We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach Vacation Ko Samui”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lamai Inn 99

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lamai Inn 99
Ranked #36 of 62 Hotels in Maret
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beach Vacation Ko Samui”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our first visit to Lamai Beach in Ko Samui and we arrived at night and booked into Lamai Inn 99, we had a little bungalow right on the beach, very close to the main town and other amenities. As we arrived at night we did not appreciate just how close to the beach we were, getting up early in the morning we were surprised to find ourselves almost right on the beautiful white sand and only a 2 min walk into the water. A wonderful location for our week long holiday. Very well kept, the staff were friendly and we would definitely book there again. The only thing we would not do again would be to organise breakfast each day i.e. an american breakfast which we paid for in advance. The breakfast menu has many delicious things to choose from i.e. banana pancakes etc and unfortunately we could not vary our breakfast. Those pancakes did look good. We were happy with the american breakfast, plenty for us and always well presented but just something to think about next time as walking along the beach in the morning we could have stopped for coffee and croissants at other cafes. Lamai Inn 99 was a brilliant spot, the bungalow also included two sun loungers which we could move around into the shade and on to our balcony if we wanted. Having a drink at sundown on the balcony was lovely and we could watch everyone on the beach, a really lovely location. There was a Thai massage place about two doors down and other cafes and bars on the beach to walk to.

Room Tip: The Lamai Inn 99 has about 90 bungalows, set in gardens and around the pool, some are delux but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    113
    35
    11
    18
See reviews for
40
107
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

this was a return visit as our last one in 2009 was so good. We were not disappointed. the bungalows are in a perfect setting, secluded but close to the beach and the town. They are well kept and the staff are constantly looking after the surroundings. nothing is a problem to them which helps to make the stay here so good. would love to return again

Room Tip: if you have the cash to spare go for a beach villa but no matter what room you take you will not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank powerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaxjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Right on Lamai Beach, near shops and restaurants and also near the market with "streetfood". Rooms was very simple but cleaned every day and had very good beds. We paid 1500 bath for the cheapest room which was quite expensive because breakfast was not included. We were disappointed with the staff in reception who were tired and unwelcoming. The wifi also didn't work in the rooms, only in restaurant and reception area. The restaurant had a mixed menu and was perfect for a simple but good lunch for a good price. The staff in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed a week in August 2013 in one of the Garden rooms. Garden rooms are quite big bungalows in a garden that they make a lot of efforts to keep green (I uploaded some pictures of it). Three lovely white rabbits freely stroll in this area. Cost me 1,600 Baht/day, what I feel very fair for what I had.

Spacious room with air conditioning, comfortable double bed, hot and powerful shower, large flat screen TV, small fridge and, very important, a safe. Free drinking water renewed every day. But my bathroom was very dark and there was not enough electrical outlets in the room to charge my computer, my tablet and my phone at the same time. The room is cleaned every day. The terrace in front of the room is a real bonus. I spent a lot of time here having a drink and some reading, very relaxing. Also, Laundry service is available.

What makes me coming to Lamai Inn 99 again and again over the years is, first, that the bungalows are just 20 to 30 meters from the beach, with no busy road to cross. Then, the very good location. Just a 3 mn walk and you are in the main street of the Lamai village, where are the shops, the restaurants, the bars, street food, 7 Eleven, Mac Donald, Subway, drugstores, doctors, and the 2 small discotheques (Fusion and The One. Be careful with The One, many drunken Thai guys there, fights are in the air…).

At the Lamai Inn restaurant, on the beach, beers are fresh and the Thai food is simply excellent! Avoid western food, except breakfast that is OK. Friendly young staff.
The place is very safe and there is a guard during the night. Management is efficient and helpful. But the Wifi clearly needs to improve as it is very poor when you are not at the beach restaurant.

In short: excellent value for money. Improve Wifi, add some lights in the bathrooms and some electrical plugs in the rooms, and Lamai Inn will be my paradise!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently and was not let down. Located on the beach and 1 minute from the main strip of bars shops and restaurants.. Nice bigs rooms and cleaned every day.. Food is quite nice too.. Wifi is not the best that is only fault..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padjo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Located right on Lamai Beach, this was my 2nd visit (the 1st being 10 yrs ago). We had a seaview room, so were located on the beachfront which was great. For the price you pay, the rooms are decent. Clean and large, with everthing you need. Pool area was good, and always quiet, people obviously prefer the beach. To me however, Lamai Beach has been ruined by development. I liked that the area in front of Lamai Inn wasn't covered in loungers, it was still beautiful. Up and down the beach however was a different story. All in all, enjoyed our stay at Lamai Inn, probably won't return due to the overdevelopment of Lamai in general though.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are in great spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fieryangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here for a month on my own. Was a really friendly hotel, basic but clean and the rooms were big (I had an air con bungalow, even though I booked a fan bungalow). 2 mins from the beach and 5 mins from Lamai centre. Nice pool area. Good if you like simple but well located.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samuilover2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maret hotels
0.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#18 of 50 in Lamai Beach
519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#27 of 50 in Lamai Beach
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weekender Resort & Hotel
Weekender Resort & Hotel
#30 of 50 in Lamai Beach
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Samui Laguna Resort
Samui Laguna Resort
#38 of 50 in Lamai Beach
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crystal Lamai Hotel
Crystal Lamai Hotel
#19 of 50 in Lamai Beach
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Inn 99? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Inn 99

Property: Lamai Inn 99
Address: 109/11 Moo 3, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 62 Hotels in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Inn 99 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lamai Inn 99 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Inn 99 Hotel Koh Samui
Lamai Inn 99 Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing