We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff and outdated rooms” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui
Ranked #58 of 62 Hotels in Maret
Cairns
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rude staff and outdated rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed at the Samui Cliff View Resort on our honeymoon and had originally booked for two nights. We booked this hotel based on the magnificent view over the ocean from the reception area. As we found out, that was the only decent thing about this hotel. We ended up checking out after one night because we couldn't handle another night there.

We chose to stay in the beachfront bungalows, however, there was certainly no beachfront here! You had to climb over rocks and jump into the water if you wanted to go for the swim, and if you wanted to get out - have fun dodging the many many crabs that call these rocks home.

Our room was very dated and HOT! Like most hotels in Thailand, the power is operated by a tag on your room key which forces the power to turn out when you leave your hotel. THis was ok in most places because the room would cool down fairly quickly in most hotels upon your return, however at the Samui Cliff View, we had to leave our room and sit outside for a good half hour because the room was unbearably hot and stuffy. The bathroom is also quite segregated from the bedroom and does not get ANY air through it (even when the air conditioner is switched on) making it very hot also.

The bathroom shower smelt like urine, the bath gel for the jacuzzi was empty, there were cobwebs in corners and it just felt dirty.

There was one pillow for each of us on the bed and we found another two in a cupboard. However, the two in the cupboard did not have a pillowcase and were dirty and stained yellow. Upon calling reception and requesting two more pillows or pillowcases, we were rudely informed that they did not have any spare as they were fully booked (an obvious lie - it was obvious that the majority of rooms were unoccupied and when we asked housekeeping the next mornig if they were busy they informed us 'no, very quiet').

Breakfast was very very average - food was mostly cold and the lady making the omelettes was very rude and made it seem like a hassle to cook the omelette (even though it was her job!!!).

Even though it was stated on the internet that there is in room Wi-Fi access, this is not the case. The only spot we could get it in the hotel was in the lobby.

This was the worse hotel we stayed at in Thailand and I certianly would not reccomend to anyone. There are much nicer places to stay with friendlier staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KezzaB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    51
    31
    14
    17
See reviews for
13
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

When you arrive the first impression is positive. The view is really the ToP. Than you have millions of steps up side down to tourn up and down !! Good for exercise a bit ! The rooms are really clean with a very nice jaquzi and unforgettable views. Villas ( i have been there too) in the ground floor are located 10 mts from the sea very very nice !! Wifi open 7/24. Rooms a bit too old style furniture. Noising air condition and old screen tv ( catodic) .... One time in my life.
Happy day !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

I agree with John R that the descriptions given about this hotel are over generous.
We booked this hotel after receiving a 5 night deal via CUDO, and paid $550 AUD / 5 nights ( or 3500 baht per night ), valued at $1645 AUD / 5 nights.
To be frank, it was only just acceptable at the discounted rate of $110 AUD / night, and I definitely would not have been happy had we paid more.
Happy to agree that the resort does have great views, and would be happy to recommend rooms 323, 324, and 325, for it.
The room was cleaned daily, and had good amenities. The bed and bedding were comfortable. The spa bath was a bonus!
The resort has a nice pool and the restaurant has decent food at somewhat hefty prices.
The staff were generally friendly and helpful.
Overall this place could be a great place to stay - if you get your room for the right price!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rencross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surin, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

I had a really good time there. the people in the hotel very nice the food very nice but more really nice is spa :) it's so good. but the location of the hotel it not have beach !!
But for sure next time i will back to this place again ( it's really nice place for couple ^_^ )

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kunballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

My second visit to Koh Samui so I am aware of Thai style resorts however the description of this resort is somewhat generous. Yes it was clean, tidy and fantastic views. It is however not close to beaches, the advertised shuttle is no available, you are encouraged to make your own arrangements an the restaurant is both expensive and not great in comparison to other establishments.

Like all things Thai, you often have to ask for things, such as having a top sheet on the bed, or fresh towels each day.

Overall a relaxing base to explore but not a stay in resort.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs to access anything so be prepared, those closer to the water are e best if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We had a great stay with Samui Cliff from 7th November - 12th November. As the other reviews say, there are a lot of stairs but the hotel will pick you up from your room and take you to reception and back again if you want. The car isn't always there to do this, but it's a small price to pay for the beautiful views. I still wouldn't recommend this for the elderly or immobile just in case. Walking down was fine.... walking up not so good lol
The first day we arrived, the hotel picked us up from the airport (there was a shuttle bus waiting for us with bottles of water and chilled towels) after we checked in we were taken to our room which had a wonderful view, the bed was fairly comfy and the bathroom was fairly nice and had a spa (which we didn't use). For the people with the negative comments, yes, this place is a little dated, but you get what you pay for (personally I think you get a bit more here) We got a deal from Cudo.com and for what we paid for 5 nights, we are definitely not complaining! We didn't need everything to be perfect as we were on holidays and had no intentions of coming to Thailand to stay in the room the whole time. The only draw back (and it certainly isn't a deal breaker) was that when you left for the day, the power turns off so you come back to a hot room. The air con worked fairly quick though so it was cool fairly quickly. We felt pretty secure, so we just left the key in for the air con, wedged the door open so we didn't get locked out and while the room was cooling down, we went and had a dip in the pool. We had all of our valuables in the safe and took the key with us. We never had a problem with missing items. Sometimes we would leave a camera or phone out but nothing ever went missing. That isn't to say that you can just leave your belongings out, and it's not because we don't trust people in Thailand, I wouldn't leave my valuables out in a hotel in Australia either.
The hotel also provided a free shuttle to Lamai every hour. Downside - they ask what time you would like to be picked up as they will come back especially for you, so they kind of put you on the spot. It's difficult to say how long you are going to be, there is so much to look at. My suggestion would be to ask to be picked up at least 2-3 hours later and if you are finished early, get a took took or taxi back then tell them at Reception you don't need to be picked up. (Just negotiate the price before you get in. To give you an idea, we stayed near the airport in Bangkok for 1 night before going to Koh Samui and decided to get a taxi into Bangkok as we had time to kill. For the trip there, we were fortunate enough to get a taxi with a meter, and the driver actually had it going :) For about a 30-40 min ride (lots of traffic) the meter came to about 195 baht and we gave the driver a generous tip. In Lamai, they do not usually run the meter, but about 150 baht plus a tip should be fair. (they wont think so) Took took's are cheaper than taxi's. (The took took's in Lamai are more like being in the back of a ute with a roof)
At Samui Cliff, they also have the tourist desk and the ladies there can organise the trips for you, and were great. I HIGHLY recommend the Angthong National Marine Park tour by speed boat (it's not crazy) and sit in the back where there is shade, you may not be able to see out the front, but you don't get burnt to a crisp like some of the people in our group.
We had a tour guide "Mai" who had great English, and also spoke fluent German. He was very funny, and did a great job. They also picked you up from the hotel and drove you back. I think a few other places charged different prices, but from memory, we paid around 3300 baht (for 2 people) + 400 baht for entry into the national park. It was definitely worth it.
We didn't try the spa packages at Samui Cliff, they were a bit expensive, but we did have regular massages in Lamai at "Relaxation Place Massage". There are 2 in Lamai, the one that we went to was in the group of shops with the Scoops American Ice Cream shop on the corner. The ladys were lovely, and may be a bit more pricier than others, but it was clean and relaxing, and the ladies were very professional. The place isn't huge, but it just made it feel more like we were getting the royal treatment. We went there almost every day and we pretty much had the place to ourselves every time.
We only had 1 meal at the hotel restaurant, and that was for lunch, and it wasn't too bad. A little pricey, but we were short on time so didn't have a lot of choice. We tried a few different places, but our favourite was Salathai which was on the main strip in Lamai. Their seafood was really nice, and the Pad Thai was the tastiest I had while in Thailand.
We also had the ladies at the tour desk at Samui Cliff organise to do the Extreme Rollerball in Bophut. It was a lot of fun. I am an absolute chicken, but I would probably do it again...... maybe. If you have an underwater camera, it's worth filming while you're in the ball. It looks hilarious! I also recommend going to the Fisherman's village in Bophut, it is a short taxi ride or took took ride there. It is very busy, but there are lots of stalls and the atmosphere is good. There is also Muay Thai fights in Lamai on a Saturday night. There is a boxing ring which is surrounded by bars, and if you get there early enough, you can get great seats. We picked front row seats, and were right next to some steps, which turned out to be where the trainers yell to their fighters etc. It was pretty cool. It was great to watch their national sport up close. The Muay Thai gym opposite Samui Cliff was pretty good too. My partner paid 800 baht for a private session as they are usually closed on a sunday, and really enjoyed it.
When we were leaving, we organised for the hotel to arrange for a taxi to the airport, which was just easier then having to arrange it ourselves. It was 250 baht per person, but knowing that you would get to the airport on time etc. It was worth the peace of mind. I absolutely loved Koh Samui, and planning my next trip already. Samui Cliff definitely helped to make our stay great. The staff were friendly, some of the restaurant people weren't always as smiley but you get that anywhere. If you want somewhere to stay as a base for your travels around Koh Samui, this place is pretty good. You are pretty much in the middle of Lamai and Chaweng which are great for shopping etc. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Delux Villa, but would like to try the Beach Front next time, but we had a beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We had a lovely five days at Cliffview. If you find the stairs too much, the shuttle pick up is very speedy - and the views are spectacular and well worth the stairs. The food was excellent and authentic - we ate in the restaurant every night because it was so good. All the staff made us feel welcome and special - don't come here if your idea of samui is to party - it is a way out of Chaweng - but do come here for a quiet relaxing visit - we loved it.....excellent value and we had a great time

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maret hotels
1.6 mi away
Weekender Resort & Hotel
Weekender Resort & Hotel
#31 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#36 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Montra Hotel
Montra Hotel
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.0 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
1.7 mi away
Samaya Bura
Samaya Bura
#32 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui

Property: Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui
Address: 211/1 Moo 4, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Cliff View Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Maret
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Maret
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Cliff View Resort And Spa
Samui Cliff View Hotel Koh Samui
Merit Wellness & Mind Retreat Resort Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing