We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Getaway”
Review of Ban Sua Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ban Sua Samui
Ranked #12 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Maret
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed in the Dara Roofterrace for 5 nights and overall we enjoyed our stay, but for being rated the #1 for specialty lodging in Chaweng, we expected a little more.

Some things we liked:
- great view from the rooms
- nice little balcony in our room
- nice, clean pools with a great view
- staff was very friendly (but this isn't surprising for Thailand)
- basic kitchen if you want to cook some of your own food
- there is a pretty quiet beach that is a 5 minute walk away
- car or scooter available to rent for cheap
- cool room decor as it's built into the side of a mountain

Some things that could have been improved:
- our airport transfer (arranged by Ban Sua) wasn't waiting for us when we landed
- the safe in the room costs extra
- we had a major problem with ants in the beds and on the couch (staff tried to 'spray' to solve the problem)
- there are only basic little hand towels provided - not great for showers
- no toiletries provided at all (soap, shampoo, etc)
- the location is secluded, yes, but it looks out right over a very busy road with very loud traffic
- because the location is secluded, many taxi drivers don't know where it is
- the villas are located up a very steep hill and many taxis charge extra to go up the hill, or won't pick you up at all if you describe where you want to go
- the rooftop terraces aren't private, except for the very top villa, so everyone else looks down on your terrace
- the breakfast was pretty basic and is not included in the price

In the end, if we were to go back to Samui, we would choose to stay somewhere else. Maybe pay a little bit more to get much more value for our money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephanFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanSua, Owner at Ban Sua Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear StephanFH,
thank very much for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed our great views and your holidays with us. I would like to give some additional information to help the reader. I know that we have many guests coming to us, who stay in much more expensive high category hotels normally, as our standards of our specialty lodging are quite high as well. With our prices starting from as low as just around 1150 Baht we want to stay the most affordable and cheapest seaview lodging in Samui. There are enough expensive seaview resorts nowadays and we do not want our guests to pay much more to get a little more. Normal panoramic seaview properties start at 4000 Baht, but I guess value and not the amount of money paid is the most important thing for guests.
That is why the most expensive resorts might not be rated at the highest ranks everytime. On the other hand there is everytime a place were one can spend much more ending up with same guest feedback.
We think life and holidays especially are not about money only. We offer real thai hospitality in a private atmosphere and are happy that you mentioned our very nice staff. They are real Thais and no cheap burmese staff, who need to work at many hotels normally. We find it quite bizarre that many Samui visitors actually stay in a burmese hotel in Thailand and wonder why they do not get smiles even in high class hotel, not knowing that these employees are not getting sufficient salary many times. We want fair tourism, pay our employees adequately and still offer our guests the most affordable rates, large rooms and self catering capabilities.
We are happy that so many guests share our philosophy of affordable holidays in a private home atmosphere with unbelievable beautiful seaviews.
As our properties are set in a tropical surrounding next to luxury villas and high end resorts and many of our rooms, such as yours have kitchens too, I would like to point out some important things for people who do not have a tropical home. Insects are food hunters and if you leave any food or soft drinks unattended, or eat some sweets or chips on the couch or bed, they will find the rest of it and tell it to their friends. So please just keep clean, especially if you got your own kitchen. If you forgot it, do not worry a little repellant spray will help and remind you to keep clean next time.
I would like to address privacy too. We do have 10 bungalows only and offer two infinity pools. As such you have a privacy, which many luxury resorts cannot provide. Dara roof terrace is our third highest roof terrace bungalow. While this is already very small number, mathematically only 2 rooms could have a look at Dara`s roof terrace. If one those guests has chosen to be on the terrace at the same time as you, you would need to turn 120 degree to your right, look back at this guest in 10 meters distance from your roof terrace, seeing this one guest enjoying his seaviews, while you enjoy looking at a guest terrace one your far right wing. Another comment from guests, who looked for privacy as they were on honeymoon might be a less technical description than mine and is giving an impressive understanding of our privacy: „Privacy is ample and hospitality excellent. Although we rarely saw any of the staff on the property, they were always available and accessible to assist with anything.“
Yes, they are not talking of a 5 star prices property, our property offers rates starting from around 1150 Baht and of course we got large towels too.
We hope to have given useful additional information for a better understanding of our seaview getaway. There is accommodation for every expectation in Samui and we offer the most affordable property with private seaview villas in true tropical surrounding and authentic thai atmosphere next to Samui`s best luxury villas and resorts, such as the well known Sandalwood villas. Our speciality lodging philosophy is get more value, pay less and we want to keep prices low for the favour of our beloved guests. We do offer and prefer private holiday homes instead of the classic hotel rooms of the old package holidays era. Thanks you very much for staying with us.
Sawadee,
Klaus & your Ban Sua Samui team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

We booked last minute and stayed 3 nights in the Rocks room, the only one available. There was no rooftop terrace with this room, but one of the infinity pools was right out front and it felt like our own private pool as we never saw anyone else there. The views are amazing, the staff wonderful and responsive. The resort is up quite a steep hill that some taxis and tour vans won't go up, so be prepared to walk and climb steps. If you rent a scooter (which we did) be sure to get one with a 125cc engine or so as our smaller one would not make it all the way up and we had to walk it the end part. We were really happy with the location between Lamai and Chaweng, only a few minutes to each, but nice and quiet at the resort. There is no beach at Ban Sua, but the one across the street at Coral Cove was not so busy and had some rocks that were fun to jump off of. Overall, a great value. Would love to go back and stay in one of the larger rooms with a rooftop terrace!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skygirl213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We holidayed in the Loma Roofterrace apartment, for 5 nights - 27Dec'12 - 01Jan'13....it was brilliant. The views were stunning, the weather was perfect and the service was excellent! We had 5 star treatment and accommodation, but paid 3 star rates! The staff were soooo accommodating and friendly. Always happy to please. We hired scooters for all the time we were there, without a problem. The Chaweng town centre is roughly 7 - 10 minutes away, where you can enjoy good shopping, and great quality, food, at cheap prices!
Sadly on our 2nd to last day, we discovered the Jungle Massage, a short 3 minute, steep walk up the road, towards Sandalwood Villas. Owned and operated by a beautiful lady, called Jonpur (not sure of spelling). So as not to miss out, we booked in to have manicures, foot scrubs and full body massages done, on the day and the next, before we left Koh Samui on 1Jan'13! Jonpur is so lovely, always smiling.
When visiting Koh Samui again, will definitely return to stay here. Thanks Klaus, Nok and Mam

Room Tip: We had perfect views from our bedroom.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donna_jerry371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We rented one of the rooftop villas for our Honeymoon. The language barrier with the wonderful, friendly staff, just contributes so much more to the Thailand experience, they definitely know how the run self catering units. Privacy is ample and hospitality excellent. Although we rarely saw any of the staff on the property, they were always available and accessible to assist with anything. Definitely value for money..

This property with breathtaking views, friendly staff and neat rooms is 10 minutes from the anything you need. The location cannot be better as the it is a stone throw from a golf course and the beach, but still secluded and away from any main tourist routes. One can quickly change that, as it is only +-3 kilometers from Chaweng and +-2km from Lamai. The biggest Tesco's on the island is also near Ban Sua.

When we are going to Koh Samui again, I will not be looking for accommodation, cause I already know where to find it. Thanks Ban Sua for contributing to an excellent honeymoon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CorFBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed in Ban Sua apartments for 3 nights and everything was excellent.
They have really nice view from everywhere - from bedroom, balcony and from the pool.
Location is ok - not far from popular places but in quite area

Room Tip: You will need a bike or a car - they located on a really big hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arturclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Had a great 8 night stay at Ban Sua was like having a private villa of our own. The staff were brilliant alway there when you needed them with a smile .We hired a Honda from the hotel for a week for 4 pound a day which was great .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chealySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

A property with great views and wonderful staff. We had the Long Life rocktop room which was excellent, it was well designed, spacious and perfectly fitted in the tropical surrounding. Especially we fall in love with its big terrace which is partly covered by a Sala, so we could use it during the rain and during sunshine. The terrace was a great place to relax and enjoy their views. Their two pools are not far away from the room too and we loved switching the pools from time to time as they are set on different levels and have stunning seaviews. We will be back and can really recommend Long Life. Thank you Ban Sua, you made our holidays perfect.

Room Tip: Long Life Rocktop terrace is designed very well and has a large seaview terrace too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wecztom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maret hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
0.1 mi away
The Kala Samui
The Kala Samui
#15 of 63 in Maret
867 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,432 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#6 of 51 in Lamai Beach
718 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 51 in Lamai Beach
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Sua Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Sua Samui

Address: 5 / 7 Moo 4, Chaweng noi, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Maret
Price Range: £30 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the sole provider for roof terrace villas. Ban Sua offers unique rooms with Thai charm. All rooms feature a sea view terrace. Our villas are located in Chaweng noi above the supreme secluded beach of Coral Cove Bay right above Coral Cove chalet and beneath Sandalwood. The sea views cover a wide angle from Coral cove bay to Chaweng bay to the endless sea. The beach is 300m away from us. As well, we are located just about 800m from Samui's new golf course, the RSGCC. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ban Sua Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing