We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Manita a little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Manita Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Maret
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand Manita a little gem”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

booked my whole family into villas here and was not sure what we'd find but it was fantastic. The place has beautiful gardens, tended to by smiling staff every day. The Villas are really spacious and clean (though the open air showers do let the ants and bugs in at night). There is even a decent mini bar in the room and free bottled water appears daily.

The family that runs the place is lovely and do a pretty mean breakfast for a very good per night price. Lamai beach is lovely, white sands and there is a very cool cheap and cheerful restaurant right on the beach about 2 mins from Grand Manita. It's close to Beach Republic too which is a cool, more lively resort if you want some good food, music and a bit of dancing

Room Tip: the villas are the best rooms, each have their own balcony...I wouldn't bother paying extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassyaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    34
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
santa monica, ca
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just enjoyed a very pleasant stay at Grand Manita.

Booked the hotel because the beachfront bungalow was available, and the room was everything I had hoped it would be - plus a good view of the ocean from inside the room (some bungalows are near the beach but don't have ocean-facing windows like this one).

The bungalows have quite nice balconies with table and chairs. Fantastic for relaxing or escaping the rain, depending on what time of year you visit.

Slept quite well on the large, comfortable bed. Plenty of desk and storage space. Made good use of the mini-fride. And the "outdoor" (but still somewhat shielded from the outdoors) bathroom was sufficiently nice. Everything was in good shape and well taken care of.

Liked the pool (with good perches for ocean viewing), the grounds, and the fact that the staff would make us iced coffee if we asked (during breakfast hours). Also, the WiFi worked well everywhere we tried it.

Absolutely a nice hotel with friendly staff and a good stay. The hotel staff also was willing to play "airport shuttle" back to USM for a reasonably lower rate than a taxi would charge. Can't vouch for the breakfast, as I'm certainly not a morning person.

A few drawbacks, which are no fault of the hotel or staff...

There's not much beach around the hotel - it's a relatively thin strip of sand, depending on the tide - and it's not the best area of Lamai for lounging or swimming. Not bad, but not a wide expanse of white sand if that's what you're after.

The location is a 20-minute walk from Lamai proper, and quite sleepy. If you want seclusion, this is great. If you want to go into town often, you'll spend a lot of time walking (or it's worth renting a bike/car).

No on-site restaurant, fitness center, etc, if that's important to you. Other than breakfast, it seems that things shut up shop in the off-season. There is/was a building near the pool that looked like it could be a day/evening bar, but it was not open or in use during May (low season).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idonotlikeliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We moved to this hotel after staying in a hotel closer to Chaweng with awful service.

We were excited to be welcomed by a warm and very friendly receptionist. Since we arrived early and before our room was cleaned, she gave us beach towels and we headed to the pool and beach. The hotel is right on a very calm part of the beach and its basically like having a private beach for yourself.

The beach in Chaweng was crowded and very wavy. The water here in Lamai was very calm.

We stayed in a room and not a bungalow. It was very cute and we had little welcome shaped elephant towels. Its a standard room, with the bed a little hard but not unbearable compared to other places.

The grounds were well maintained and very nice.

Buffet breakfast was really only different types of eggs made to order with bacon and ham. There was bread, oatmeal and cereal available as well.

Lamai is quieter than Chaweng and the hotel is close to a few restaurants but not in the heart of Lamai.

We rented a scooter from the front desk for 200 baht/day which was pretty good.

The staff also helped us to book a taxi back to the ferry and were very welcoming and nice.

We ordered some drinks and food at the pool and it was good and reasonably cheap.

Overall we liked the hotel a lot and found the staff to be very nice to us.

Room Tip: Bungalows have an outdoor washroom whereas standard rooms do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahhin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonthaburi Province, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Breakfast service is made to orders, the menu is limit as bacon, omelet and eggs. You can only order one at a time no more than that, short hair waitress has bad sense of service with impolite behavior to the customers.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pong3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We booked this hotel for a week on a flash deal on a hotel booking site so got it for a snip. We stayed in a room not a bungalow and it was fine. Large room, huge bed, large bathroom,,tv , aircon, water daily and cleaned everyday. The huge balcony overlooked the beautifully kept gardens which really is it's selling point apart from a pool,and being right on the beach! Unfortunately due to bad weather there was virtually no beach when we first arrived but it improved as the week went on.
It's a good 30 minute walk along a busy road to Lamai and a lot further to Lamai centre. There are a few nice little Thai places to eat along the road, try Imchai on the right going toward Lamai. If you are looking for total peace and quiet the hotel is wonderful. We did however get the impression that it wasnt quite 'open' but was readying itself for the Xmas rush. staff were not over friendly but as we didn't want anything from them it didn't matter. Check in fine, check out fine..All in all a nice peaceful little hotel in a beachfront location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Had a great relaxing time at the grand manita . The rooms were big and comfortable and the outsde bathroom unusual for me but added to the thai feel of this resort.The pool area was also great and was always cleaned first thing on a morning which i witnessed myself.The gardens were really well maintained by the staff .Location wise even though not in the center of lamai there was restaurants within walking distance and a couple of family mart supermarkets 5 mins each side of the resort and lamai itself is only 20 min walk or 100 baht taxi ride away.Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: villas are a bargain for what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chealySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warszawa, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The best place to stay in Koh Samui. I spent there 12 wonderful days with my family. We were in a real paradise! Located in the end of Lamai beach, 10 minuntes walk from the centre of this part of the island. Placed right on the beach! Very nice hotel, rooms look exactly the same like on the photos on the website. They're really comfortable and so in thai style which is amazing 'cause you feel this tropical paradise everywhere, it's not another huge hotel with typical boring room's design. Pool is great, you can always find a free sunbed. There's no problem with beach towels - very friendly stuff brings you new ones to your room every day. Breakfast is very tasty, always fresh fruits, cereals, musli, toasts, eggs, yummy! There are a lot of reastaurants around Grand Manita. I really recommend it!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ala F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maret hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Manita Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Manita Beach Resort

Property: Grand Manita Beach Resort
Address: 146/58 Moo 4, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Manita Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Manita Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Manita Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing