We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windswept yet beautiful”
Review of Thongtakian Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thongtakian Resort
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Maret
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent 5 nights here and thought we were in for great weather after our first morning on a still and waveless beach but a squall hit us and the beach was never the same after that. It churned up the sea which then had waves for the rest of our time there and the wind blew almost incessantly.
Our chalet was perfectly situated, about 15 steps from the beach and met our needs; the rooms were serviced daily and the staff always pleasant. Breakfast was provided and this was more than adequate. The pool area was lovely and provided protection from the windy beach area.
We generally walk most of the time and found several lovely restaurants within easy walking distance. Other beaches were also close enough to walk to although if you wanted to get to the main area of Chaweng or further beaches, you would have to get a taxi or hire a motorbike.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have been to samui many times over the years and have always hung out on this beach,but lodged elsewhere usually in lamai and hua thanon area...this time I had 10 days to kill in samui and decided to stay on this resort..the location is great a short bike ride to lamai and chaweng..the beach is one of the nicest on samui with its rocks and warm shallow waters..no hawkers bothering you here..the resort itself is good value the staff are friendly enough and the breakfast is ok..did not eat on resort as I always go out to eat in samui as there are an abundance of very good and cheap eating options...the rooms are a little basic but comfortable..this place is all about location and for this price you will be hard pushed to find a better place on the beach in samui these days...would stay again for sure

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcello d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This resort was lovely and the garden bungalows were great and no distance really from the beach ! Lovely friendly and helpful staff! Beach is very pretty and small town is short taxi-bus ride for more lively night-life! Lovely breakfast with free wifi , would go back to stay here although most places shut at 10pm !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rozeymai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had reasonably high expectations given the other reviews on tripadvisor but were disappointed. The room smelt of chemicals, the kitchen was full of dogs and the breakfast buffet was diabolical. The saving grace was the location of 'resort', as silver beach was a delight.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank emerald-cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This was the worst experience we have ever had, and we have travelled extensively in Thailand before. THE HOTEL: We had booked a seafront bungalow, because apparently it was the only type of room that had extra beds for kids available. The room was extremely basic, no attempt at decoration whatsoever. Bathroom appliances were old and dubious; water pressure virtually non-existent. There was an overall stench of insecticide that just wouldn't disappear and gave you a headache. And despite it being high season, there was an excavator right outside the window digging ditches. The staff told us it was none of their business, it was doing work for the resort next door.
THE BEACH: Looks good enough at first glance, but the waters here are very shallow and full of spiky stones. It takes ages to get to waters suitable for swimming, especially at low tide. You'll find thousands of beaches in Thailand that are nicer.
THE SURROUNDINGS: Koh Samui has become a total nightmare, as bad as everything you have always avoided Majorca for. Maybe there are some quieter places on the eastern coast, but on this side it's all traffic, noise and discarded food containers. Don't believe the hype about Thong Takian being the quiet idyll, as opposed to Chaweng and Lamai. Just not true. Walking the beach road just outside the hotel is hazardous and no fun at all.
In the end, we told them that living on a building site was not what we had been looking forward to, and moved out after one night, but paid for a couple of nights (according to their general terms and conditions). The remainder of the total amount we had already paid for a week in advance was to be paid back into our credit card account, or so we were promised. This never happened, and -needless to say- even the friendliest of emails never triggered any response.
Now in our book, that's called fraud. But we're probably just very naive farangs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We realy enjoyed our stay in the bungalow few meters from the beach. Staff are nice and helpfull. Book directly from the hotel, it's cheapest. This is good choice if you like it quite and not crowded. We rented a scooter to get to other parts of the island and to Lamai or Chaweng beach area. Scooter rent is realy cheap, I think it was 200 bath/day. Badrooms could need an update, but it didn't bother us that much. Nice restorant on the beach with good and cheap food. I loved rice in pineapple, springrolls, watermelon shake,..

Stayed 5nights desember/january 2011

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two times, and never have they let us down at Thongtakian Resort. They provide really good value for your money. Thongtakian is situated at the Silver Beach, which MUST be one of the best on Koh Samui. Rooms are very basic, but free wifi is available, and so is television and hot shower. The beach is very peaceful and suitable for small children who want to play in the sand - which is very clean and nice.

There is a Family Mart 500 m away, and their beach restaurant is the best one in the area - excellent thai food, acceptable European/American food too.

The resort seems to attract a lot of families and calm people who just wants to relax and have a good time on the beach. The restaurant has lanterns in the evening and is set up directly in the beach sand - which is very romantic and nice.

Of you have the guts, you can really save a lot of money by renting your own motorbike instead of going by taxi - taxi is VERY expensive here, and a trip to Chaweng, which is 10 mins away, sets you back 400 baht - each way!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomasloewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maret
0.1 mi away
Crystal Bay Yacht Club
Crystal Bay Yacht Club
#13 of 51 in Lamai Beach
455 reviews
6.7 mi away
Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Promtsuk Buri
Promtsuk Buri
#5 of 76 in Maret
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Bay Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Thong Takian Villa
Thong Takian Villa
#47 of 82 in Maret
12 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samui Beach Resort
Samui Beach Resort
#22 of 51 in Lamai Beach
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thongtakian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongtakian Resort

Address: 146/11 Moo 4,, Maret, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Maret
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Maret
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Maret
Price Range: £14 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thongtakian Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Thongtakian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongtakian Hotel Koh Samui
Thongtakian Hotel Surat Thani
Thongtakian Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing