We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ananas Hostel Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ananas Hostel Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Maret
Wijchen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Ananas is a great hostel and would recommend it, to anyone who wants to sleep in a clean room! The pool was great and clean. The location could be better because you'll need to take a taxi to get anywhere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karel811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    15
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
9
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and I was amazed since the beginning.

The place is smooth and clean. It really has everything you need when traveling: common areas to hang out with other people, fridge to store food and beers, nice bar and restaurant, excelent laundry services, super comfortable sofas and the amazing swimming pool. the person who has designed it hasn't missed any single detail.

It has better services and areas than many hotels and resorts!

Tony is managing the hostel. A thai that speaks perfect English and has great communication skills. He sorted out everything, he knows everything in detail so no unexpected events. He works hard to keep the high quality of the hostel and he's main aim is to delight YOU.

A place to be in koh samui and visiting the other islands

jordi morris

Room Tip: any shared room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Ananas is a great hostel and would recommend to anyone who wants to relax and stay in a clean room. Myself and my boyfriend booked 1night here in a 2 bed mixed dorm and then extended by another night once we saw how great the hostel was. It is located a bit out of the way but we hired a scooter from Tony, the owner, who was very helpful. There is a swimming pool and really nice chilled out communal area where you can order lovely food at a great price. There is also a tv inside with sofa and lots of cushions and is really homely. The room we stayed in was spotless and had AC. Bathrooms were clean and hot water showers which is a luxury! I would stay here again if I were to return to Samui.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emylou-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This hostel is really more of a hotel. Incredibly clean with an incredibly kind staff. By far the cleanest hostel we've ever stayed in! The pool was great and the pool side accommodations were cheap and delicious. The location could be better - you'll need to take a taxi to get anywhere - but the amazing accommodations and the pool easily make up for it. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Archertroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Three of us arrived at Ananas on our second night to meet a friend who had been on his travels for months. It is a little out of the way from the touristy areas like Chaweng but we found this as a welcome blessing as you get fed up of the strip after a night! We rent bikes for 250b for 24 hours and tourist attractions such as Namuang are close by. The place is spotless and the pool / eating area is a great place to chill. The food is cheap and very tasty too. We had stayed up until the early hours playing music and drinking but, having woken up with a hangover and a huge amount of guilt, tony gave us a ticking off and we were able to continue our stay. We were so grateful we made sure we didn't let him and the fellow guests down again. Definitely recommended hostel before / after any full moon antics to prepare / gather yourself !

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent several months backpacking all over Asia and this was by FAR the best hostel we stayed in the entire trip! We seriously could not believe how wonderful it was--and for such a cheap price! The manager was extremely friendly and helpful; the rooms are very clean and the beds incredibly comfortable (and for anyone who's ever travelled around Asia, you know just how rare a comfortable bed is!); there is a beautiful pool and lounge area outside, with a little bar area where you can order food from a very large menu (with really delicious food that was VERY reasonably priced) and the woman who cooks for you is so incredibly sweet!! Also, we had about 5 hours to kill on our last day before we had to be at the airport and the manager was so kind and let us relax by the pool all day even after we'd already checked out that morning :). The ONLY downside is that the location is not fantastic. But there are things to do/see nearby and the greater attractions in Koh Samui are only a short drive away.

Room Tip: Any room will probably be very good :).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sberinhout3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The hostel is super nice. It is clean and new and comfortable. The owner Tony is there every day so the property is spotless. The common areas are super nice (especially the pool area) and they have other services like a small cafe and laundry which come in handy. Biggest con is the location. Many taxis do not really know where it is (Tony provided instructions in thai for us to give to the taxi drivers). As other reviewers shared, Tony can arrange transportation for you (his own driver) but it is not for free whatsoever. He charges 100 baht for each person to go to Lamai and 200 baht to Chewang. There is really no other options so in a sense you are stuck with it. In the end while the price might be very good if you are planning to go out and explore the island you will spend a lot of money on taxis. Personally I would have liked to stay closer to the action.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dlichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maret
0.5 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
0.6 mi away
Banburee Resort & Spa
Banburee Resort & Spa
#3 of 3 in Laem Set
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
3.4 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#5 of 45 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananas Hostel Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananas Hostel Koh Samui

Property: Ananas Hostel Koh Samui
Address: 103/13 Moo 2, Maret, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ananas Hostel Koh Samui 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to relax with style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ananas Hostel Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananas Hostel Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing