We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic getaway from tourist crowds”
Review of Ban Sua Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ban Sua Samui
Ranked #12 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Maret
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We booked the Dara Roofterrace for 6 nights in June, based solely on the information on the website and we were very happy to see that the villas were at least as nice as advertised: beautiful and cozy apartments that appear to be carved into a cliff, with great views of the ocean and no views of crowded hotels whatsoever. Although there was a bit of construction work going on, finishing up a new bungalow, we could not hear a thing - either they have very good soundproofing in the walls or the workers used very silent hammers :-). Nothing but peace and quiet, while still only minutes away from the more populated beaches of Chaweng and Lamai. If you'd rather sunbathe on a small quiet beach, there is a great little bay just 5-minute walk from Ban Sua; there is also a nice beach bar and a very nice beach-front restaurant, serving, among others, delicious sea food. There is also a possibility to have breakfast and lunch in your room, prepared by the very lovely staff at Ban Sua, and since the room includes a beautiful roof terrace with great views of the sea, this can be a very nice dining experience. We tested it and we liked it a lot.

All in all, we had a great time staying at Ban Sua, loved the detached location and the cozy atmosphere entertained by the friendly staff, so we are sure to choose the same place if ever back in Samui. Shame it is soooo far away from home...

Room Tip: Rooms are build so that they do not obstruct each other's views, so any room is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Very warm greetings from your Ban Sua team,
we appreciate your comments. We will forward your compliments in our weekly staff meeting. Staff will be happy that you enjoyed our peaceful reatreat, the beutiful seaviews you mentioned and most of all the kindness of our lovely thai staff. We are happy having given you some time to sit back and relax while taking your meals on our favourable seaview terraces. With our two seaview pools and only a few rooms on site we want to create this private atmosphere you described. We loved that you chilled on at the nearby beach, which is still one of the last remnants of the true Samui, before Samui was explored as a tourist paradise. The beaches of Chaweng center and Lamai are much more lively nowadays, so only few tourists know how tranquil Samui`s beaches used to be. Thank you very much to share this secret tip, giving other guests an idea to spend fantastic holidays from the crowds. The real Samui is still there and we are so delighted that you found it. For now our best wishes and be assured we will keep our low prices. We are looking forward to see you next time. Khopkun maak khap, Klaus and the Ban Sua team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

LOCATION: Between Chaweng Noi and Lamai, on a steep hill path up to the Sandalwood resort. No taxi or moped driver will take you up the hill, so you have quite a climb if you don't hire your own moped. The location is quite isolated, but that is the attraction, while only being 10 minutes either way from the bustle of Chaweng and Lamai, and just a 5 minute walk to the beach and bar at the Coral Cove resort. Taxis are expensive on Samui anyway by Thai standards, but if you don't find out the 'right price' to bargain to quickly the drivers will try to fleece you.

FACILITIES: I stayed in the HiRoofterrace apartment. If you come from a 4 or 5* full service hotel you will take a little time to acclimatise to less luxurious fixtures (and you may well question whether the place is right for you), but after a couple of days you realise that the place is very relaxed and comfortable. The view over Chaweng bay and the jungle covered hills is incredible and undoubtedly the most attractive feature. The natural lighting in the bedroom is fantastic. The bathroom was fairly rudimentary, with quite basic fixtures; the shower water pressure was very poor and pulsed hot and cold water. If investment were to be applied to the property I think a more luxurious bathroom would hugely improve the overall experience. If any food based rubbish was left in the bin ants would quickly arrive, so to avoid an insect problem it's best to leave any used packages or bottles in a plastic bag in the fridge until the morning. The advertised room service facility requires giving staff 3 hours notice, so is not really that useful. The staff were friendly.
A major disappointment was the extensive building work on the neighbouring plot. I had been assured by Klaus several months in advance, as well as a few weeks prior, that the building work would almost certainly have been completed by the point of my arrival. However, there was VERY noisy construction work (drills, hammering into concrete, grinders etc) progressing every day during all daylight hours. There is no way the property was in the final stages of fitting out as I had been told.

I would recommend Ban Sua on the basis that you are visiting when there is no building work occurring. There are certainly aspects where a little more luxury would make a huge difference to the property, but for the price you will struggle to find anywhere that is so tranquil whilst providing some nice private facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Immoraliste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Sawadee khap,
thank you for comparing us with a 5 star resort. That is a very nice compliment, but with our prices from 29 Euro we are far from a 200+ Euro 5 star resort. Indeed one can rent our whole estate instead of one larger room in a luxury resort, but to be honest we do not want to be a 5 star resort as we would loose our authentic thai charme and comfort. We do only employ local thai staff and pay them adequate prices to improve local standard of live too. We think that is the best way for responsible tourism, while large hotel complexes employ cheap labour force from Burma or Cambodia too, in order to maximize profit. I am sorry for any inconvenience during your holidays due to the large villa which went into its final construction phase. We are in a villa area and the villa next to us is huge and we do not have influence on their work.
We are grateful that you could enjoy your holiday despite the inconvenience mentioned and shared your comments and beautiful stunning photos. We will keep our low prices, I guess even lowest prices for seaview property in the popular Chaweng-Lamai area and maintain our great value for you and all our guests who want to explore Samui and feel the beauty of a peaceful authenic thai environment. We will dicuss your comments in our weekly staff meeting and do look forward to see you again next time. A warm sabei di khap from the Ban Sua team, Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We booked Bestview Apartment long before our vacation, but when we came on 09-Jun-2012 it turned out the construction next to this apartment was not completed and there was noise (as we were told they work every day from 8 am till 7 pm). We didn't want to bring our vacation on a construction site, so we had to leave. We estimate it will take about two more months.
We brought the first night in Palm Heights (A3). This is a one room apartment with no kitchen and no kitchen utencils but for the water boiler (the one that can keep up the temperature and that is quite large, which was good for us) and small cups (that I hate as I have to drink three of them to be happy). No tea spoons are provided. The fridge is large and quiet, but is full of bottles of beer and cola (0.3 beer for 80Bt) so you will have to take them away if you wish to put something like a watermelon inside. Two 0.5 bottles of water are rpovided free of charge every day.
The matrass is hard, even though mine at home is also hard, but this one was a bit too hard. The pillows were also not too comfortable - rather hard and stuffed with separate pieces of something, not one piece. The shower is in a shower cabin that is not very new. I think in Thailand it's much more pleasant to have shower on a tile floor.
The i-net speed was ok for Thailand. The sun rises from the side that has no windows in this room so the sun won't wake you up, which we liked. The aircon was rather noisy, so we could not sleep with it on. There are no mosquito nets.
I really liked the view from Palm Heights - you could lie on the bed and still see the trees and the sea.
The next day we moved to the promised Bestview apartment where we didn't stay due to the noise, but I still have some impressions. The first one was that the i-net was not working there. The staff said they shold call someone to fix it and it would take 1-2 days. All other apartments had the coverage from another source, but particularly Bestview had some problems.
The view was much higher and actually I didn't like it as when you sit on the sofa you only see the sky - no trees and the sea. And if you lie on the bed in the bedroom - you don't see anything at all as the window faces the construction site (in future the apartment next to it). Also this bedroom window faces the east, so you might be woken up by the sun, but of course there are curtains (I just don't like curtains and like to see trees out of my bedroom window). The bed was softer than in Palm Heights and the pillows were better. By the way safes in all apartments were closed (maybe they charge extra for them).
Both Palm Heights and Bestview are very hot (probably the locatin on a hill exposed to the sun all day long) so you will have to have the aircon on all the time.
The kitchen is a small boxroom with a tiny window underneath the ceiling. I wouldn't like to cook anything there or wash up. All the utencils are there including the washing up liquid and the sponge, but still no tea spoons and tiny cups. The same story with the fridge as in the Palm Heights. The water boiler here was tiny and didn't automatically stop when it finally finished boiling (it took it a while, which was strange for it's size).
There was a standing lamp in the room, but it had no bulb and the staff refused to bring one.
The terrace on the roof is an extremely hot place during the day and when we asked for a parasol, the staff refused to provide it as they get damaged by the wind.
And one last stroke. We rented a motorbike from Ban Sua first thing when we came as we like to be free, go exploring the island. It was a rather old Honda Click. The engine was working ok, could take us up a steep hill, so we thought it was ok. They wanted 200 Bt per day for it, but as we asked around it turned out other places were renting Honda Clicks for 150 Bt. So they finally agreed and we were happy until in the end of the first day we got a flat tyre. The repair shop guys told us that the tyre was very old and bold and every hole in the road can cause further damage. We paid 180 Bt for the replacement of the inner tube. The next day we decided to give the motorbike back and the Ban Sua people told us that they will charge us 200 per day as we rented it for such a short period. I was disappointed as we were endangered using such a old motorbike, but they didn't seem to care. There are many other places around where you can rent a new motorbike at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evgenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Sawasdee khap Evgenia,
thank you for your rating and comments. We understand sometimes very good is not what one is looking for when searching for perfection. Having a look at your different reviews I saw that you had difficulties finding the perfect spot in Thailand. We have large fridges not just the small ones which hotels normally have. I saw you made a mistake coke for example is just 25 Baht and beers are only between 60-80 Baht depending on the kind of beer. Sorry any misundrstanding, of course you can use a parasol anytime. As it was windy that day, staff just reminded you to take care of a parasol as the easily break when windy and must be replaced when broken, which you did not want. We are happy that you liked Palm Heights with its view. Your other room was just 3 meters higher than Palm Heights with the same seaviews, we are happy that you liked it`s mattress, unfortunately you found Palm Heights a little too hard. Although our mattresses are generally the same, we will have a look. Maybe it has been just your very personal impression of that day. We are sorry that you drove through glass resulting in a flat tyre and that repair guy from a different shop made some good money with you knowing that you are a tourist and are unfamiliar with prices and details. That is why all bikes have our telephone no. on it to avoid paying money useless. The rentals contracts describe the necessary procedures to help. Regarding the 150 Baht you mentioned, those are old half automatic ones. We do not rent those old half automatic bikes. We are located in a villa area near the famous Sandalwood luxury resort. Around us is only high end property and villas. The construction near us is a multi million dollar villa. With its 600 sqm the gorgeus villa is nearing completion as you mentioned it. We have mentioned the construction on the front page of our website as we do not have any influence on the ongoing work. This information was available during your booking which was about 2 months before your arrival. The villa should be completed end July and we will keep the information on our website till the multi million dollar villa is finished. Hopefully you can revisit us next time and look if we have gone a little further from the very good with our very low rates to the very perfect you are looking for. Thank you very much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at Ban Sua for 5 nights in April. We had 3 lovely rooms each with a fantastic view. The location was perfect for us - nice and quiet but only minutes but transport to Chaweng and Lamai. The staff were very friendly and professional. We will definitely be back.

Gordon - April 29, 2012

Room Tip: Hire a moped or car as there is a lot to explore on Samui.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

A great rental, right from the beginning all went perfect. We found Ban Sua after intense research on the net. They had the best rates and views and responded quickly to our questions. From the beginning they were very helpful as we were new to Samui. The gave us good advice. On arrival when we saw the beautiful room an seaviews we new I would be a good holiday. But even more the Thai staff with their happiness won our hearts and minds. Ban Sua is such a lovely property with much more we needed. Great value, clean and well designed rooms along with the special place and seaviews. Just beautiful.

Room Tip: Dine at the Cliff Bar and Grill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Rented a seaview rooftop terrace room for a week and it was great.

The place was cleaned every day and the water and towels were replaced, more than expected for the price and being a vacation rental.

Rented a motorbike everyday, and it is a short trip to lamai and chaweng.

Also there is a great little beach about 5 minutes walk down the hill and left towards chaweng. It is a bit of a descent though.

Overall I am very pleased, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We found our unique holiday property in Ko Samui. Ban Sua gave us what we were looking for. Our room was private, large and had nice thai design. Although it was a holiday rental we enjoyed the amenities and services they offer. So we had the hotel service we need and still had individual vacations. The thai people on the property are very lovely and gave us the feeling of being welcome. They always had a smile for us. I would especially recommend to stay at Ban Sua if you do not want to be to far from the busy areas but still enjoy relaxing on your own. Ban Sua is not far from the main areas and with the public transport in was cheap to get there. As we booked the property after reading the reviews we do agree, it is an excellent and unique place with a very good value, as their rooms are very cheap. Actually it was the cheapest ocean view room we found on the web and it was well worth the money. The owner a nice and professional guy was a good guide too, as he helped us with good recommendations what to do. Our vote is: Klaus go ahead you started a wonderful project. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mathiaswag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maret hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Cove Chalet
Coral Cove Chalet
#26 of 51 in Lamai Beach
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kala Samui
The Kala Samui
#16 of 63 in Maret
870 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#8 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Sua Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Sua Samui

Address: 5 / 7 Moo 4, Chaweng noi, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Maret
Price Range: £29 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the sole provider for roof terrace villas. Ban Sua offers unique rooms with Thai charm. All rooms feature a sea view terrace. Our villas are located in Chaweng noi above the supreme secluded beach of Coral Cove Bay right above Coral Cove chalet and beneath Sandalwood. The sea views cover a wide angle from Coral cove bay to Chaweng bay to the endless sea. The beach is 300m away from us. As well, we are located just about 800m from Samui's new golf course, the RSGCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ban Sua Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Sua Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing