We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Maret
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tranquil retreat”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The X2 staff were so friendly and smiling, it would be hard not to enjoy this resort. Although it is really not a resort at all, rather a tranquil collection of standalone rooms with private pools and a single public space by the beach acting as restaurant and bar. The food was always delicious and the beach views wonderfully calming. We enjoyed getting up very early to walk along the beach to the fishing village to watch the village come alive as the sun rose. From the hotel frontage walks of variable length are possible both to the right and to the left.

We much preferred this south-eastern corner of the island to the main beaches to the north and would recommend it to anyone for a revitalising escape.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the most recently modernised rooms, the flooring around the pool area in some is in n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    61
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
24
172
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I had visited Koh samui during november, best place for couples with private pool villa. The buffet spread was excellent. The rooms are spacious, clean and beautiful. It made my honeymoon the best and memorable time, staff was very courteous and helpful. I shall rate this the best resort ever been. As its relaxing and value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_Iyer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place offers amazing value for a romantic discrete tropical bathing experience. It's probably really a 3 star property only due to the age of many of the furnishings and fittings , but the highly stylised design is quite sophisticated , spacious , comfortable and liveable. It's all there, big beds , good linen , shower , bath , big rooms , separate villas so low noise transfer, and the groovy pool.
The staff will fix anything that doesn't work , clean the pool on demand and generally are good fun.

Room Tip: All apartments seem same,large size (guessing 40sq m) pool water quality can vary due to winds and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have stayed at this resort about 5 times now. It is based in the southern part of the island away from the main shopping areas. It is about 40 minutes from Chewang, 15 minutes from Lamai and 45 mins from Natong which are the main shopping areas with bars and nightlife.

Pros
X2 is clean and has one of the best pools on the island.
There are free pushbikes to use although they aren't in great shape. They have free broadband in the room which is fantastic. The bathrooms are one of the best I have seen in any hotel.
Free Kayaks and great private beach

Cons
Air conditioner is placed directly over the bed and you get a cold blast when it is on.
There are plenty of flies around at breakfast and the service can sometimes be slow and some of the staff can't understand English too well.

There is a FANTASTIC restaurant nearby called Simple Life. It is run by a husband and wife who serve the best tasting Authentic Thai meals I have tasted. The are also the cheapest meals around. They also help the local community by feeding the stray dogs so don't be put off by seeing dogs around their restaurant as they are harmless.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solo_Jasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Behind the door, I met a very beautiful place. The pool is a Very pretty and clean. Around the room very clean and feeling like a comforted.
The reception and page boy are very nice and friendly.
I love a breakfast with a nice sea view. Feel enjoying with you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patcharapunt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is a fair way from the hustle and bustle of Chewang and other hot spots on the island, which is great if you want some piece and quiet or a romantic hideaway. When you first reach the hotel you are greeted with some fantastic architecture and clean building lines, an impressive lobby and surroundings.

We had to have our room changed after only a single night as the private pool had overnight turned into a green pond and no longer resembled a pool anymore.

The staff were accommodating of these changes and were apologetic about the inconvenience.

The main pool is huge, deep and refreshing. There was no-one servicing the people sitting by the pool so if you wanted something you had to walk to the restaurant and ask for anything you need. Barely an inconvenience but none the less frustrating when hot and needing a drink.

Private pool villas are well laid out and a good size, again lacking in upkeep and maintenance which is disappointing, as the hotel really does have the potential to be a great place to stay.

We had friends staying with us at the same time and they had terrible experiences with broken air conditioning and again pools turning into ponds.

The food was average but the champagne at breakfast was a nice touch.

Overall staff were good.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the trees, we had 24 after moving rooms and it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM-BHMAsia, Manager at X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Bar Advisor,

Greeting from X2 Samui Resort! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, all comments help us to improve our service.

We apologize that the service has not been at our usual standard regarding your room change because of the pool water problem and for the low level of service staff at main swimming pool. Our normal standards require staff to service guests by the pool once every hour throughout the day. After your comments we have increased our schedule for swimming pool service to once every 30 minutes.

Again your comments have been noted and will be discussed during our future resort renovations including the pool maintenance. The issues with the condition of the villas are being addressed on an ongoing basis. The new materials used in the renovations of the villas should be easier to maintain and provide a more durable finish.

Please do not hesitate to contact us with more details of these issues. Naturally are we very sad to see the review and to learn about the problems you had after you had checked out.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Samui again.

Ms Noree | Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Firstly I have to be fair and say the staff tried exceptionally hard to please, however given what they have to work with here, that was a difficult ask. We had 6 couples staying at x2 for a week. We had several couples move rooms up to 3 times during the stay. We had all booked pool villas and were excited to stay. This quickly turned into a faulty towers type scenario with broken aircon, pools that were beyond green and murky, and a power outage for some 9 hours ( this was caused by a storm, so not the fault of the hotel).

The staff were very obliging and polite and this could be a great hotel, however the lack of maintenance and qualified pool cleaners meant this resort is no more than a 2 or 3 star at best. The food was very good, although it could take up to 1 1/2 hours to get room service delivered and the main pool area not well attended by staff so getting even water was a task.

The rooms were clean, although once again the door had masking tape around it to stops the bugs getting in perhaps? The bed was very comfortable and sufficient towels, a beach bag and water were supplied. The hotel car and van were always available at a charge to take us where ever we needed to go.

The owners should perhaps spend some money on the maintenance and fix/ finish the fixtures. Wires hanging out, the rotted wood replaced, the fountain pool on the beach should work... I can't say much more except what a disappointment. We would never stay here again and whatever you do, do not prepay all of your trip in case you have to relocate to another hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KerrieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM-BHMAsia, Manager at X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Kerrie

Greeting From X2 Samui Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your experience at X2 Resort Samui. All comments, positive and negative help us to improve our service and in turn help to improve future guests’ experiences.

We deeply apologize that you had to move room because of the problem with your swimming pool. This has been noted and has been brought to the attention of the maintenance team and will be discussed during our future resort renovations. The issues regarding with the condition of the villas are being addressed on an ongoing basis. The new materials used in the renovations of the villas and pools should be easier to maintain.

However, we are glad to note that you were pleased with our staff service and that you enjoyed the personalized service at the restaurant.

Naturally are we very sad to see the review. Please do not hesitate to contact us with more details of the issues you mentioned.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Ms Noree | Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maret
0.9 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 62 in Maret
1,590 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
8.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
6.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
677 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive

Property: X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive
Address: 442 Moo 1, Bann Hua Thanon, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Maret
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Maret
#12 Luxury Hotel in Maret
#21 Romantic Hotel in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The general area is underdeveloped and peaceful with the only a few high-end residential villa projects sharing the beach. The resort occupies 5 acres (12 Rai) of land, with 26 villas. Most have private swimming pools, and outside areas. The 100 meter beachfront and 50 year old trees help provide the X2 atmosphere the owners were striving to achieve, and gave designers the background on which to recreate the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
x2 Resort Koh Samui Hotel Koh Samui
X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing