We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropical Palm Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$323
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$641
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thai House Beach Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamai Wanta(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centara Villas Samui(Maret)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Am Samui Palace(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sallamai Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kala Samui(Maret)(Great Value!)
US$592
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$12
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
208
27
4
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
27
4
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager pauldays travellingwedding grouparranging transportthai ladiesair cona great stayclean roomsswimming poolexcellent hotelgood sizea lovely place to staycurrieslamai beachnuairportisland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel was brilliant the staff were really lovely they chatted and smiled all day long. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from town which was great for us as we wanted peace and quiet while still being able to head out for tea or a few drinks although the food at the hotel was brilliant and they will make you anything you like. It is about a 15 minute walk to the beach but it is worth the walk ask the ladies at the hotel where to go, they told us about the little quiet beach which is abit closer and is was lovely really quiet and out the way of all the beach bar. We stay here for 10 days and I cud have honestly stayed longer as I loved it I would defiantly stay again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent our first week out of a month in Thailand at Tropical Palm. We bookd based on the great reviews. It is indeed a lovely place, and though not a luxury resort the staff works very hard to please. And the price is a HUGE value for money. Since it's set a bit out of the way of the city, Paul and Dave, the owners, will run you down to town or to the supermarket to get anything you might need. The place is extremely clean, and the pool is big and refreshing with plenty of sunbeds.

A few clarifications and tips:

- It is under the B&B category but it's not - and it doesn't include breakfast. Breakfast is about $5 US, so not too bad but good to know. The food at the restaurant is nice and not expensive, but you might want to venture out for some variety. YOU MUST TRY Romantic Bamboo - see a separate review

- The bed was very hard the first night and when we said something the next day they brought us a mattress topper that made it much more comfortable

- If we weren't there with a baby we definitely would have rented the inexpensive Mopeds from the front desk

- Rooms are equipped with refrigerators so stock up on snacks and drinks

- Best to arrange airport transfer through the hotel - many taxi drivers don't know where it is

- Paul likes Cadbury Chocolate which you can't get in Thailand, so bring him a bit as a nce token :)

- The rooms are spacious but no frills. Only for TV stations.

- Wifi works great!!

- Bring cash because if you settle your bill with a credit card there's a 5% surcharge

Room Tip: All rooms are identical (the bottom floor has slightly bigger bathrooms) and they all have balconies facing the pool which is a nice perk.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ohdonnaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Not long returned from my our fourth stay here in about 2 years and good to see nothing has changed. Still the same excellent service and hospitality. Sorry to see that Ya has left but she has gone onto things better suited for herself and I wish her well. In saying this, Pen has done a grand job of stepping up and along with her new helper, they seem to be keeping the same high standards of housekeeping. Nou and the rest of the team were as excellent as always. An added bonus was also to see the return some of friends that we had made out here on a previous stay.

If you're looking for a quality place that's friendly, quiet but not far from the hussle & bussle of town if you want it, you won't go far wrong here! Keep up the good work and see you all again soon guys!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_P_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Just come back from 12 nights in The Tropical Palm and found it to be just as we expected - not many places you can say that about. Nothing we can say that hasn't already been said over and over again. Dave, Paul (owners) and staff will go out of their way to help. Always happy - the girls are always giggling and laughing. Whenever we wanted a lift to or from the town/beach we were always accommodated - until we had the freedom of a scooter, which was another great experience. Would definitely go there again. Jan and Nigel

Room Tip: We had room 215 - upstairs - which had lovely view of the mountains above the rooftops.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanandNigelcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Tropical palm is located just outside of Lamai (about a 10 minute car drive) and it is very easy to get in to town either by hiring a moped or the owner runs a pick up and drop off service which was very nice and helpful. All the staff at the hotel were very nice and helpful, even booked our onwards tickets to the next island for us. The rooms are big and clean And tidy. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in this area of Koh Samui. Excellent hotel and very good value.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank alichase_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews