We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Maret
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

As many others have written, this experience starts at airport with a friendly welcome from the driver. Upon arrival at the resort we were welcomed by smiling staff and the view is breathtaking! We stayed in the Orchid and loved it! Close to the pool and restaurant but with total privacy and a balcony with a stunning view. We loved it so much we had several of our dinners on the balcony. And the food was delicious and service amazing! Getting around the island was no problem. Plus, you get the mobile phone. Yes - the hill is steep but how else would you get the view! Really remote feeling but very close to so much. The spa was wonderful too! All in all, fantastic week. Great staff, fantastic resort, amazing views, great food , total relaxation. We will be back!

Room Tip: Depends what is important to you. The website is very accurate in description and photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for writing such a strong recommendation to other TripAdvisor users and for naming Sandalwood Luxury Villas your favourite resort. Our dedicated staff works everyday to provide a worry free experience for our guests and it sounds like we were able to achieve that goal. The Orchid villa is a very popular option for our guests because of its flexible layout (up to 4 guests) and the amazing views from the balcony. However, you are correct in your room tip regarding the unique design of each of our villas. We have tried to provide as much information as possible on our website so our guests can make an informed decision as to which villa will best suit their needs.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and service from our Blue Ginger Restaurant. We recently updated the menu and we love to hear our guests’ positive feedback. Whether dining in the restaurant or ordering room service, we encourage our guests to sample the many Thai and Western specialties that we offer.

It sounds like you took advantage of the amenities that make Sandalwood such a unique place to stay on Koh Samui, From our Blue Ginger Restaurant and our Sanctuary Spa to our anywhere/anytime transportation service, our team was able to help you make the most of your holiday on the island. We are pleased to hear that you intend to come back to Sandalwood and we look forward to the opportunity to create new memories with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

What an amazing stay we had at Sandalwood Luxury Villas!
We are a family of 4 - with two older kids (15 & 10) and booked the Amarin (2 bedroom) villa at Sandalwood.
The experience starts at the Airport where one of the super efficient and friendly drivers pick you up. The sandalwood resort is like a home away from home in Koh Samui - with an unbeatable and most amazing views of the bay thrown in along with a super hospitable staff.
We stayed for 5 nights - and every day I would spend hours in the balcony just looking at the ocean. I even slept a few nights in the balcony under the canopy of the starts and moonlight sea below...bliss!!!

The only regret was that the resort is situated high on a cliff and its a very steep incline to reach the resort. This is ideally not walkable - so if you are the ones who like to get out of the resort to walk and explore nearby places - then this would not be possible. However, this is very aptly covered with their vehicles which are available when needed to ferry you to and fro to wherever one wants.

The food is amazing as well. Though limited - its good enough for us to be experimenting each day with different dishes. Breakfast is quite good and wholesome!!

One can meet up with the owner - Robert and he is at hand to give you tips on the island - or generally to share his experiences.

For our family this was a very memorable stay and we wish to return soon!! :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank pwborle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of your stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. We enjoy giving our guests a high level of service that provides a worry free visit to Koh Samui. Our end-to-end service begins with a free pick-up at the airport or anywhere else on the island and includes the same service at the end of your stay.

The view available at Sandalwood is what sets it apart from so many other hotels on Koh Samui. However, as you noted, our unique hillside location limits the ability to walk from the hotel to other activities in the area. To help minimize any inconvenience, we offer free anytime shuttles down to our beautiful local beach at Coral Cove and two free shuttles everyday to Chaweng and Lamai. We also have private drivers on call 24 hours/day and reachable via a mobile phone that is provided to every guest upon arrival. Sandalwood offers car and motorbike rentals to those who prefer to venture out on their own.

It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the meals available at our Blue Ginger Restaurant. Our free breakfast buffet everyday includes fresh fruit, salads, smoothies, coffee and tea drinks, juices, breads, pastries, soup, hot Thai specialties and an a la carte menu with over a dozen Thai and Western dishes that are made-to-order.

We truly enjoyed meeting you and your family and we hope to see your smiling faces back at Sandalwood soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My fiancé and I had recently got married and decided to venture out to Koh Samui to spend our first couple of days as newly weds. When we first arrived to the Sandalwood Resort, the first thing we saw was the breathtaking view of the island. Upon check in, we were instantly greeted by reception and the co-owner of the resort even stopped by to personally introduce himself to the both of us. After waiting to get the room ready, we were guided to the MALEE suite where we were pleasantly surprised to find out that the suite, which we originally booked with only a Jacuzzi, now had an INFINITY pool just installed the day of our visit! We were pleasantly surprised by this and it made our stay even more enjoyable!

Although one annoying thing was that they kept hassling us to move to another "upgraded" room so they could work on the new pool in the MALEE and were constantly doing construction there/coming by in the evening to take photos of the new set up.

All of the people at this resort are super friendly and if we had a choice to go back and stay at this resort again or choose another destination, we would DEFINITELY choose to stay here again, specifically staying in the MALEE suite! Trust me, it is completely worth the money and the view is something out of a movie that you will never forget!

*one note about the cooking class: for the cost, i didn't think it was worth it. Its a good experience to go to the market but it was more of a cut and put together instead of an actual cooking class ie. for the pad thai the sauce (which is prob the hardest part to make) was made ahead of time for us and we just had to mix it into the noodle- i wouldve liked to learn how to make the sauce instead.
Thank you for all of the staff and the co-owner of the resort for making our stay as pleasant as possible. Our visit there is definitely one of the most memorable experiences we will ever have and we will never forget it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for writing such a positive review of your time at Sandalwood. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the free upgrade to a private pool villa as we completed the construction of that pool just a few days before your arrival. We apologize for any inconvenience created by our staff putting the finishing touches on the pool and we hope having a “free” private pool in your villa made up for any slight disruption to your honeymoon.

Regarding the cooking class at our Blue Ginger Restaurant, our 1-day class is really meant as an overview of Thai cuisine. With the time limitations, it’s difficult to include the many nuances of Thai cooking and fit in to a trip to the market to see the many fresh products available on the island. However, we do offer longer classes for our guests and we are more than happy to modify the program if there is a particular part of the Thai cookery that you are most interested in learning (i.e. how to make a great Pad Thai sauce). If you do return to Sandalwood, please let us know how we can create a Thai cooking class customized to your area of interest.

We do hope to see you back at Sandalwood soon so we can create new memorable experiences together. …perhaps to celebrate an anniversary?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I would recommend anyone to stay at Sandalwood villas ..I had the pleasure of staying in three different rooms and all of them were gorgeous .the views are breathtaking and the staff are very friendly and are so helpful .my partner and I loved it so much that we stayed there for the first two nights of our holiday and went back again for the last two nights and I have a personal soft spot for the villas because it ended up being the place my partner proposed to me :) so overall although it is pricey it's definitely worth the money .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beena1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your unforgettable experience at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. It’s so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your first stay at our hotel that you decided to return again for the final two nights of your holiday. All of our villas have panoramic ocean views although each villa is unique in its own way. After staying in three different villas during your visit, you had the opportunity to take advantage of the Sandalwood experience from several different vantage points and to appreciate the traditional Thai décor and modern amenities that make Sandalwood so special.

It gives us great pleasure to know that we were a part of a milestone event in your life. Congratulations! Perhaps you will consider returning to Sandalwood for your wedding and/or honeymoon. We would love to welcome you back to Sandalwood so we can create new unforgettable memories together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Sandalwood is a place that I hope anyone who travels to Koh Samui is lucky enough to experience. It is paradise within a paradise. The staff treats you like family. The villas are pure luxury. The views are incredible. The restaurant is fantastic. Words cannot describe the infinity pools. Everything about sandalwood makes it THE most incredible place I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: The Amarin Villa is a steal for what it costs to stay in such a majestic palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for the kind review of your recent stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. The title of your review was such a pleasure to read and we are thrilled to hear the superlatives you use to describe your experience at Sandalwood. We agree that the views from our Amarin Villa are incredible and the Jacuzzi spa on the balcony only adds to the integration of indoor and outdoor living which is a hallmark of each of our villas. Amarin Villa is, indeed, a majestic palace.

Our staff provides only the finest in Thai style hospitality and we love to hear that you were treated like family throughout your stay. We recently re-launched the menu, service and decor in our Blue Ginger restaurant and it is so enjoyable to know that you found the food there to be fantastic.

Thank you for advising those who read your review to consider themselves lucky to experience a stay at Sandalwood. It was a pleasure to have you visit us and we want you to come back again to enjoy our paradise within a paradise, so we can help create another BEST experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel has an amazing view from on top of a mountain. The owner Robert was very welcoming and accommodating to all our needs. Our room was gorgeous and had its own private jacuzzi tub. There's nothing better than having your bed turned down at night, curtains pulled, and a kitkat waiting for you each night!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for the kind review of your luxurious stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. The panoramic ocean views from all of our villas are one of the many highlights of a stay with us. From your villa’s balcony, you can see Chaweng Beach and the outer islands, including Koh Phangan. There is a fireworks show every night in Chaweng and Sandalwood is the perfect vantage point to enjoy the romantic pyrotechnics without being in the middle of the fray.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the traditional Thai décor combined with modern amenities that typifies every villa at Sandalwood. In addition, each villa has a Jacuzzi bath, either indoor or outdoor depending on the villa type.

Our housekeeping staff provides five star services including the evening turndown service. We like to surprise our guests each day with a different sweet treat and a personalized note. We hope to see your smiling faces back at Sandalwood again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Absolutely amazing views with service you will not find anywhere in the world. With this being my 16 th trip to thailand, never before have I stayed in such luxury surroundings and recieved such beautiful smiles each and every morning. It was the little things like bed turn downs with chocolates and sweet messages and courtesy shuttles to and from town daily that made this stay so memorable. I couldnt get enough of the view and had no need to leave the villa the entirety of my stay ( if it wasnt for my love of shopping). Endless cable channels and free wifi and our own private infinity pool made it a haven . Id def reccomend this place. It also helps that there is an English speaking owner...Robert who gave a tour and who was a great help if there was anything we needed during our stay. The staff were truly the most wonderful staff I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with and are a true attribute to thos establishment. Food was wonderful also with a buffet breakfast although woth a made to order choice which was spectacular! . Cant wait to return

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niccij79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such an enthusiastic review of your recent stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. Having received over 650 reviews over the last few years, it is always a pleasant surprise to read the unique words our guests use to describe their experience. We love the advice you give to other TripAdvisor users that Sandalwood should be on everyone’s bucket list and that we have become your favorite place IN THE WORLD!

After 16 trips to Thailand, your kind thoughts about your time at Sandalwood hold even greater weight as you really know this country and have stayed in countless hotels during your many travels here. We are so proud of our wonderful staff and it gives us great pleasure to know that you received beautiful smiles from our team members each and every morning and superior service throughout your stay.

Included in every guest's stay is a complimentary breakfast at our Blue Ginger Restaurant. Not only do we offer a buffet of fresh fruit, breads, pastries, cheese, salads, fruit juice, hot soups and a daily Thai specialty, but our a la carte menu (also complimentary) includes over a dozen Western and Asian dishes. We also provide a wide variety of coffee drinks, teas and our signature smoothies, made-to-order with fresh fruits and veggies.

Even though you’ve checked off Sandalwood on your bucket list, we, too, can’t wait for your return so we can create new memories together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maret
2.1 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
840 reviews
11.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
5.9 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 184 in Bophut
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,466 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 184 in Bophut
538 reviews
6.9 mi away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandalwood Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandalwood Luxury Villas

Address: 211/7 Moo 4, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Maret
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maret
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maret
#2 Family Hotel in Maret
Price Range: £108 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandalwood Luxury Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful island of Koh Samui, our fourteen Thai style pavilions are positioned around nine infinity edge swimming pools. Each intimate and secluded villa has a panoramic ocean view and is linked by landscaped gardens with intricate stone walkways. We provide exclusive and sophisticated accommodation while seamlessly blending traditional Thai architecture with a modern contemporary style. At Sandalwood Luxury Villas, we strive to give each guest an outstanding level of quality service with our warm Thai hospitality. From the moment our professional drivers pick you up at the airport, our staff is available to cater for your every need. Whether enjoying an authentic Thai meal in our Blue Ginger Restaurant or a massage at our Sanctuary Spa, our goal is to make your Sandalwood stay a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandalwood Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandalwood Luxury Villas Hotel Koh Samui
Sandalwood Luxury Hotel
Sandalwood Luxury Koh Samui
Sandalwood Luxury Villas Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing