adults and 3 children arrived at the Kingston hotel at approximately 10 past 8, found a table, settled down and made their choices and then queued to place their order. At 20 past 8, having reached the front of the queue, we were asked if we had children with us as kids meals could not be ordered after 8 O`clock! "Family friendly", thank goodness for McDonald's!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blindasabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

This was my 4th stay at the Kingstown Hotel. The friendly genuinely greeting when we arrived was a good start. As was full information on meal times and advice for when the restaurant was quieter. The room was clean and well appointed. Breakfast was included in my chosen tariff but when we arrived at breakfast we were told the kitchen could not do a full English due to gas problems. However, we enjoyed cereal and toast. On checking out we received another apology about breakfast and the bill was adjusted. The receptionist was as friendly as her colleague the night before and we were happy to say, see you again, and mean it. We will be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DotQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was a birdwatching weekend for 21 members of an RSPB group from Cheshire. The rooms were very comfortable and the food in the Fayre and Square restaurant, though basic pub food, was very reasonably priced and well prepared and served. The staff were always extremely cheerful and helpful, which added greatly to the pleasure of the stay. I would certainly use this hotel again, whether individually or with a group.

If you are considering a birdwatching break, the hotel is well placed for visiting several birding locations. The Yorkshire Wildlife Trust's reserves at Spurn Point and North Cave are respectively about 40 and 25 minutes' drive away. The RSPB reserves at Tophill Low and Blacktoft Sands are futher away, but still perfectly possible, as are many birding hotspots in North Lincolnshire.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor. However, only one room, no. 5, has a walk-in shower, so ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hedon
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
10.5 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
4.0 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#10 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingstown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingstown Hotel

Property: Kingstown Hotel
Address: Hull Road, Hedon HU12 8DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Hedon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hedon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingstown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kingstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing