We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centara Villas Samui
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Maret
Certificate of Excellence
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here the beginning of June for 8 days.
There was four of us (two couples) and they managed to get our villas next door to each other. We stayed in 301 and my friends stayed in 302 and these where deluxe villa. The rooms where just next to the looby and the main stairs so you did hear people walking by but only if you where in the toilet as there are no windows.
Rooms where big with plenty of storage. Didn't like the bathroom as in the morning it was very steamy and also after a shower but we kept the door shut most of the time.
When we checked in we also decided to do the baht bonaza and we joined up with our friends in the other room so we had extra money again. We put in 10,000 baht per couple and we got 32,000 baht. It was definately a good idea to do as the drinks and food where expensive compared to down the road at the fishermans village. On our last day we still had 5,000 baht left but we already had breakfast and couldnt spend the rest of the money. Shame you can't get it back but we also asked if we could just tip one of the waitresses but they wouldnt let us either so not sure what happened to the money.
Staff where very friendly and I would like to thank Greene and Pu who where fantastic and made our holiday even better.
We visited fishermans village and also the barracuda a few nights and the food was great. 3 course meal for £7.00. It was low season when we went so not alot of people where at the bars so a few shut very early and also with the rain at nights it was hard to walk down the hill especially with no lights but we did take the torch from the room.
We booked a few trips through the rep at the hotel which where very good. We done the safari jeep up the mountains and also a boat trip around Marine national park, both where great days.
A few of the nights we took the hotel bus to Lamai and also chaweng. Lamai had a few bars and good resturants and we also went to the market at night but it was pretty rubbish.
The sister hotel is amazing and the beach there is one of the best. We didn't go into the sea once at centara villas as there was alot of sewage and the water was pretty dirty but was glad we could go to the beach at chaweng. Didn't have any problems with booking the bus either and we also missed the bus one morning but they phoned our room to make sure we weren't going.
If you miss the bus at night coming home or if you stay out in chaweng which we did a few times we got several taxis and cheapest one we got was 600 baht for the 4 of us.
If I was to go back I would stay at the sister hotel as there is much more to do but centara villas is a lovely place to stay if you are looking for something relaxing :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Louise24I24
Thank you for such a detailed review, there is one thing I should mention so as not to cause confusion for people reading this review. The Restaurant near to the Hotel is called Fishermans Outlet, not Fishermans Village which is located on the north side of Samui, much nearer to the Centara Grand Chaweng which you have mentioned.
Thank you for recommending us as a lovely and relaxing destination, your comments regarding the staff will be passed on and they will be delighted that they helped to make your stay most enjoyable.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    504
    163
    60
    36
See reviews for
206
1,061
39
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a garden villa with beautiful views over the sea. The villas are secluded and peaceful which is exactly what we wanted for our honeymoon.

There are 3 pools to choose from so you can always find a couple of sun beds and a quiet spot and you're right on the beach where there are more sun beds to choose from. Views from the hotel bar are idyllic.

Housekeeping was excellent and our villa was kept clean and tidy every day.

We loved our pampering spa day too. Staff we're brilliant and it all felt amazing! Such a nice treat for a honeymoon.

We treated ourselves to breakfast in bed and dinner on the beach and enjoyed both. However, the only factor that stopped us giving Centara Villas 5 out of 5 is the restaurant service which was often very slow. At breakfast we'd sometimes have to get up and ask for coffee or tea despite staff having seen us come in. Lunch was a slow process on the two occasions we ate it at the hotel, with staff not offering us more drinks or desserts then forgetting to bring them. It put us off bothering again so feel it is important that management know this.

Staff we're for the most part helpful and pleasant, but we did have one uncomfortable moment when we ordered room service and didn't tip on this particular occasion (there's a service charge included). The staff member who delivered the food stopped to check if we'd given a tip then when seeing we hadn't, visibly smirked and said 'okay' before leaving (no thanks or goodbye). Really out of order and put us off ordering room service again but other than this staff were professional and friendly.

It was no problem booking a cheap shuttle bus via reception into Lamai (15 mins away) or Chaweng (30).

We enjoyed Lamai's walking market (Sunday from 5pm) although book the shuttle bus the day before for this one as it's popular. We left it until the day so had to pay 500 baht for a hotel taxi instead of 180 for 2 people on the shuttle bus. Taxi back which we flagged down ourselves charged 400.

We went to Chaweng one day where you can use the sister hotel Chantara Grand's facilities and we HATED it. Chaweng is busy, loud, ugly, dirty, noisy, everything we did not want. The hotel pool was rammed full of loud kids blowing whistles and playing games, staff were much less friendly and we left after the shortest time possible. If you're after a party location or have a load of kids, Chaweng and the Centara Grand might suit you but if we'd ended up here we would have been utterly distraught! It would have been our idea of a nightmare holiday. Coming back to Centara Villas with our lovely, peaceful balcony views was like coming back to paradise and made us appreciate it even more.

Centara Villas is ideal if you're looking for lovely villas with gorgeous views in a peaceful, scenic location. The small issues didn't ruin our holiday and we would definitely recommend it to other couples.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Leah C
Thank you for giving us your feedback, we are delighted that you would recommend our beautiful and peaceful Hotel, perhaps when you come again we would have had the opportunity to improve in some of the areas that you have mentioned and I am sure the Spa will be ready to pamper you again.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed as two single women and most people were couples although met lots of friendly nice people.
Accommodation garden villa very good standard and clean.
Bars good fun service at bar good but found in restaurant and bar staff sometimes need finding for more drinks and food orders. They do not automatically ask you if u require a refill ! Food good - plenty of choice.
Pools good - beach and staff for beds umbrellas etc excellent. Enjoyed meeting Rosie the dog v friendly spent many day under my sunbed !!
Make sure you fit in a boat trip and visit the local towns.
Very enjoyable would return

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear AJE27
Thank you for writing a review, we are delighted that you found the staff and resort very friendly and that you relaxed during your enjoyable stay, we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed ar Centara as two single women - very much populated by couples but everyone very friendly. Great atmosphere in bar at night and would also recommend Cool Bar on the beach. Place seemed quite quiet for us although this was excellent when having space on the beach. The guys on the beach are very helpful with beds umbrellas etc. Room spacious and clean - bathroom well equipped.
Service good in bar - can be difficult at times to get service in restaurant they are not good at asking what u want or offering more drinks etc. Found a very different atmosphere in the lobby and staff less helpful.
Would recommend a visit truly paradise and make sure you do a boat trip - also feed the lovely dog Rosie !

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank anna e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Anna e
thank you for your review, your comments about the wonderful stay at paradise are greatly appreciated and your feedback regarding the staff will be passed on.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here this summer for 10 days. The staff were really friendly and extremely helpful. The room was beautiful and was cleaned twice a day! The pool and beach were beautiful and food was good! About 20 minute journey to the main town but was cheap to get there! Loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crumbz90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Crumbz90
Thank you for the review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will come to visit us again very soon.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Mine and my boyfriends first abroad holiday, after him being away for along period of time.

We arrived at centara villas after our long journey. We had a friendly greeting, presented with refreshing face clothes and a tropical juice drink.

The hotel is extremely well presented, actually it looks a lot like paradise.
We were shown to.our private villa with private swimming pool.
The rooms are well presented with a large bed, AC complementary drinks.
The bathroom was my wow point with a gorgeous double wet room style shower, marble sink.

The service by staff was amazing, friendly. Recognising us every.morning.g at breakfast and at the cocktail bar.by night.
We ate in the restaurant twice in the 14 nights we stayed. The food was nice, However, when we explored further in to the island of Ko Samui we founded much much much cheaper restaurants that food was just as good. Also we enjoyed the atmosphere further into town.
However, the hotels beach front hotel was a gorgeous setting.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lolliej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear lolliej
'Beautiful' review, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, your comments will be passed on to the team.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Centara Villas for 10 nights on out honeymoon. The hotel is prefect. Located at the south of the island it is still only 30 mins to main areas. The hotel bar was a lovely place to sit and watch the sun go down whilst enjoying a cocktail. Swimming pools are lovely and the villas are excellent. Make sure to visit the Cool bar (through the rocks). Many an hour, day/night was lost here. Excellent owners and great craic. We dined in the fisherman's restaurant just down from Centara. Amazing food and extremely cheap. The food in the hotel is good, however when compared to the fisherman's it's a no brainer. You can also rent scooters from the fisherman's and get a massage opposite. Can't wait to return to Koh Samui and will defiantly stay in Centara again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jtapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Jtapster,
Thank you for reviewing the Hotel, we are very happy to hear that you had a good honeymoon and that the location was perfect for you. We look forward to welcoming you back for anniversaries.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maret
11.4 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
7.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
8.8 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
9.9 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#48 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
4.5 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Villas Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Samui

Property: Centara Villas Samui
Address: 111 Moo 2, Maret, Natien Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Maret
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Maret
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maret
#20 Romantic Hotel in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the southern tip of Samui Island and 10 minutes away from popular Lamai Beach, Centara Villas Samui is an exotic four-star resort that is ideal for a first-class villa hideaway. Nestled in a tropical environment, the 102 southern Thai style villas present ample living areas (from 38 to 151 square metres) that seamlessly with the surrounding verdant foliage. The villas cascade down a gentle hillside to the resort’s private beach and feature a balcony from which to enjoy garden or ocean vistas. Guests will also enjoy the option of an outdoor Jacuzzi or a private plunge pool. Reef Café, the all-day dining restaurant, overlooks the Gulf of Thailand while the al fresco Coral Bar is perfect for barbecue dinners. The resort also has one bar. Other than relaxing on the beach, leisure activities and facilities include three swimming pool areas, a children’s playground, an exceptional spa, a long tail boat service allowing guests to go fishing or snorkelling at nearby island, and a PADI Dive Centre. Kayaks and bikes are also available, and so is a shuttle service to both Lamai Beach and Chaweng Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Villas Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Villas Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Centara Hotel Koh Samui
Centara Hotel Samui
Central Samui Village
Centara Villas Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing