We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad trip in Lamai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Palm Resort
Ranked #4 of 77 Maret B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Horrible stay in Lamai, dogs around us at the restaurant, rooms are not clean.
Very far from everything, don't expect to walk to the beach, 45 minute...
One of our worst experience in Lamai
Please avoid

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just had 4 nights here.If you like casual.quiet and friendly this is a great place.Easy half hour walk to town& beach or Paul is more than willing to drive you.If you have any problems don't hesitate to speak to Paul,he is a great person!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judycowra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a great stay at the Tropical Palms, the owners/management and the other staff there are very helpful and the place is clean, well managed and excellent value for money. The resort is about 30 mins walk from the main beach area, something we did not try. But they do give free pick up and drops to the Lamai beach, which works well. Make sure you hire a bike/scooter to make the most out of your trip to Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aditya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Only been here one night so far and it's amazing. All staff happy to help no matter what the issue. Definitely recommend. Pool much cleaner than others we have been to. Lovely and relaxed. A bit out of the way but lifts into lamai are frequently offered!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lizzierobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It is very relaxing with very clean rooms and a lovely swimming pool.

As others have said previously, yes the location is a little far out but you can walk (15 mins) or Paul the owner provides a free service into town or wherever you need to be which is fantastic. We hired scooters so we were able to get about whenever we needed to.

Paul was very good to us, very friendly and gave us advice on where to go / where to eat etc. He also made sure my mum's shuttle bus to the airport was definitely on its way and generally helped us out.

All in all, we would highly recommend this hotel, it possesses a very relaxed atmosphere with outstanding owners and staff.

Thank you to Paul for your hospitality and service. We will more than likely be back in the future! Colette and Emily (and Ben the tagalong).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My stay there was so nice!
First, it wasn't crowded because of low season so I sometimes had a interesting talk to owner and my time feels like luxury. This hotel is a little far from the centre, but it's just 15 mins walk or 5 mins free pick-up. At the night, neighbourhood is too dark to see anything and there are some dogs (no idea if owned or wild), so if you go out by yourself you should be careful. And I didn't care how hard or soft the bed is like a person posted so, it was fine for me. In addition to the Thai women who work there look so happy and a lot of smile :)
At last, wi-fi is perfect!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 365Lily221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Very out of the way. We walked in the day which was fine but wouldn't want to walk at night as roads are unlit and there are many dogs. Dave the owner was great and drove us to and from town but that service finishes at 8pm and then it gets pricey in a taxi.

They have a very cute dog that walked round the quiet roads with us and made me feel safe- so thank you!

Food was lovely as was the pool. Rooms were basic but clean with good wifi.

All in all great value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlie1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maret
1.2 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
331 reviews
2 mi away
Palm Coco Mantra
Palm Coco Mantra
#1 of 45 in Lamai Beach
308 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ampha Place Hotel
Ampha Place Hotel
#1 of 35 in Mae Nam
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
CoconutsPalm Resort
CoconutsPalm Resort
#4 of 45 in Lamai Beach
99 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Spa Garden Samui
The Spa Garden Samui
#7 of 77 in Maret
71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Samui Pink House
Samui Pink House
#3 of 45 in Lamai Beach
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Palm Resort

Address: 23/2 Moo 6, Maret, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Maret
Price Range: £29 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Palm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tropical Palm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Palm Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing