We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui
Ranked #58 of 62 Hotels in Maret
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

we had chosen samui cliff because of its location and reviews but when we got there it was a disappointing experience when it came to the service. after 2 days we ended up moving to another hotel that had it all together for nearly half the price.
none of the staff would greet us when passing, not even the gardners, cleaners or drivers and most noticeable, the reception staff. We arrived back to the hotel at 1am after attending a wedding and although the reception area was deserted at that time, we were not even acknowledged with a nod of the head-let alone a "good night". I passed staff many times during our two day stay and was horrified at the non communication, even after I greeted them!

Breakfast was not of high standard, with no covers on the stainless steel trays, open for bugs and cold on serving. Chipped crockery is not the kind of service I would expect at your hotel rating. There was little variety and not very much Thai cuisine. Tomatoes that are bruised and blackened and reheated sausages from the previous morning . Spaghetti bolognese for Breakfast-cold-is not appetising in Thailand, or anywhere for a breakfast choice

As for the coffee sachets- we had to call for extra coffee sachets and they would bring one at a time (considering that there was 2 of us staying in the room, had to make another call for more coffee), reflects very poor service!

As for the transport, your website states that you have a free shuttle, which we utilized twice. Thank you for that service

On arrival, our toilet had been used prior to our arrival,and not cleaned.
There was urine in the bowl, unflushed, and a dirty brown mark on the inside lid, which, when i took a tissue to, was able to clean myself. The shower tiles were covered in mould and so was the soap holder. I do not live like that in my residence, and certainly do not expect to have that greeting on my arrival to a hotel with such ratings. Maybe a look at your rooms may be required.

My wife dropped a packet of snacks on the veranda on the first night. We tried to clean it as best we could, and were shocked that on day three, after two visits from the lady cleaners, they were not attended to and still on the floor.

Our main purpose for visiting Koh samui was to attend a wedding the 7th. We needed some suit trousers ironed. Imagine our disbelief when asking for an iron, and calling housekeeping to our room to further explain, that we were told you did not have an iron on the site! How ridiculous is that!

To be charged $2.00 Australian for the glass of ice requested (a bucket was delivered-thank you) is ludicrous. I have enjoyed many world class hotels and never been charged for ice!

Communication with staff members was a very big hurdle, however I do not speak Thai so cannot judge. However, when employed in a tourist hotel, you would expect some basic Exchange of the English language to accommodate guests

Yes i was most taken by the view of our room. It was breathtaking! I did not know we were upgraded-thank you again. But it still does not deviate from the lack of service we received during our stay. The hotel was not alone chosen for the view. It is for the service and experience as a whole.

I do not know if it was an "off" week in your hotel, because nothing felt like the raving reviews I researched prior to booking, but it was certainly not what was expected or paid for, enough to make us repack our suitcases and find alternative accommodation midway during our holiday.
As I stated before, I am not in the habit of complaining; in fact I am most tolerant. This was an outrage though, especially taking into consideration that few hotel occupants. I would have expected a premium service with so little to attend to.

Room Tip: find another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank suffs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    51
    31
    14
    17
See reviews for
13
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel does its name proud; the views from the lobby, restaurant, pool and rooms are absolutely stunning. Although the pictures on the website seem to promise a little more luxury than the place actually offers, the rooms are still spacious and comfortable enough, each with a private balcony, all facing the sea. Staff are friendly and helpful. The place being situated on a cliff means a lot of stair climbing to pool, restaurant and lobby, but fortunately you can always ring reception and within a few minutes a minivan arrives to drive you to the lobby.
Cliff View is situated right between Lamai and Chaweng (10 min. drive); the hotel offers an hourly drop off at Lamai beach until 6.00 pm; after that it is still easy to catch a songthaew or taxi (100 baht) to either place since the main road runs right behind the hotel lobby.
Not ideal for those who want to be within walking distance of markets bars, beach and nightlife, but certainly ideal for people who want peace and quiet yet have the noise and bustle of beach life within easy distance.
The hotel has a private beach, but not a sandy beach, so not ideal with children. The pool however is lovely.
Breakfast is included - adequate but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My second time stay at samui cliff view is awesome.with breathtaking view of the blue ocean for miles and the blue sky touching the ocean..it is the most romantic stay with bath tub facing the ocean and the food is super

Room Tip: Stay at the beach front villa only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sanjivwalia67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Seems a place best suited to couples and families, but me and a friend stayed here when we came over from the UK to party for a couple of weeks. Was a great hotel, excellent value for money considering the amenities and the fantastic views from our balcony. During the day, beautiful view of the gulf of thailand under the sun, at night beautiful lightening shows over the water. Hotel staff were very helpful in finding our clothes (after a dangerously drunken night) and helping us arrange transport to places and activities such as day trips like snorkelling and stuff. The location is amazing too, perfectly situated between the 2 best places on samui, lamai and chaweng. Only bad thing about this is it is literally on the side of a cliff, so the climb up to reception is a killer. Solution to this is you can park your scooter outside the room :)

Like to criticise the negative reviews. There IS a private beach, people saying there isn't obviously couldn't find it. It is among rocks and it is small, but it is nonetheless a private beach. As for people experiencing hotel theft, it's your own fault. Happens everywhere, even in UK and USA. There are safe boxes FOR A REASON. We used ours and had no problems whatsoever. In fact we accidentally left a large sum of money lying in plain view, and after the room was serviced it was still there. (obviously not recommending you do it, USE THE SAFE).

Loved it so much we're going again this year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garethslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

the place is full of scenic beauty and calm.
You will be lost in its beauty and forget all your daily tensions.


Sit aside the beach and enjoy the waves, very romantic.
And the resort is made in an excellent way from where you get a full view of the sea.

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view, you will love that
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crimsonrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at this fabulous hotel and the advice is go there! place with a magnificent sea view from the bed super lovely, the bathroom has a stained glass window in stone on the spectacular bay thay.
Excellent breakfast, excellent service, competent staff and attentive to everything, when it rains dry up the stairs in wood and stone as you go ...
Unforgettable place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giovanni d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Me and my girlfriend booked a room at this hotel for 4nights stay. Booking was no hassle and staff was quite responsive. The driver was at the airport on time to fetch us to the hotel and upon arrival, we were given some towels (found some stains) and drinks.

Whenever we had any questions or requests, the front office staff happily fulfill them. Everything went really well until the 3rd day of our stay where my girlfriend realised that some money was missing from her purse.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy8304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maret hotels
1.6 mi away
Weekender Resort & Hotel
Weekender Resort & Hotel
#31 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#35 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Montra Hotel
Montra Hotel
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.0 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
1.7 mi away
Samaya Bura
Samaya Bura
#32 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui

Property: Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui
Address: 211/1 Moo 4, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Cliff View Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Maret
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Maret
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Cliff View Resort And Spa
Samui Cliff View Hotel Koh Samui
Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing