We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kala Samui
Nearby Hotels
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$641
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamai Buri Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rummana Boutique Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamai Wanta(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thai House Beach Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$12
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blu' Beach Bungalows(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (896)
Filter reviews
896 results
Traveller rating
484
266
81
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
266
81
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduplex pool villarabbitpresidential suitesea viewinfinity poolour honeymoonthe cliffprivate dinnerboutique hotelchaweng beachcoconut rumthai disheswelcome drinkquiet locationthe main roadspa treatmentsfree shuttle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 896 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights while we explored the islands and must say this was the nicest place we stayed while Thailand and probably anywhere else in the world!

The decorum of the overall hotel is very nice and the lobby/reception and all common areas had a gorgeous view of the ocean and coast! The rooms themselves were very nice as the one we stayed at had a Wall to Wall windows on 2 sides which faced directly towards the sea. It was breathtaking to wake up to (the room number is 421). The room was guite large and could accomodate a family of 4 if necessary. The design of the rooms were quite nice and AC, plumbing, showers all worked as expected.

The staff were super polite and helpful and could not have asked more. Noted that some of the reviews commented on the lack of english, which is true but if they could not understand your request they would find somebody to make sure they would!!!

We had the breakfast every morning where the dining room points towards the sea, it was definetly a good way to start the day. The breakfast was complimentary with our room and served basically all day!! The food was good and got the day started right.

The only issue we found was with the location. To get into town they charged 300 baht to Chaweng everytime plus then you had to find your own way back. We ended up renting a scooter to get around, but to be it is kind of a pain to get around almost anywhere on the island anyways.

Overall this place was absolutely amazing and strongly recommend this place to anyone as long as they don't mind the distance.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bsshoker s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kala_Samui_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at The Kala Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

To Our Dearest Valued Customer,

Greetings from The Kala Samui!

Thank you for sharing your time writing such magnificent comment.

Hope that still writing of yours will help travelers which hotel they would like to book in if their after a retreat therapeutic holiday.

Your room #421 is always here for you. Hope you will be able to come back to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,

Best regards,

-The Kala Management
(please email us at sales@thekalasamui.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days and it was absolutely lovely. Our room had gorgeous views. It was immaculate with a beautiful stone bath, separate shower and toilet. The room was air conditioned and serviced daily. We found the staff excellent. Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We chose to eat in while we were here. Breakfast was complimentary and the selection was very good. The dinner menu was quite expensive but the food was good. We did the cooking class they offered and it was a lot of fun and worth the money. Drinks and hotel services were quite expensive but there was a happy hour at the bar everyday and we just did our washing in the bath. They also offered free wireless service which was east and reliable as well as two computers for free use. If you are wanting to go exploring it would be wise to hire a scooter because a taxi back to the resort from the nearest town was 300 baht which would get expensive if you were using the taxi service daily. We spent most of our time by the pool and this resort is the perfect place just to rest and relax.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CMMV01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

WOW, WOW, WOW!! Me, my Fiance and Mother and Father traveled to Samui in 2013. We stayed in the WONDERFUL 'Presidential Villa', Its was AMAZING!!!! A private 2 storie villa, infinity pool, Uninterrupted Sea Views, even when on the toilet and taking a shower!! Just amazing, the breakfasts Gorgeous, the main pool lovely, the decking by the sea tranquil. The evening meals are divine, the cocktails delicious, the live entertainment was wonderful. Just stay here, you really will make memories you 'will never forget'.... Thank you The Kala!!! The Butcher family :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holliebarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kala_Samui_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at The Kala Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

To Our Dearest Butcher Family,

Greetings from The Kala Samui!

First of all, K. Gerwin is sending his best regards to you and to your family. Very well said with the Presidential Villa. It is indeed for a family, group, couple/honeymooners. We are looking forward to seeing you again with us soon.

Your Presidential Villa is always here for you and your family :)

-Your Kala Samui Family
(please email us at sales@thekalasamui.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good however definately not a luxury hotel. Beautiful eating area. However I'm not happy with their room type. They said "sea view" when I book the room but the room turns out to be mostly mountain view. The stuff refuse to change room for us. Service is good. Hope they can improve their English more.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Xinxin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I just returned from our two week Honeymoon at "the Kala", what a fabulous experience, the view is breath-taking ! We had booked Room 103, a luxury duplex villa with its own pool and deck, this villa is built on the rocks, and it is impossible to be closer to the ocean than this room ! Highly recommended !
The manager and staff really made the difference, including making a special effort to cater for our special dietary requirements ! A big thank you to all at "the Kala" for making our Honeymoon unforgettable! This hotel is fantastic ! Thank you Kala, Cluhein and Rodney-Johannesburg, South Africa.

Room Tip: Book Room 103-best view in the Kala !
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodney t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews