We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maret
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Samui Beach Village Resort
Ranked #53 of 74 Maret B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had stayed at pool villa here a few years ago and loved the quiet location, beautiful empty of people beach and hot shallow water. Easy walks to local restaurants and a daily walk to relax massage parlor where 4 ladies give wonderful inexpensive massages under a thatched roof open sided building
We went back this year to what we thought was a new motel unit added in our 5 year absence. The motel unit is part of the cheap looking next door resort. The interior of the room is as inferior as the surrounding resort whose rooms must cost a lot less than what we payed.
There is a restaurant attached now but it serves very mediocre tourist food, bland by all standards. The beach, on windy days has become the number one windsurfing spot for the island. Fine if you are windsurfing, hazardous otherwise from novice windsurfers.
The resort grounds are not landscaped and the beach was only cleaned when the owners appeared for a visit.

Room Tip: If you must stay in the motel, get the corner upstairs room overlooking the beach. Your shared plung...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Samui Beach Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at two villas at S B V in late Feb 2013. Both overall were excellent.
I’ll start with some general comments/info on S B V
Good stuff
• Local Thai staff were all excellent and could not do enough for us
• The pools were cleaned and the garden area’s swept for fallen leaves every morning. The house keeping staff were fantastic (so friendly) and three or four of them turned up each morning to blitz the villas. This was great as it meant that if you were in the villa the cleaning was completed in less than 30 minutes with minimal inconvenience.
• Our deal had breakfast included and it was overall pretty good. Its buffet style and includes Egg/omelet chef on hand, passable bacon, fairly good sausages (pork not Chicken!), fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, toast and more.
• The local staff fell over backwards to get our villa ready for us even though we arrived a couple of hours before check in. Much appreciated after a long set of flights!
• We used the taxi service extensively and whilst you pay a higher price than you can negotiate with local taxis the cars always arrived, were clean and the local drivers didn’t drive like locals.
• The club house restaurant/bar is good (though you will soon tire of the menu if you go regularly) The beer is cold and the food of good quality. Again local staff are excellent and we had no issues with wrong orders/late food as some other reviewers have commented on in the past.
• The Thai cooking night was fantastic and the lady who walked us through the dishes was great
• I didn’t partake but my brother and sister in law both said that the massages were fantastic
• The beach is less than 100 meters from even the furthest of the villas

Things that can be improved/stuff to be aware of
• As I understand it, the villas are all privately owned and for a number of days work was being carried out on two villas close to the ones that we were renting. It wasn’t too bad when the work was inside, but when the workmen started to work on the outside the noise and worse the dust caused considerable annoyance (dust from an angle grinder covered our pool area for most of a day). When I complained to the reception staff we were told that as it was the villa’s owner managing the work and not S B V staff they couldn’t do anything about it.
• This one is going to be controversial, and I guess it can happen at any “complex”…..However whoever said that Hell is other people was right – In our case, several villas were rented to a wedding party of 20+. Other than being slightly intimidating they were mostly OK during the day (providing you got to the omelet bar before the morning rush). However at night things often seemed to be less calm. I would personally like to thank the two older ladies in the wedding party (I think mothers of the groom and bride) for the fantastic northern fish wives show that they put on for everyone on the beach one night. It was like a bad episode of Corrie swearing at each other for some perceived insult. Anyhow, my point is that you may want to ask if any large groups are booked for the same time that you are thinking of staying. If the answer is yes then as a precaution stay away.
• The English owners/managers – How do I put this…..They were abroad for most of our stay but on the few days that we did see them they tended to ignore the guests to concentrate on talking loudly in the bar area to various suppliers/agents (more on this under value for money below). I guess if they are the owners then they can run their business any way they like but…….
• Minor thing. our per-ordered shopping didn’t arrive. When we queried it we were told that the email attachment with the list was corrupted. That’s fine, it happens but wouldn’t it have been a reasonable idea to query with us when we checked in what was in the corrupted attachment and not leave it to us to chase.
• I saw a clean-up crew on the beach once whilst we were on site. They may have come more than the once that I saw them but however often they come it’s not enough. There is a fair amount of junk washed up on to the beach every day, it needs to be cleaned every day in the same way as the pools and gardens are tended every day. Also loads of oil on the beach (think 70' and 80's UK beaches). We ruined several sets of the baby's swim kit. I suspect that this is not an issue local to the S B V beach and probably affects the whole island but be warned.
• No shade on the beach – Some is needed. Loungers are available but why no umbrellas?

Beach Village House
During our first week we booked a four bed villa (Beach Village House) along with my wife’s sister & husband plus my mother in law. The villa was clean and well maintained (though it’s not too far off needing refurbishment). The pool area is wonderfully shady and the pool well maintained. The house is gorgeous and looks stunning day and night.
My only criticisms would be:
• The air conditioning works brilliantly but is very noisy particularly at night
• According to my sister in law the shower in the extension bedroom ceased to work if someone in the main house turned on a tap.
• Only book this one if you like a firm mattress!

Ban Chan C h a i (sorry if the spelling is incorrect)
Once my brother, sister and mother in laws had departed we rented this two bed villa. I would judge that it has very recently been re-furbished and is decorated in a slightly more modern style (white tile floor & kitchen rather than wood) than the Beach Village house though is equally stunning. The design of the outside is less secluded/sheltered so if you burn easily this is probably not the house for you. However it’s perfect for sun worshipers. The only other thing that springs to mind is that none of the wash basins have hot water. Not an issue in 30c heat unless you need to shave.

Value for money……
This is a tough one. I would recommend either of the two villas that we stayed but not at the price you will be quoted upon first contact. I can however furnish readers with an interesting piece of info that should help you negotiate. On the morning of 27th or 28th of Feb 2013 one of the English owners/managers (I don’t know which as he never introduced himself) was conducting one of his breakfast meetings with a couple of travel people. He told his breakfast guests that despite the current deal of 20% off plus all meals included the complex has particularly low occupancy in the coming months and that he is keen to get more bookings. I would suggest that you haggle hard ;-)

Room Tip: Occupancy is low - Haggle hard
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed in a 4 bedroom villa at Samui Beach Village for 4 nights.

The nice thing about the stay was the villa itself. It was quite nice looking on the inside, and had a private pool. Unfortunately, the positives ended there.

There were a lot more negatives:
* Not close to anything. If you're going to stay here you probably need to rent a scooter or a car, and that is dangerous on Samui (we flew out with someone bandaged up from crashing a scooter). To travel anywhere else on the island is a 500-700 baht cost via the hotel shuttle.
* The beds are HARD -- so hard it was challenging to sleep. One member of our group slept on the couch each night because it was a softer option.
* The low-level staff was generally great, but the management was not. There were several challenges during our stay which the management was not quick to respond or offer solutions to. But they had booked up several appointments for themselves in the spa when we were trying to schedule a massage!
* There was a "zoo" onsite that looked like it could be a documentary on how to be cruel to animals. Tigers in tiny cages, monkeys, otters with minimal water -- it was really horrible.
* Laundry is available but unpredictable and expensive. We had to track our clothes down to get it back.
* Price - the hotel was expensive.

There has to be somewhere else better on the island to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We recently spent a few nights at Samui Beach Village to celebrate my 50th BDay in Oct 2012. We stayed in an upstairs 2 bedroom apartment with our own private pool & easy access to the beach. We were a family of 4 and this restort was ideal. Its just a short stroll across to the open zoo and aquarium. We had our daily cooked buffet breakfast which was very nice. Our room was quite a long way from reception and the main road which was really nice. The courtesy Golf buggy would take us to an from reception each day with no trouble at all. The private pool is fantastic. There was no-one in the apartment below us so we have exclusive use of our own pool. On my birthday they decorated our bed full of Red rose petals and swans made out of hand towels in the shape of heart, beautiful flowers it was just such a wonderful surprise to come back to after a day out. The ladies who did our massge in the spa centre was excellent. The amibience is to die for. A definate must at a very affordable price. The staff are so friendly and very helpful. Higly recommend this resort to family and couples.

Room Tip: Families I recommend you choose the 2 bedroom apartments which have a look out to the beach & yo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The restaurant food was really lovely, and the staff very friendly.
The kids loved the pools, which we had pretty much to ourselves because it was low season. Having a pool to ourselves was great too - the adults could sit and read while the kids splashed to their hearts' content.
The beach is shallow for miles, and pretty flat so again it was really safe for the girls.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SG0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed in a villa at Samui Beach Village resort for 6 nights in July. Two families with children ranging from ages 3 to 12 shared the villa. There were 10 of us in total.

The positives:
- it was a beautiful villa with our own pool
- food from the resort restaurant was excellent, even if they often got our orders muddled up!
- the staff onsite were lovely

Unfortunately the negatives will keep us away and means we will definitely not recommend Samui Beach Village:
-they do not provide any free drinking water. Instead you have to purchase bottled water at a ridiculous price (100 baht when the exact same water sells for 15 baht at the family mart) OR go outside the village and carry it back(a lot of water for 10 people/day)

-there are dogs everywhere. They are all over the beach and wander in and out of the villas. They slept and mated on our doorstep and we could not shoo them away. With rabies as a problem in Thailand, this is a concern for families with children.

-breakfast while delivered by 2 smiling Thai women, was disappointing. It consisted of old pastries, cordial for orange juice, fruit that was not fresh(watermelon and papaya everyday, no variety), sugary cereals we had to hide from our children, white bread and even rancid butter!

-a noisy air conditioner in one room which was never fixed. This is perhaps our greatest dissappointment. Having paid a premium price for this villa, we asked if something could be done about our air con as intermittently it revved up, sounding like a jet plane in the middle of the night! After a couple of days delay, staff tried to fix it but without success. They then brought in tradesmen who worked tirelessly to repair it but it still rattled loudly at night. We had 6 nights of poor sleep on our much anticipated holiday with friends. They would not allow us to move to another villa or offer any compensation other than a bottle of wine.

-it is quite remote. Lovely to relax away from the main town noise but difficult to get anywhere unless you pay for their overpriced resort bus.

In summary, a pretty place but I would recommend you look elsewhere if you want value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robyn738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

If you are thinking of booking a holiday at SBV, I would strongly recommend you keep looking. 
We reserved a villa, paid for it and it was confirmed, but we later discovered we were actually booked into a different villa.    When we noticed this several weeks prior to arrival we were assured the villa we were assigned was equivalent in all respects, with a 3 king bedroom, etc. (this was important to us since we were three couples).  When we arrived, to our dismay our villa had 2 king beds and a two twin bedroom, which my wife and I ended up with. Needless to say we were quite disappointed with our accommodations.  Clearly, but the management was blatantly dishonest. 
Besides dishonesty, there were several other issues.  The beach was not a beach and the website is misleading (but that now seems in character).  At the time of year, July, the water is very low and the beach is simply a large boggy area unsuitable for use as a beach for swimming or sunning, and it is effectively abandoned. The closest real beach is a 20 minute ride away, and the SBV shuttle operates only twice per day, which we found inconvenient so we ended up paying for taxis.
The gym has a bicycle and one or two other machines that were, and most probably still are, out of order. The air conditioner is turned off, so even the bike is rather unusable. 
The WiFi was unreliable.  If you are lucky enough to log on, you might get one or two minutes connect time before the line drops. So, best not to count on having it at all.
The food manger was very friendly and accommodating, but the other staff far less so.
We ordered some food that was to be purchased for us from the local market, but when delivered the vegetables were rotten. 
All in all, we could have done far better had we done some deeper research, but the website looked so nice. We were sold one thing and what we got was something altogether different.  Don't make the same mistake we made!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Uot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maret
0.3 mi away
X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Shiva Samui
Shiva Samui
#1 of 2 in Laem Set
637 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fisherman's Chalet
The Fisherman's Chalet
#28 of 81 in Maret
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ananas Hostel Koh Samui
Ananas Hostel Koh Samui
#10 of 81 in Maret
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Satva Samui
Satva Samui
#2 of 81 in Maret
103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Three Trees Samui Resort
Three Trees Samui Resort
#7 of 46 in Lamai Beach
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Beach Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Beach Village Resort

Address: 444 / 3 Moo 1, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Maret
Price Range: £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Beach Village Resort’s magnificent tropical location offers 4 star accommodations directly along a stretch of pristine white sandy beach at Koh Samui. A stunning beachfront complex, Samui Beach Resort complements our Luxury Villa Collection and caters to all guest budgets without compromising our 5 star service. Set in extensive lush tropical gardens, stretching as far as the eye can see, the beach resort and its Ocean Rooms sit directly on the beachfront, making us your perfect beach resort holiday destination.Our resort has everything you need to facilitate a great vacation including our Orchid Restaurant & Bar as well as a massive 60 meter beach front resort swimming pool surrounded by thatched Thai salas and sun-loungers, both of which sit along the beach for magnificent views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Village Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing