We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have a rest and nobody care about”
Review of Amity Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amity Place
Ranked #43 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Maret
Reviewed 1 March 2014

South side of Lamai Beach is not crowded. Nice place just for peanuts. Ask smith in a new building. It is max 50 m from the sea.
Bungallows are also available. And one new is in front of the sea (just 20m).
Birds wake you up in the morning.
Famous Hin Tai & Hin Yai and post card views are in few steps from.
Just one point - no breakfast, hotel cafe has unpredictable schedule. But there are plenty around with really nice kitchen and different grade. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: If staying in apartment ask for 105 (second flour and nearly sea view) Just 50 m to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ams2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

I really liked the Amity Bungalows. Lovely rooms (the white rooms). Nice location on an excellent beach, with some of the least polluted water in Lamai, and perhaps the only spot I would swim without fear of a major infection or sickness, as the water in Samui is very, very polluted with sewage, due to the authorities completely dropping the ball. The only issue I had, is with the wifi. But, that seems to be a nationwide epidemic in Thailand. It is so hard to find good wifi in this country. What the owners appeared to have done, is what most others do. They lose sight of the forest beyond the trees. They hire a kid to do the work, as the labor costs are lower. Then they decide to keep costs down by investing in the lowest quality modems, wireless bridges, ethernet devices, antennas, etc. This of course results in years, and years of frustration for their guests, due to a dreadful internet connection. Fortunately I had 3G on all of my devices. I could not stay connected for more than 15 minutes at a time. For the owners to spend as much as they did on the new bungalows, only to skimp on the wifi is a complete shame.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mark0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great and friendly staff. Clean and affordable rooms, we stayed in the white buildings upstairs. 10 Minute walk along the beach into Lamai and restaurant staff were very friendly and great food. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Chalet just located just few meters to the beach. Room accommodations are good and acceptable. Price acceptable. A bit disappoint with the road entering into the chalet area, not smooth and not properly maintained, quite muddy during raining. Overall up to expectation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We discovered this place completely by accident on Koh Samui but were very glad we did. There are several types of accommodation on offer ranging from budget bungalows at 700 Baht per night up to 1,200 for the newer hotel-style accommodation. The place was clean, well-laid out, and very near to the beach. We also rented a scooter from here which was really good value. Amity is a short walk from the main area of Lamai including the Grandmother and Grandfather rock viewpoint.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I find this resort quite expensive, for a price of 700 baht, the room is very basic, queen size bed, air-con, wi-fi, private toilet with hot/cold water but it's not beach front and far from the center of Lamai. he only thing I like about this resort is the staff,, they are very warm and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlowerGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

I really like it here, the price is good, even the cheap rooms are clean with towels and water bottles. The restaurant is nice and generally, it's a friendly simple place, on an island covered with expensive resorts.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maret hotels
0.6 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#14 of 51 in Lamai Beach
575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Place
Sea Breeze Place
#46 of 62 in Maret
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
1,671 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Beach Villas
Cinnamon Beach Villas
#10 of 77 in Maret
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bill Resort
Bill Resort
#40 of 51 in Lamai Beach
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Place

Address: 125/3 Moo 3, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Amity Bungalow)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Maret
Price Range: £14 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amity Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amity Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amity Place Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing