We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Centara Villas Samui
Nearby Hotels
Rocky's Boutique Resort(Lamai Beach)
US$173
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Banyan Tree Samui(Lamai Beach)
US$878
US$729
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamai Wanta(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
US$234
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Republic The Residences(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kala Samui(Maret)(Great Value!)
US$596
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandalwood Luxury Villas(Maret)(Great Value!)
US$367
US$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,729)
Filter reviews
1,729 results
Traveller rating
880
560
181
68
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
880
560
181
68
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaht bonanzacool barspa villafishermans outletshuttle buscoral barbutterfly gardensister hotelour honeymoonkoh samuiindividual villasreef restaurantmanager timtable tennisfree cocktailwalking difficultiesa la carte menu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
765 - 770 of 1,729 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This well positioned and VERY quiet hotel is a Jewel on the Island of Samui.
After days out exploring it was always wonderful to come home to the peace & quiet & accommodating staff.
Food was always well prepared and as described & drinks are always prepared deliciously well.
The Pool & bar areas are so relaxing it was hard to drag yourself away.
We stayed 13 days and found it a wonderfully cheerful and friendly place [staff wise].
Couldn't ask for more value for money

Room Tip: We had room 112, half way up & half way down, a great sea view and the pools within a "stones throw"
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisLLoyd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear ChrisLLoyd2014
Thank you for the awesome review, we are delighted you had a good experience, taking days out and combining them with relaxing in the Hotel sums up what we are all about. Glad to hear you enjoyed the food and we will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here in April for sixteen nights and loved it. We were in a sea view villa at the bottom of the hill which was great as the weather was very hot and sometimes humid, so didn't have the hill walk!

Loved the breakfast and the location of the restaurant next to the beach. Lunch was good and we shared a meal as that's all we needed. Happy hour between 1 and 2 meant it cost us about £10 for food and 2 drinks each.
We ate only once at Centara in the evening, at the beginning of our holiday. There is a total lack of lighting, just tea lights on the table. We were given a torch to read the menus. Could have done with a Davy lamp to eat our meal. My husband hadn't a clue what was on his plate! I suggest a few large hanging lanterns would eliminate this problem.
I like red wine with my meal and for me it was undrinkable. I had already left a glass at the managers gathering and was served the same type at dinner. I told the waitress and she brought another glass which also wasn't nice, and expensive. We ate out at Fisherman's and Barracuda restaurants most nights. Food and wine excellent for a fraction of the cost, just a short walk along the beach, . We would have tried more evening meals at the hotel if the experience had been better.

As other reviewers say the sea did appear murky. We did go in sometimes and it was like bath, lovely. The lower ground pool was very warm also. Non of that shivering at the edge!
We preferred sitting on the beach, plenty of beds but there was a lack of shade. Only allowed one garden type of umbrella between two people which doesn't work. As the sun moves round you are scrambling for shade.

Our villa was very nice. Large room kept clean by the staff. The only problem was no air con in the bathroom. Well equipped and roomy, but it's a structure on the side of the bedroom with shutters so slight flow of air but not enough. Stay in there for too long and you need another shower!

We had a few trips out to Lamai and Chaweng on the shuttle bus. Had excellent meals in both places. Such good value.

Overall I would recommend this hotel. The ambience and location is excellent . We were thoroughly relaxed. The staff are lovely and work hard.

There is something that would make this hotel even better. ADULT ONLY. The very nature of this hotel lends itself to that. There are no facilities for children. In fact I overheard one woman saying to another that she wished they would make it more child friendly. I totally disagree. It's not that sort of place in my opinion. It is on the whole a quiet place, which was at times spoilt by noisy families.

"Love Thailand, love Centara Villas"

Room Tip: Ask for lower villa if you have any mobility problems
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fruticosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear fruticosa,
It is great to hear you had a relaxing stay and loved the Hotel and your comments will be passed to the team. With regards to the lighting in the restaurant, this is one of the challenges we always face in an outdoor resort style. Ambiance is all important and too much lighting can really spoil the mood, with too much light then all the surroundings, the ocean, the beach and the stars disappear from view and the atmosphere is lost, whilst to little lighting can leave some guests in the dark. We will take on board your comments and look to see what solutions we can find but we have some ideas in mind already.
The lack of air conditioning in the bathrooms is true and during the peak season the bathrooms can get warm, leaving the door to the bedroom can help but obviously there are privacy issues, once again we will look to see what solutions can be put in place to make the bathrooms more comfortable.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
General MAnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here on our 1st leg of our honeymoon for 4 nights in 2013. We had our own little villa, and very spacious. The breakfasts are average, but with an amazing view every morning. The Thai Neau massaman curry was a favourite of hubby's from the hotel restaurant - and the best he has tasted on our whole trip of Thailand. The spa experience was great - however we found the spa more pricey than what was offered outside the hotel.
The location of this resort is not so central or close to much and the hotel offers a shuttle to the town everyday(but you have to pay for this service). We ate out at the night markets most nights.
There is a butterfly park directly opposite the hotel - which is a waste of time and money,and I wouldnt recommend it. If the intention is to only stay at the hotel and lie on the beach everyday, then this place is ideal for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeshC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear JeshC03
Thank you for writing a review, it is fantastic that we are still at the forefront of your mind such a long time after your Honeymoon. Our location in Samui is to the South of the Island and something we are very proud of, it puts the resort in the heart of nature but still the nightlife and busier parts of the Island are easily accessible by our 5 times a day shuttle service. Young honeymooners tend to find it is a great combination for them but for those such as yourself who would wish to enjoy the party atmosphere on a honeymoon then perhaps a busier area would have been a better choice. This really does highlight how useful TripAdvisor can be and why it is important to select your destination carefully.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just arrived home from our honeymoon in Centara Villa's (room 212 pool villa) it was absolutely amazing, we had the most beautiful view from our pool of the beach and also enjoyed the main pools everyday. The hotel prides itself on the surroundings and keeping it very tidy and pretty. The staff are very friendly and happy to help. The room was cleaned everyday to a great standard and the little touches by the room staff was much appreciated. We used the Cenvaree spa several times, and would fully recommend to invest in the hotels offer of paying 10,000 baht and getting 3,000 of treatments free.
The food was always good quality and the restaurant staff were the nicest of all, the manager also was seen welcoming guests and was very happy and friendly.
The only thing that I could fault was the beach, although it is a stunning view the sand is gritty and the sea isn't the clearest. But the hotel pools and our private pool more than made up for this.
A fresh beach towel Is given each day so no need to take your own, you can also use their kayaks and snorkelling equipment free of charge which we found a nice extra.
The hotel provide a cheap bus service to Lamai and Chaweng which we used a couple of times, and enabled us to see the Island without having to pay for taxis which aren't cheap.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 15 days at the Villas and we will cherish the memories we have of our time there. The beautiful views mean we have hundreds of photos to remember the holiday and if we ever visit Samui again we will without a doubt stay in Centara Villas. 10/10

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z0e212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear ZOe212
Thank you for writing a review, it is brilliant to hear you had a relaxing honeymoon and thank you for the nice comments. I felt this was a good opportunity to mention the beach and what is peculiar to Samui, during the months of late March, April, May and June the ocean levels in the Gulf of Thailand drop substantially, this means that the beach in front of the resort becomes very shallow and the reef spends quite a lot of the day exposed. It is a natural phenomenon and it means that the clarity of the ocean may not be quite as good as other times of the year, it does however offer those who may not be strong swimmers a great opportunity to get into the water.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have stayed at this resort about 6 times now. It is based in the southern part of the island away from the main shopping areas. It is about 40 minutes from Chewang, 15 minutes from Lamai and 45 mins from Natong which are the main shopping areas with bars and nightlife.

Pros
Has three great large pools
The breakfast is Buffet with european and thai dishes with very nice surroundings overlooking the water.
Free Kayaks and great private beach
Cheap transport via shuttle into the main areas and scheduled times. You need to book these though.

Cons
Room privacy can be a little exposed so you need to pull the blinds down when changing etc.

There is a FANTASTIC restaurant nearby called Simple Life. It is run by a husband and wife who serve the best tasting Authentic Thai meals I have tasted. The are also the cheapest meals around. They also help the local community by feeding the stray dogs so don't be put off by seeing dogs around their restaurant as they are harmless.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Solo_Jasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Solo_Jasper
Thank you so much for the review, we are always flattered by return guests and 6 visits is very special. You feedback has been passed to the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews