We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Special rate available
Booking.com
£61
Breakfast included
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
£59
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
markgchef
Arlesey, United Kingdom
Absolutely Wonderful
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Feb 2013
We have just returned after a 2 week stay in the Centara Villas in Samui. We are so relaxed and chilled out after our holiday there, it is difficult getting back into 'normal' life again!

A couple of things may need clarifying, based on other reviews of this marvellous place. This part of Samui is very quiet. For us, that was a bonus but some people don't seem to have read any reviews and then get upset when they get here. Secondly, there are steps here as the complex is built on a hill sloping down to the sea. It is not Mount Everest, they are small sections of well constructed steps that are not too steep, and it maybe a good thing to have a little exercise if you spent your holiday in a similar manor to us! On a serious note, if you have accessibility issues, you may need to consider somewhere else.

We arrived about 9.30am after a night flight and I thought we may be kept waiting for ages for our room, but the wait was 30 minutes maximum, which was most welcome. Our room was a standard villa but it had a much larger terrace with two sun beds, which was very useful, we also had a great view of the sea (Villa 110) It would be fair to say that the interior, whilst spotlessly clean, was getting a bit tired and would soon be in need for a little TLC, but it wasn't a real negative.
One of the charms of the resort is the staff, all of whom were so helpful, polite and always smiling. They will do whatever they can to help you.
We were on a B&B basis and the breakfast was superb. Great choice of styles (Thai, English, Continental) great selection of fruits and breads and eggs cooked to order.
There are two bars in the hotel and they have Happy hour twice a day. 1-2pm and 6-7pm where you get two for the price of one, very handy. Drinks, like most hotels are more expensive in the hotel than outside bars and restaurants. They have to add vat and service so it does bump it up.
One thing that I didn't see on other reviews was that fact that around both bars, one is located in the lobby, the other is in the restaurant next to the beach, have FREE WiFi. That was a great surprise and very useful. The signal is so strong in the restaurant that I easily picked it up from my subbed on the beach!! Well done Centara for this.
The beach was fantastic with plenty of beds for all and attendants that would place your umbrella exactly where you wanted it, and you do need one, the sun is very strong here.

The three pools in the resort are a real treat also. All are very clean and most peaceful.

I was fortunate enough to celebrate a birthday whilst I was here and my wife, as a surprise, upgraded us to a pool villa for the remainder of our holiday. if you fancy a spot of luxury, then you should seriously consider this option. The rooms are much bigger, the pool is spectacular and our villa had a king size, four poster day bed on the terrace. I could not ask for any more! That villa was 312, and was not overlooked by any other rooms at all, so you could, if you wish, wear as little or as much as you desired!

I cannot really say enough about this gem of a resort. I ticked every box for our holiday and we would definitely return without a second thought.

I cannot fail to mention the Cool Bar on the beach and the restaurants just down the road from the hotel. The Cool Bar is such an amazing little place that beggars belief, you must give it a go.
The two restaurants are The Fishermans and the Barracuda, across the road from one another.
For our money, the Fishermans is the best, hands down as we found the Barracuda void of any atmosphere whatsoever whilst the Fishermans had really enthusiastic young staff and was just a much better place to eat. Great prices in both though.
Date of stay: January 2013
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£119
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    £105
  • Hotels.com
    £138
2.0 miles from Centara Villas Samui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£147
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £132
  • Vio.com
    £147
4.7 miles from Centara Villas Samui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£614
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    £496
  • Hotels.com
    £612
4.9 miles from Centara Villas Samui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Thai House Beach Resort
Booking.com
£50
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    £44
  • Expedia.com
    £58
3.5 miles from Centara Villas Samui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£150
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    £142
  • Hotels.com
    £175
4.4 miles from Centara Villas Samui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
£53
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £36
  • Agoda.com
    £26
  • Hotels.com
    £49
3.3 miles from Centara Villas Samui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£106
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £93
  • Hotels.com
    £130
3.6 miles from Centara Villas Samui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Crystal Bay - Samui's best beach
Booking.com
£38
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £34
  • Expedia.com
    £45
4.9 miles from Centara Villas Samui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    £53
  • Agoda.com
    £47
  • Hotels.com
    £69
2.5 miles from Centara Villas Samui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The best boutique hotel in Koh Samui where guests enjoy panoramic views from every room.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £102
  • Agoda.com
    £91
  • Expedia.com
    £123
5.2 miles from Centara Villas Samui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Maret
Reviews (2,442)
Filter reviews
2,442 results
Traveller rating
1,350
724
229
83
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,350
724
229
83
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cool bar spa villa shuttle bus reef cafe butterfly garden our honeymoon koh samui free cocktail private beach shuttle service fantastic holiday plenty of sunbeds quiet location travel agent the hotel offers sea view hired a car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,549 - 1,554 of 2,442 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Just returned on 01/02/13 and so sad to have left. This is a paradise destination and the staff are so hepful in every way. Nothing is to much trouble for them. The Villas were immaculate. If you want a peaceful holiday this is the place to be. I read other reviews before going and was a bit worried about the cost at the Hotel. The food was fantastic and yes it was more expensive than eating out at one of the local reasturants but the saying is tre you get what you pay for the portions are bigger and the service excellant. Happy hour twice a day what more could you ask for. We went into Lamia and also Chaweng shuttle bus really cheap but must say we preferred to stay at the hotel. Great place for couples who enjoy the peace and tranquillity. Cant wait to go back

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2013

What a lovely experience! Stayed in a garden villa during a visit to my son who lives on Koh Samui. Perfectly clean and comfortable without being oppulent ( beds a tad hard for my liking). As a solo female traveller I felt very safe at all times and found the staff willing to do absolutely anything for me ( and for my son who needed some documents scanned and copied.) Situated in a lovely quiet area away from the tourist hell of Chaweng & Lamai with a few local restaurants a short walk away. Food at the Reef Restaurant at the villas was lovely but a bit expensive tor Thailand. Happy Hour at the bar was a great asset and a chance for us solos to meet and chat with other guests. If you like peace and quiet and seeing local life this is the place for you.

Room tip: I would advise going for a garden room but one facing towards the sea. I had one facing inland which was fine but if I go again I think it's better to be facing downhill. There are rooms with their own pools/jacuzzis and with sea viws which are lovely ( all the rooms are basically similar BTW) but IMHO not worth the extra money unless maybe your trip is a honeymoon or special anniversary or birthday. After all, when in such a lovely place how much time is actually spent in one's room? There are a number of steps on the site as the resort is built on a fairly steep hillside.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vessiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM C, The Staff & Management at Centara Villas Samui Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear vessiem,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Centara Villas Samui and taking the time to share your experiences. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your time here in Koh Samui. Your kind compliments of the staff have been shared with the team with great pleasure.

King regards
The Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My husband and I were booked in here for our honeymoon from the 7th of January till the 18th of January. The resort is beautiful and very relaxing. We were booked into a ocean villa towards the bottom of the resort - 313. The villas are spacious and listening to the ocean on your door step is amazing. The resort has a lot of steps especially from the reception area down to the restaurant at the bottom. There are three pools; one is very shallow and is almost a kiddy pool, the next one is 1.65m deep and is amazing to be in as it has this little waterfall coming into it, and the last won is in a shape of a butterfly which over looks the sea. The service is great from all staff and they are all really friendly. English is a bit of a barrier for them though, but they do try their best to assist where ever they can. One thing to be aware of is that there's a small area of beach at the bottom of the resort, and at low tide there are a lot of rocks in the ocean. Food at the resort as well as drinks is a bit pricy at the resort, so a suggestion would be for people to actually go into the town to buy some supplies. The nearest town is called Lamai and the resort offers a shuttle (40 baht one way per person) almost every hour. Our stay here was magnificent and there was no other place we would've wanted to spend our honeymoon. There is nothing like waking up and watching the sunset and then going for a walk on the beach when it's so peaceful with your loved one. If you want to have a holiday where you have more activity this would not be the place to do it. The resort does have a travel desk that can organise tours for you, so use them.

Room tip: Roooms that are at closer to the bottom of the resort.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shajeshni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2013

It's overall a pleasant experience staying in Centara Villas Samui. The place is very kids friendly with 3 big outside pools and a varieties of swim gear to borrow free for use on the beach and sea. They got kayak, sail boat, swim bands, floating beds etc & of course sun beds and towels. The beach is right next to the big outside pool and restaurant/bar so you can easily hop in and out of the pool and get to the beach. They also provide rinsing water and simple shower before you step back to the hotel pool so quite well arranged. Drinks and food at the restaurant are at affordable prices so it was very convenient for us with young kids. We literally just parked ourselves at the pool and let the children play. There is also a small pool in the big pool for younger kids who can't swim. One surprise is on my daughter's birthday, they sent a cake to my room! It's a very small cake but a nice surprise. The main thing we're upset with is the size of private pool in our villa. It's so small that it can hardly fit more than 3. Also the size of the villa is very small. Basically you only have a room with no outside area. The room itself is not big either. Equipment is very basic. And there is no free wifi, not even in the public area or restaurant even you are sponsoring! As the resort is build by the hill, you can imagine you will have to walk quite a lot of stairs commuting from pool/restaurant to your own villa or the lobby. But in general, it's pretty good for us with young kids. Make sure you don't pay a premium to stay in a pool villa as we didn't use the private pool at all.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackieeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMMissJongman, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the useful feedback. It is only with comments like yours that we can work towards improvement. I believe that since you were last staying in the hotel, a lot has changed for the better.

Best regards,

Karin Jongman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed at Centara villas for ten days leaving on the 25th of January 2013. Our start was a bit disappointing as our pool villa was not available until the next day , I had read many prior reviews that had said the same thing before booking but still took our chance. Our travelling partner had his garden villa upgraded to a spa villa for our inconvenience, but I think this is something the hotel could improve on as it can often set the tone for your stay. We were swapped over the next day while we were out which was great but the linen cover on our bed had not been changed from the prior guest with something on the duvet . We asked for it to be changed but a communication problem meant the sheets were changed instead. I ended up cleaning it myself as our son was freaking out . The butterfly house was also a bit disappointing.
I can honestly say this was the only bad moment of our stay here, we had a top pool villa which meant the long haul to the bars and restaurant but we were fully aware of the steps so no complaint here on the steep hill. Our traveling partner loved his upgrade and we spent most of our time at the top Pavillion bar with the awesome MNapaporn who made our stay extra special with her smile and fantastic service. The breakfast and dinner staff were also great especially with our son. The food is more expensive but very nice and we ate here or had room service most days. The trip to lamai and chaweng are not far away and it was always nice to get back to the peace at Centara at the end of the day. There were not a lot of children at the resort which would have been great but we would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM C, The Staff & Management at Centara Villas Samui Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Linda G,

We would like to thank you and your family for choosing to stay with us here at Centara Villas Samui. We do apologise that your entire stay was not seamless but thank you for your patience in allowing us to rectify you villa so this did not spoil the tone of your vacation as you correctly mentioned.

We do hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the future.

With regards & thanks
The Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews